We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brandy Bank Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect B and B”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great location for attending a wedding in Otterburn. Beds were comfy, surroundings were peaceful and the owners Michael and Marion were lovely. Super helpful and kind. The breakfast was delicious, I didn't have dinner but other guests tell me that was delicious too. The hot water bottle in bed was a lovely touch and the living room felt just like home. I was a lone traveller and felt very safe at Brandy Bank. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
69
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have given Brandy Bank a five star rating only because Trip Advisor won't allow me to give it six stars. This by far is one of the most clean and comfortable Guest House / B&B I have had the pleasure to stay in.

Your hosts, Michael and Marion, go that extra mile to ensure your stay at Brandy Bank will be remembered and repeated. Two wonderful and helpful people.

The room was very clean and tidy with on-suite bathroom but more importantly a comfortable and cosy bed.

Meal times are a dining experience not to be missed, the food is home cooked and out of this world, the smoked haddock risotto itself was enough to tempt me back again, beautiful. Breakfast was a combination of cereal, fruit and a full English cooked to perfection with home made bread or toast, feeling hungry again just thinking about it. Tea or coffee unlimited.

Michael and Marion you have both worked hard to make Brandy Bank what it is and boy! have you got it right. I have no hesitation or reservation's in returning to your wonderful guest house. Thank you both.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome, great rooms, comfy bed, beautiful surroundings, lovely hosts, very tasty breakfast. I usually go for larger hotels but this stay really made me realise what I've been missing. We'll done brandy bank, don't change a thing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank babEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Brandy Bank is an excellent and amazing value B&B. We had lovely and sparkingly clean ensuite shower-rooms, and very comfortable bed and well furnished bedrooms. The real surprise though, was the evening meal. After a day's walking, getting quite wet on a February weekend, instead of having to go out again in the rain to a pub or restaurant, our host produced a lovely meal, fitted to our various dietary limitations. Coffee (decaffeinated cafetieres) was served back in the comfy sitting room, and then he offered us all hot water bottles. Not that they were needed as the rooms were lovely and warm, but it was just a nice treat. The breakfast was top quality too. If you are walking or cycling through this area, plan your days to stay overnight at West Woodburn!

Room Tip: In the winter when they are not full they only use one wing, and we had a room overlooking the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay and have to say this has to be one of the best places to stay, the welcome as soon as you arrive was warm and friendly, the room clean, light and had everything we needed, the bed comfortable and breakfast was excellent, well cooked and tasty.
Mike and Marion are friendly and really make you feel welcome, the hotel is easy to find and has good parking, on arrival we were offered refreshments which we declined until later in the day, these were served in the lounge, which is very comfortable.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone and now fully understand why they have so many excellent rankings and reviews here, and to top it all, returning to the hotel late, cold and tired, we got into bed to find hot water bottles had been placed there to warm the bed –heaven!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

It is really a very warm welcome one gets at Brandy Bank from the hot cuppa on arrival to the hot water bottle in the beds - bliss. Mike and Marion are very good hosts, nothing being too much trouble. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, and the intimate lounge made socialising after dinner with coffee, an ideal place to chat to other guests. We met a lovely couple from near Manchester with 2 gorgeous daughters (with beautiful singing voices) and a couple of Australians who had just stopped off on the chance there was a vacancy. It was brilliant to chat, this would not happen in a hotel the same. We stayed 3 days in February and by the end of our stay we left feeling relaxed and with lovely memories of the place. Thank you Michael and Marion and also to Anthony their son who was at home at the time. We would certainly recommend the Brandy Bank. The food is excellent, make sure you have the evening meals, well worth it. As an extra we also came away knowing more about night time photography - thanks Marion and good luck with it! We look forward to seeing more of your photographs on the walls if we are in the area again. Thank you for a lovely break
Sue and Keith Sykes Wray Lancs

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

No arrival good space in a large carpark.Then a very warm welcome, The room was very good clean tidy nice en-suite. Host were very helpful. The food was to a high standard. Exceptionally good value. We stayed here for two nights to visit Kielder Observatory it was very easy to get there from here. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glendew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Woodburn
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#5 of 6 in Otterburn
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gun Inn
The Gun Inn
#1 of 1 in Ridsdale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cheviot Hotel
Cheviot Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bellingham
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yellow House Farm
Yellow House Farm
#3 of 3 in West Woodburn
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandy Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandy Bank Guest House

Property: Brandy Bank Guest House
Address: West Woodburn, West Woodburn NE48 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandy Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brandy Bank Guest House – formerly an old Staging Inn built in 1726 is a family-run home from home fully licensed B&B in the village of West Woodburn, Hexham, Northumberland. Brandy Bank is an ideal location for getting out and exploring Northumberland as we are situated on the edge of the National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brandy Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing