We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word: Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brandy Bank Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 night stay with Michael and Marion, in their excellent guest house. Spotlessly clean, warm and cosy, comfortable rooms and beds, excellent service, FANTASTIC breakfast! Michael and Marion are extremely friendly hosts who go out of their way to ensure all guests needs are met! Nothing is a trouble for them!

Would stay again and definitely recommend to others! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INTREPID357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Brandy Bank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 168 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Michael dispenses a lovely warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and perfectly heated after a day out. Breakfast was beyond excellent, the quality of the ingredients combined with Michael's obvious flair for the culinary arts set us up brilliantly. We ate both nights at Brandy Bank, both meals were spectacular, proper home cooked, quality meals, well thought out menus (pasta the night before I ran a marathon at Kielder) and superb portions. Highly recommended place to stay, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we stayed here on 28th of September to attend a wedding at otterburn castle from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome nothing was too much trouble the rooms we had were lovely and we even got the rooms early to be able to get ready for the wedding, breakfast was fantastic a huge choice and catered for all tastes michael went out his way to provide for our 3 year old grandson with child cutlery and bowls etc. Michael went the extra mile over everything from carrying our luggage to driving my husband back to the castle the next morning to collect our car would definitely recommend this as a place to stay and if we are ever up that way again will stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. I have stayed in many B&B's and guest houses over the years and this is by far the best for hospitality, food, value for money and much more. I don't want to repeat all the previous reviews have said but can only agree with them. My friend said that it looks as though this will become a regular haunt for us. I am looking to go up for Christmas, which is saying something.
We went up for a motorcycling trip and one of the things that's often a problem is the right conditions for parking the bikes. We come across problems with having to leave them in sight of passing 'Joe Public' or gravel driveways and car parks. Not a bit of it! The tarmac drive and car park makes it so easy for access and the 'bike park' on the patio ensure they are well out of sight. Not that there is any passing 'Joe Public' anyway. It's such a quiet spot but right on one of Northumberland's great roads.
Thank you again for such a great stay and I'll see you soon.
Judi

Room Tip: Just let Michael and Marion know if you have any needs. My friend is 6'4" so I mentioned t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our son from New Zealand stayed here in January whilst in the UK and he booked on the strength of trip adviser. We booked on his recommendation and were not at all disappointed . A great welcome from Michael who made tea and coffee which was in the lovely old lounge. Our room was room 3 and very comfy and warm. Lovely shower and all in all a great stay. Breakfast the the best ever with lovely fresh fruit (Not tinned) and the bread was to die for!! We had a lovely 3 course meal which was excellent and a nice bottle of wine.yMichael and Marion are great hosts and I would recommend this B &B to anyone . Nothing was too much trouble for them. We only had one night stay but wished it was longer. I can't wait to visit again and see more of lovely Northumberland. I feel in love with it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Brandy Bank and our hosts went out of their way to make us welcome. Lovely breakfast - including lots of fresh pineapple and strawberries. Wonderful dinner - specially cooked for our vegetarian family. A pot of tea brought to us in the comfy lounge when we arrived tired and footsore from a 16-mile walk. A lift when we really needed it. Powerful hot showers to reinvigorate us, and comfortable beds to prepare us for another day's walking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Michael made us feel so welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed the food at Brandybank. Breakfast is exceptionally good and the 3 course evening meal is definitely not to be missed. Our room was very comfortable with an excellent shower room. We stayed for 2 nights and felt we got excellent value for money. Once again .. Thankyou very much Michael.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Woodburn
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
967 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yellow House Farm
Yellow House Farm
#3 of 3 in West Woodburn
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holly Bush Inn
The Holly Bush Inn
#1 of 1 in Greenhaugh
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandy Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandy Bank Guest House

Address: West Woodburn, West Woodburn NE48 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range: $108 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandy Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brandy Bank Guest House – formerly an old Staging Inn built in 1726 is a family-run home from home fully licensed B&B in the village of West Woodburn, Hexham, Northumberland. Brandy Bank is an ideal location for getting out and exploring Northumberland as we are situated on the edge of the National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Brandy Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing