We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, fabulous breakfast and lovely room!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Woodburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brandy Bank Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very pleasant overnight stay at the Brandy Bank and will definitely be back!

The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was finished to a high standard. A complimentary refreshments tray and toiletries was a nice touch too. The 4 bedded room we occupied had a fabulous view on the surrounding countryside and the peaceful setting ensured we had a great nights sleep.

The breakfast was also lovely; high service and quality produce (especially the homemade bread).

The owners were extremely hospitable and very flexible. Helpful and friendly, they ensured we had a great stay.

This is definitely a good quality B&B and the value for money is excellent! Would recommend Brandy Bank to anyone...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceC_3195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 168 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the brandy bank as we were attending a nearby wedding. On arrival the host was extremely welcoming, meeting us from the car and offering to take our luggage. The room was great, especially the bathroom which was a good size and had a powerful shower. A major bonus was the breakfast! The host had sourced local products from the area and there was a great choice cooked expertly - even the bread for toast was homemade. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here if you are visiting this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the very minute we arrived when Michael greeted us warmly in the carpark until the friendly farewell, we felt very pleased that we had stumbled across this outstanding guesthouse. The standard of the rooms and facilities is excellent and Michael's charming demeanour and wonderful cooking skills made our stay quite memorable. Luckily we had decided to partake of the 3 course dinner on the evening of our arrival. The smoked salmon entree was extremely tasty, the Beef Wellington was perfect and the dessert "to die for". Michael prides himself on using only the best local products and loves to provide entertaining commentary about the cuisine. He is also a great source of information about local sight-seeing excursions, giving clear, concise directions. We were so impressed with our stay, that we revised our plans to allow an extra visit on the way back from Scotland.
Michael, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou from Christine & Martin from the Gold Coast, Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 886Martin886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Michael, the proprietor, could not be more accomodating. From the email he sent me right after I booked to the end of our stay, he was attentive. I have a restricted diet and he dealt graciously with this. His cooking was the best we had on the holiday; honest, tasty and locally sourced. We will go back to stay at Brandy Bank next time we go to Northumbria. Hotels are a dime a dozen but this place is one in a million.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We (my wife and our 8 and 5 year old children) after a local function. We were welcomed by Michael in the car park who offered to carry bags to the room and then showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome.

The rooms and facilities were superb (its such a nice change to have a decent powerful shower in the room!) and the breakfast was amazing. Locally sourced farm food and welcoming chat from both michael and his lovely wife.

We could not have been made more welcome, I wish all stays could be like this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getupsosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We decided to book Brandy Bank as we wanted a truly dog friendly, yet comfortable B and B where we could rest after a long day of exploring and hiking. Michael and his home from home did not disappoint! From our first phone call Michael was very engaging and friendly, and as we arrived he rushed out, took our suitcases and then made us a pot of tea. Freddie our lurcher was made very welcome, and was allowed to be with us in the sitting room or remain in our room; whatever suited us. We decided to eat in the first night, as Michael's menu sounded lovely, and it truly was delicious. Due to this we ate a 3 course dinner for all the 3 nights of our stay and every single course was tasty and cooked to perfection, as was the breakfast. Michael was a fantastic host and couldn't do enough for us, even including filling up our flasks with filter coffee before we went out for the day, and giving us hot water bottles at night. We cannot recommend this b and b enough. Thanks Michael!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We could not have had a warmer welcome..Michael the proprietor met us in the car park, showed us the most convenient place to park for the disabled room, carried our bags and settled us in the room, then despite the plentiful facilities in the room prepared a tray of tea for us.And so it continued, Michael goes well beyond the norm to help and make his guests as comfortable and happy as possible.
The disabled room is splendid,equipped with electric beds and a spacious wet room.As good as any 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brandy Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandy Bank Guest House

Address: West Woodburn, West Woodburn NE48 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandy Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brandy Bank Guest House – formerly an old Staging Inn built in 1726 is a family-run home from home fully licensed B&B in the village of West Woodburn, Hexham, Northumberland. Brandy Bank is an ideal location for getting out and exploring Northumberland as we are situated on the edge of the National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing