We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brandy Bank Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend break”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We didn't need to travel far from home to feel like we had got away from it all. This is a charming B&B though I agree it is more like a hotel We stayed for 3 nights and had evening meal each night all freshly cooked and served by our hosts. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We spent each day hiking in the area ,up to Kielder forest and on a local walk from the Brandy Bank. We were greeted warmly whenever we arrived and really appreciated the fresh fruit for breakfast.
A very enjoyable break which we finished with a trip to Jedburgh before we returned home
Highly recommended for the situation and hosts and of course the good food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saffron658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
68
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Was at the guest house for a wedding, the owners couldn't help enough and nothing was a problem. The rooms are great and the food was fantasic. To top it off the location is great, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sstempczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Just the best place to stay, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms brilliant, food is just superb, home baked bread, homegrown vegetables & organic meat.
Michael my host met me in the car park & after showing me to my room & letting me get settled, made a pot of tea for me in the sitting room, more like 5 star hotel than a B & B!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarinetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We travelled with our kids (16 and 21) to Brandy Bank in August and absolutely loved meeting Michael and staying the night! Michael is a wonderful host, so welcoming as he helped us with our luggage and made us tea after our long drive. Brandy Bank is a charming place in beautiful countryside, our rooms were so comfortable and the bathrooms clean and modern. Michael is a FANTASTIC chef - we're still talking about the meal we had that night! Homemade salmon pasta, beef Burgundy, and a delicious chocolate cake with a melted center. Yum! Breakfast was equally fabulous - fruit, yogurt, cereals and a full English cooked to order with locally sourced ingredients.

Brandy Bank was the first place we stayed on our trip and became the gold standard for every other B&B. Michael's suggestion of a walk down a nearby lane to an artisan's shop (wonderful items made of slate) and his directions to our next activity were helpful and welcome.

Thank you Michael for a wonderful experience at Brandy Bank. We loved your kind hospitality and hope to return someday to see you again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WkndAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

So many good things have been written about the Brandy Bank, that I don't see the point in repeating them. All the good stuff that other guests have said are absolutely true!!!

Michael is the perfect host and puts his personal touch on everything. I was travelling from Scotland on a motorcycle and as it was getting ready to rain, I happened to be close to the Brandy Bank and managed to get in there before the skies opened up. Mike made me tea and made me feel more welcome than anywhere else I have stayed.

The food was very, very nice. The steak was one of the best I have ever had anywhere. Breakfast was equally grand - a fine selection of fruits and cereals etc and an english breakfast cooked to perfection.

I will certainly go out of my way to enjoy the hospitality of Brandy Bank Mike, if I'm ever in the area again, and I have no doubts that you will find it worth you while as well....

Room Tip: I was in room no. 2 only, so can't comment on the others. The room was spotlessly clean, very m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceman1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London lady
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Loved our overnight stay. We were touring Alnwick, Hadrian's Wall, etc. Michael, the owner was so helpful in every way. Fab evening meal. Excellent breakfast. Quiet, and comfortable room with very modern bathroom. Good choice for exploring the Northumbrian area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank barbican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Michael, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. He offered up a tasty menu, all made freshly on the day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The countryside is stunning. We went to the local pub and they had a sheep shearing competition going on. It was great. The lounge was made available for us and tea brought to us after our night out. The wine was stunning, the best white wine I have had for a long time. I had steak and my husband had sea bass and both were beautifully cooked but the best was the freshly made salmon pasta.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Woodburn
0.0 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cheviot Hotel
Cheviot Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yellow House Farm
Yellow House Farm
#3 of 3 in West Woodburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandy Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandy Bank Guest House

Property: Brandy Bank Guest House
Address: West Woodburn, West Woodburn NE48 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandy Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brandy Bank Guest House – formerly an old Staging Inn built in 1726 is a family-run home from home fully licensed B&B in the village of West Woodburn, Hexham, Northumberland. Brandy Bank is an ideal location for getting out and exploring Northumberland as we are situated on the edge of the National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brandy Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing