We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“west woodburn rocks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Woodburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brandy Bank Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Michael, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. He offered up a tasty menu, all made freshly on the day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The countryside is stunning. We went to the local pub and they had a sheep shearing competition going on. It was great. The lounge was made available for us and tea brought to us after our night out. The wine was stunning, the best white wine I have had for a long time. I had steak and my husband had sea bass and both were beautifully cooked but the best was the freshly made salmon pasta.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed one night at Brandy Bank as we were attending a local wedding. Our room was of a nice size with a newly renovated shower room. Extremely clean and well presented with a comfortable bed. The owner was very friendly and explained everything we needed to know. He even had our room ready by 11am to check in so that we didn't have to take all our bags to the wedding!

Breakfast was superb, with fresh fruit and then a delicious assortment of local sausages, eggs, bacon and black pudding.

We paid £80 for bed and breakfast and it was worth every penny. The only problem was that when we left we forgot (well the wife did) to hand the keys back, only realising once we were home, but the owner was very understanding and we posted them back the next day.

If I was in the area again then I would definitely look to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We actually booked another B&B around the corner but on arrival was informed that they were full and had moved us to the Brandy Bank instead. We were, of course, slightly anxious as had no idea what to expect. We were more than pleased when we arrived at the Brandy Bank.

Michael (the owner) met us in the car park to help us with any luggage up to our room. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated, clean and airy. The bathroom was recently refurbished and Michael went through everything with us to make sure we were happy and comfortable.

We were offered a pot of coffee or tea in the splendid living room area once we had settled and Michael enthusiastically described a sumptuous three-course evening meal he was cooking for guests that evening for a reasonable price. We chose not to dine there that evening but the other guests complimented the food highly.

Breakfast was the best ever! Michael allowed us to choose whichever time we preferred for breakfast (he believes in outstanding customer service!) Fresh fruit chopped individually for guests, fresh local produce in the cooked breakfast, all cooked to order. Nothing was too much trouble for Michael who told us that he runs this B&B single handedly. He does a fantastic job!

I cannot praise this B&B highly enough. We would most definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Supragirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked Brandy Bank as stopover on our way back from a biking trip to Scotland. Boy did we strike it lucky, it's an absolute gem of a place, beautiful rooms, superb food along with a brilliant host for whom nothing was too much trouble, tea on arrival and enough hot showers to suit any weary traveller. Deffo a 10 out of 10 with no hesitation to recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A group of us stopped here whilst playing golf for the weekend at Slaley Hall. We do it every year but usually stop in Hexham. This time we stopped further out, with no regrets.

Very friendly owner, who offered a 3 course meal on arrival. All homemade, even then the pasta! The food was fantastic, as were the rooms. A local pub offering pints of Old Speckled Hen rounded off the nite, with a good solid sleep in a lovely comfy bed to finish. Breakfast the following day wasn't disappointing and we were on our way. Very impressed and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyger1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good provision for parking. Hosts very welcoming. Room comfortable, and bathroom well stocked. All very clean and smart. Excellent breakfast including fruit platter and high quality cooked breakfast. Free wifi when you ask for the code (but make sure you disconnect from the automatic connection to nearby BT openzone!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We received a warm welcome at this guest house which stands out because of the quality fo the food. The room was very comfortable. The owners are very committed with a real appreciataion of good food - locally sourced and lovingly prepared and presented.A hidden gem.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank trekbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brandy Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandy Bank Guest House

Address: West Woodburn, West Woodburn NE48 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > West Woodburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Woodburn
Price Range: $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandy Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brandy Bank Guest House – formerly an old Staging Inn built in 1726 is a family-run home from home fully licensed B&B in the village of West Woodburn, Hexham, Northumberland. Brandy Bank is an ideal location for getting out and exploring Northumberland as we are situated on the edge of the National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing