We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest looking restaurant providing great food with great service”

Mr Chong Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Modest looking restaurant providing great food with great service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It must be 10 years since I last came here, and Mr Chong is looking a little older (just like me!) but he and his staff are just as friendly and welcoming, with that personal touch, that makes all the difference. Nothing special about the setting and surroundings, but the food is really, really tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    3
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Local Chinese”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We always enjoy an evening at Mr Chong's the food is very tasty. It is was refurbished last year and is looking the same but different.- time forward twenty years!

Its not the best Chinese food I have ever eaten but still very good. I will happily go ahead of many national chain restaurants in Walton.

If you want the best in Walton try his fish and chip shop next door. This has fish cooked to order and certainly gets fives stars!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't stay away!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We love Mr Chong's and have been eating there at least once a month for the past 12 years.

Mr Chong is a great character and the whole team are very friendly.

Food is always tasty and fresh, i particularly enjoy their appetizers - lovely!

Service can be a little slow if there are a lot of takeaway orders, but as long is the wine it topped up I don't mind waiting a little longer for the great food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VicWSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect anniversary meal”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

had not been to Mr Chong's for a few years
but it was as good as ever.
fabulous set menus and great service.
will be back sooner rather than later

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fraser w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have been eating in and getting take aways from Mr Chongs for a good number of years. Their food is consistently fresh and of high quality, particularly their beef dishes of which I'm very picky. Prices are on the slightly high side but if they continue to keep the food quality as high it is a price worth paying. They do a very good buffet meal deal. Staff are very friendly and on a recent visit I saw a family having a meal and they obliged an eldery member of the party with fish and chips from their adjoining chip shop which I thought was a really nice touch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JTMJTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chong Restaurant also viewed

Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to Mr Chong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing