We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

The Anglers of Walton
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue, British, Bar, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had to wait a long time for our food and when it arrived it had to go back as it was cold. You can sit outside by the river which is nice but unfortunately the poor food and service means we will not be returning

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    78
    40
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“could be a lot better”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

pub is in a great location, overlooking the river with plenty of seating, inside is cosy and had some good beers available, menu was limited and expensive, portions were small and not presented in the best way possible, the taste of the food was bland, can think of lots of ways to spend that sort of money at better places in the area, which is what i will do next time

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Rather Expensive and a bit average”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Anglers is right on the Thames at Walton on Thames in a lovely setting, and that's why they feel they can charge a little bit more for their food, well fair enough, I wouldn't mind that if it was worth it, but my husband had a rather chewy t-bone steak for £18 and I had a fish pie for £14. The steak was served on a wooden board, which I know is 'a la mode', but is not really suited if you're having sauce and I'm not convinced on the hygiene. My fish pie admittedly had loads of fish and prawns, but there were also no vegetables within (or without) and a thin layer of sliced potato on top which did not better the more traditional mash topping one bit. There was a strong seafood smell which I'm always a bit nervous of (the result of which was unfortunately 'realised' later back at home - apologies for too much information!) The large shelled prawn on top was left untouched as were the ones WITHIN(??) the pie because I didn't have a finger bowl and was put off because of the aforementioned smell. It's not that I wouldn't go back as it is a lovely spot and I recommend it highly on a sunny day, but I think I will just have a drink or two and eat elsewhere next time - maybe next door at The Swan?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loopy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pictures?”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location but a bit expensive.

When are they going to buy some pictures for the walls?! Inside looks unfinished especially as there as picture lights with no pictures below them. Odd!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D_LSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch....”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was an annual visit of a group of retired business colleagues. the service was up to its usual standard and the food very tasty and well presented. The location on the River Thames makes it a very pleasant place for a leisurely lunch

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReydeJamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anglers of Walton also viewed

Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 

Been to The Anglers of Walton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing