We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Honest Cooking”
Review of The Dining Room - CLOSED

The Dining Room
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Honest Cooking”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

we have now been quite a few times spread over a number of years and it never disappoints
it is very much the type of cooking your Mother used to make!! we had the venison which was stupendous and I had the lamb Pie which was excellent. The restaurant is based in a converted house which gives a few tables in each section so you never get a lot of noise which so many of the new open plan restaurants suffer from ( you can tell I have one foot in the grave)
The staff are always friendly and helpful

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaguar60186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quirky place with quality food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Came here in a group of 8 people during the middle of the week for dinner. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy but the staff were very attentive without crowding us. The range of choice was very good, if I was going to be picky I would suggest they are trying slightly too hard to be up market. Starters were generally very good and of a decent size. For mains I chose the pulled pork burger which was extremely good and of a decent size. I have little bad to say about this restaurant and would suggest it is worth a visit if the prices suit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank si101London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a let down!!!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We came here under recommendation and were very disappointed with the food. The crab fritter starter & scallops were rediculously small portions, verging on embarassing! The steak main was nice but again not very substantial. We had to order veg to accompany everything & at £3 per portion expected more than a coffe cup of veg; you couldn't really "share" it! Lovely ambience though!! Would not come here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recently moved to Walton and a friend highly recommended The Dining Room. Another friend and I went for lunch and we we rather disappointed. The service was quite slow which was difficult as the restaurant was not at all full. My friend had the lamb speciality dish which he said was OK but a small portion especially considering the price. I had steak pudding which again was OK but nothing special. The vegetables were on the raw side of al dente. Probably won't take my wife there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My little sister, Louise, treated Kiki and I to a wonderful dinner at this very special, cosy, little restaurant, which I learnt is 30 years old.

First we had a pre-drink in the garden of the pub next door. We were greeted warmly when we arrived at the restaurant and shown to a nice window table.

The place has an interesting, intimate and slightly funky atmosphere. The food is tasty and quite different. Service was friendly and attentive.

We will certainly re-visit, perhaps for Sunday lunch based on the recent reviewer's recommendation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
Walton-On-Thames, Surrey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing