We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Weir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Weir Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is basically a pretty run down pub with some dirty rooms above the pub. The carpets needed washing if not changing and the bathroom and bedroom looked like a good clean was long over due.

Bizarrely we appeared to have an exit light in our bedroom so had a big red light on all night.

definitely not one we will be going back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    10
    10
    22
See reviews for
19
38
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
italia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recently we've stayed 4 nights at The Weir Hotel and had an excellent stay. the food was really good, also the parking was good. They staff is very friendly and it is just in front of river Thames.
An amazing place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at this property whilst on a business trip recently and thoroughly enjoyed the location, right next to the river. Friendly and very helpful owner and the food was really good pub fare. It will definately be on my itinerary next time i am in London.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Recently stayed 4 nts at The Weir Hotel and had an excellent stay. Nice clean rooms - secure
free car parking - excellent food and friendly and polite staff. On top of all this a fantastic location
by the River Thames. Had to check out for 1 nt to go to Newcastle on business and there was no problem to leave my luggage in my room during this time.
Stayed with a work mate from South Africa who found loved the rural setting + english pub food
& beers.
Will be back on my next business trip to UK

Room Tip: Request a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruvs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spend three days at The Weir Hotel. The location was fabulous and our room was river facing. The hotel has a free and safe car park. Upon arrival and throughout our stay, the staffs were really polite, helpful and attentive. The food was enjoyable and reasonably priced. The room was of a good size, clean and comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay there again. We had a great and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayceon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited The Weir for food only - Sunday lunch. Glad I booked ahead as the venue is very popular.

Right on the river, it is lovely for a pre or post lunch walk. Food was lovely and very good value.

Service was quick and friendly. I would definately visit again and am tempted, if in the area, to try out the hotel side also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had already booked this hotel 6 months before our stay & before we saw the previous reviews. Our friends had booked to stay there & we joined them so we could all cycle along the tow path to Hampton Court for the Olympic Time Trials, then we got tickets for the Olympic Park & Basketball so rang & added an extra night. When I made the original call I was offered the room with the four poster bed for an additional price which I declined. We arrived at the hotel & were given the above mentioned room as a free upgrade and so both ourselves & our friends had riverside views. The beds are extremely comfortable, and whilst the food is pub fare it is very well prepared and very tasty, the green thai curry was a great hit. Due to our basketball tickets being for the last games we wouldn't be back until the early hours we were given a code so we could let ourselves in no problem. All the staff were very friendly, helpful regarding train stations, taxis etc and the breakfasts were wonderful. Will not hesitate to stay again when next in the area. The cycling is excellent and so was watching Bradley get gold.....

Room Tip: Whilst the river view rooms are fantastic the weir is a constant background noise, didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaSP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walton-On-Thames
2.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
2.3 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunbury - Kempton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weir Hotel

Property: The Weir Hotel
Address: Waterside Drive, Walton-On-Thames KT12 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Walton-On-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Walton-On-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Weir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Weir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weir Hotel Walton-On-Thames, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing