We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet and enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Al Pesce d'Oro
Ranked #1 of 1 Vettica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quiet and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent two nights here and found the rooms clean and comfortable. Slept very well and enjoyed the breakfast provided from the terrace. Was definitely nice sipping coffee and looking out over the Mediterranean Sea. They offered to drive us to town and explained how to use the SITA bus to get back to the B&B....it worked beautifully. Most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdavisengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
23
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Pesce d'Oro for one night and were very pleased with our room. It was comfortable, clean, and included a terrace that looked off into the Mediterranean. The hotel had free WiFi and the staff was very accommodating of us, especially when our plans changed at the last minute. The one thing to be aware of is that this hotel is about 3 km away from Amalfi proper, and the roads do not have sidewalks or really any kind of walking path, which makes getting to Amalfi by foot a little dangerous. However the staff was so helpful and happily chauffeured us whenever we needed, so it wasn't a problem. Just be aware that you'll probably need to depend on the hotel for getting around a bit.

The breakfast was delicious and the views couldn't be beat. I travelled with two of my girlfriends, however Amalfi just oozes romance, and I am sure this would be a great destination with a spouse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had an incredible time here. Loved the location! It's close enough for non-lazy people to walk to Amalfi, yet far enough to get away from the crowds. There's a bus stop across the street, too, and the staff will give you a ride to Amalfi if you ask, so you never need to use a car. People! You miss far too much using a car! One of the best experiences we had was climbing up a stairway to St. Michael's church high above the B&B and drinking lemoncello with the priest there, then we made our way to Amalfi over the course of three hours, stopping many times along the way at a fish market, a cafe, a cemetery, and just to take in the views. This is the way to travel, and Pesce d'Oro is the perfect place to stay for that! The food was excellent, the staff treated us well, and the rooms had lovely views of the sea. Nothing like sipping cappuccinos while staring out at the Med in the morning. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The signs indicate Al Pesce d'Oro is about 2kms from Amalfi township but it's more like 4km. We grabbed the bus heading for Sorrento and asked the driver to let us off here where we were put in a room with a splendid ocean view. It's a quirky hotel where it's a struggle to find someone who understands what you are trying to convey in English (a little bit like an Italian Faulty Towers), but the staff are friendly and do their best. For a three-star hotel, it is good value for money and the location is lovely. Try not to miss the last 9pm bus going up to the hotel as it's mad walking back from the town on the windy coast road, hugging the cliff everytime a car comes flying around the corner (about a 45 minute walk)!
Breakfast may be challenge for some as every morning we were given only sweet things on a plate, which included a sweet croissant, fruit and a piece of cake or pastry. Sometimes we got fresh bread to go with our selection of jams but other times just dry, crunchy toast in a packet. However, we did get an amazing freshly-squeezed orange juice and a good cappuccino each morning.
The room we stayed in was perfectly clean, if on the small side (one of our suitcases was squeezed into the wardrobe while another was on the floor), but the bed was comfortable and we had no problem sleeping.
The hotel has a good restaurant with an extensive menu and there is another lovely restaurant across the road.
All in all, when you get a good deal price-wise you have to consider that things will not be perfect. If you want perfect, stay in a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

the room was not clean the bathroom was filthy terrible smel when eating outside we were overcome with fumes of the agregraat the owner and his son were rude the balcony was covert with ants they were everywhere the bathroom was so dirty broken tiles and mould on the walls its smell made me vomit .
when we paid they wanted cach for the pizza we ate on arrival we refused .
the breakfast buffet as promissed was not there instead sweet croissant with i do not eat so there was only coffee for me.
we will never go there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salsello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerod, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Dull reception, but the room with furnished balcony (internet ordered) was splendid as expected. The view overlooking the sea was breathtaking! Dogs were welcomed without extra fees and, the free parking lot was absolutely a plus in this area.

Warning!
Even though the restaurant was good with a large a la carte menu card, they don't itemize the bill on payment. Actually, we didn't get a bill at all - just the amount. We paid 70 euros for two maincourses and a salad, wine and water, a rather high price compared to our expecteations. Our restaurant-bill was paid separately.

The room rate included a large breakfast-buffet according to the description on the internet, but surprisingly there wasn't any the next morning. Instead were offered a traditional Italian breakfast, which we always try to avoid (too much sugar). We paid for the room with our credit card and didn't discover until we were back home that the hotel had charged 100 euros more than the actual booking-price (85 euros).

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Havenissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and they were overbooked because of a wedding. We didn't get the room we had booked. We where a bit disappointed. They did their best to keep us happy. We got to sit by the wedding party, with wonderful food and musicians. Next day we got the room we had ordered, and they were just friendly and lovely all the time. Gave us free limoncellos and drove us to Amalfi when we wanted to. Bacci :-0

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gouine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vettica
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Al Pesce d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Al Pesce d'Oro

Property: B&B Al Pesce d'Oro
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 56 | loc. Vettica, 84011 Vettica, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi > Vettica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vettica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a panoramic corner of the Amalfi coast, overlooking both the typical terraced hillside cultivated with lemons and the beautiful Amalfi's bay, "Al pesce d'oro" B&B welcomes its guests with discreet and family hospitality, ensuring their relaxation. Recently tastefully refurbished, the furniture has the typical features of the Mediterranean architecture, such as maiolica tiles from Vietri, wooden furniture, antique frames and wrought iron headboards; they are equipped with all modern comfort, independent access, private terrace with sea view and private parking. "Al pesce d'oro" restaurant, runs by the same owners, is located a very short distance from the B&B. Here you can enjoy typical dishes of culinary tradition of the Campania region, delicious pizza and sip fragrant local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B&B Al Pesce d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Al Pesce D'Oro Amalfi Coast, Italy - Vettica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing