We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Motte
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Usseau
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent two nights here on our way to the Alps. We were impressed with the service, cleanliness of the entire building and was amazed his large the rooms were.
Jean Marie, his wife and daughter were excellent hosts and did everything to make us feel at home. The home cooked meals with vegatables grown in their own gardens, and the freshly made jams at breakfast were second to none.
Despite the several steps to get around the property, everything else was just perfect.
I wouldn't hesitate to return when next I'm in that area of France.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
83
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked this Chateau as a surprise for my wife for our journey home from holiday. We were warmly greeted by the owner Jean-Marie Bardin at the entrance and were showen up to the reception and then to our rooms. The bedrooms were magnificent, well decorated and light. The bathroom was also of a high standard with a separate toilet with views over the fields and no fear of being overlooked. Our friends were also impressed with their bedroom and the care that had gone into preserving the structure instead of "knocking" it about. We had the tables d'hotes which was cooked by Marie-Andree the owners wife who is a trained chef and had run her own resteraunt previously. The meal was delicious and excellent value for money. Jean-Marie kept us entertained with accounts of his life experiences.
This stay was like a dream in heaven. We will always cherish our memory of this stay and will try to return another time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin bedroom which has views both sides of the chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnomeontherange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the Chateau en route to friends in the Gers. The welcome was warm and friendly, our twin room was light and airy with nothing missed - good bathroom, excellent shower, delightful dinner in the company of other guests and breakfast was perfect too. Host and hostess couldn't have been more polite and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived May 1st to be greeted by Marie-Andre and met Jean Marie in their gracious sitting area. We had just spent 4 very full days of visiting Paris so the quiet countryside was a welcome repose. An apperitife before dinner with a history lesson thrown in about the castle. The a fabulous dinner with the couple, as we were the only guests that night. To clarify, there was a family staying in one of the outer buildings whom we would meet later. Dessert included the first rhubarb of the season and so reminded us of our garden at home.
Our room was spacious and well laid out; the only unfortunate thing was the two twin beds which we managed to sleep together in one rather than bothering them to put the two together.
Breakfast was simple and self created. We had our dinner with them all three evenings and enjoyed each one and the company of the other guests as they arrived.
The only downside, if one could call it that, is that we did not have a vehicle. So we procured a walking map of the area and had great strolls through forests, farmers' fields and small villages. If one wanted a more directed adventure perhaps a car is necessary but for us to commune with nature was exactly what we wanted and got.
We would go back to Chateau de la Motte in a flash! By the way, their daughter Charlotte creates some beautiful jewellery that she has for sale if you're fortunate as we were.
.

Room Tip: check out the web site and see for yourself - each has it's own splendor and accommodations of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorH391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The chateau hove into view extracting incredulous cries from mem'sahib! A turret and a tower and a flag flying bravely in the wind. A little daunting as I had not packed my best tuxedo ( what that?) but once we had climbed the first set of 12 steps we were warmly welcomed by the owner, his wife and fair daughter.
Without doubt it was an experience to savour and dwell upon. Stunning views, atmospheric rooms, strange showers, lots of circular steps, wonderful food at a large table with wide choice of both wines and aperitifs. Always eat here by candle light as you will revel in the experience and you never know who you sit next to........we had a German couple driving from Portugal to Hamburg , a French motor cyclist on an old Triumph and a Devonian dentist and wife. A wonderful experience at dinner and brekka.
Peaceful nights sleep . Great history lessons . Super garden and grounds. Totally a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was the best place we stayed during our trip, really made the entire trip to France a unique experience. A friend and I stayed here in October 2012 and had a wonderful time. Marie-Andree and Jean-Marie were so friendly and welcoming. They even had refreshments and drinks waiting for us once we had our bags stowed away in the room. And the room! The Isabelle de Poissy room was spacious and decorated in a lovely, but not overwhelming theme. The bathroom was also great, totally renovated and lots of water pressure!

We also stayed for dinner--which I highly recommend--and were served a feast using locally-sourced ingredients that was better than many of the 5-star restaurants we ate at in Paris!! So delicious and we didn't have to drive anywhere after a long day. We also took advantage of the nice weather and sat outside in the garden for a bit after dinner.

Overall, I couldn't say enough great things about this place. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ml849567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I found this castle bed and breakfast, and I am so glad that I did. I own a small group European tour business that specializes in taking small private groups of friends or families to Europe. I was in France checking out different places to bring people to stay. The rooms are large and furnished with period furniture. It is a real castle, but manages to feel grand, but homey. The welcome is warm and genuine. The owners, Marie-Andree and Jean-Marie are so interesting, kind and hard-working. I could tell that this was their PASSION! We ate dinner there that night. I recommend doing so. The food is delicious and is a good value with before drinks, appetizers, the main course and dessert, coffee, wine all included. We had people from England, Iceland and Germany at the table. Great conversation. I wish that we could have stayed another night. I will be returning and bringing clients to this timeless place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usseau
4.8 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#1 of 10 in Chatellerault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
#3 of 10 in Chatellerault
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#5 of 10 in Chatellerault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
20.6 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
16.7 mi away
Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel
Plaza Site du Futuroscope Hotel
#4 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Motte

Property: Chateau de la Motte
Address: 2 Lieu Dit la Motte, 86230 Usseau, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Usseau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Usseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de la Motte is a private castle offering Bed and Breakfast - BnB - in a unique and authentic environment. All the five bedrooms are decorated with taste and offer the comfort one can expect in the 21th century. The Candlelight dinner, held most evenings, contributes to the unique ambiance of this 15th century castle centered amongst lovely gardens and a peaceful country side. Pool. Guests houses are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Motte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing