We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping Beauty's Castle…..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Motte
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Usseau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I found this castle bed and breakfast, and I am so glad that I did. I own a small group European tour business that specializes in taking small private groups of friends or families to Europe. I was in France checking out different places to bring people to stay. The rooms are large and furnished with period furniture. It is a real castle, but manages to feel grand, but homey. The welcome is warm and genuine. The owners, Marie-Andree and Jean-Marie are so interesting, kind and hard-working. I could tell that this was their PASSION! We ate dinner there that night. I recommend doing so. The food is delicious and is a good value with before drinks, appetizers, the main course and dessert, coffee, wine all included. We had people from England, Iceland and Germany at the table. Great conversation. I wish that we could have stayed another night. I will be returning and bringing clients to this timeless place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 184 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We travelled for over three months in Europe and staying here was one of "our highlights". The chateau has been preserved as best it can be to its near original state..Our rooms were accessed via a winding staircase and each bedroom was large with modern bathroom facilities. The obvious modern renovations to the rooms and ensuites did not detract from the wonderful medieval atmosphere that the owners have preserved throughout the rest of the chateau.
Our welcome was wonderful.
Jean-Marie and Marie-Andree Bardin were the perfect hosts. Jean-Marie, after we settled in, gave us an understanding of the history of chateau, whilst Marie-Andree cooked and presented us with the most magnificent dinner, all vegetables coming from their own garden. There were six of us for dinner. It was a most enjoyable evening - the food was superb and the aperitifs and dinner wines were superb.
Jean-Marie provided us with a tour of the chateau the next morning, after a more than satisfying and generous breakfast.
Jean-Marie and Marie are extremely passionate about what they have/and what they are about, and this comes through so clearly in their welcoming people to their home. and to their devotion to ensuring your time with them is valued.
Another bonus for travellers is that it is off the tourist track (we were driving) and there is plenty of car space.
We just loved this place and the people who own it. Their commitment to what they have, and to guests, who want to share their commitment with them is not something you come across very often.





Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a perfect place to stay - everything one would want from a Chateau - romantic rooms, beautiful garden, and warm welcoming hosts. We were made to feel as honoured guests in the home of Marie-Andree and Jean-Marie. Then entered into an informative, entertaining and enjoyable conversation with Jean-Marie while having our cup of tea. The kitchen garden is more than that - it seemed to be full of every vegetable able to be grown in France - and we were served a delightful meal mainly sourced from 200 yards away. Marie-Andree and Jean-Marie have combined the historic with the comfortable. Everything was done with such grace and charm and we highly recommend a stay in this delightful Chateau. It is more than could be expected. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soupspooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I had booked this chateau many months ago and honestly did not expect it to live up to my dreams. I was wrong. It is picture perfect and well worth a visit. The owners are extremely likeable and cannot do enough for you without being smothering. Dinner was Devine. There are plenty of pretty villages nearby and the motorway is close enough to be handy. Ignore the negative comment. It was made by a no-show.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richam6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After a fabulous but exhausting six week cycling holiday in France this was a superb place to relax in delightful surroundings. The chateau is very attractive and has been admirably restored, and the owners, Jean-Marie and Marie-Andree, were warm and friendly and very good hosts. Our room "Ysabeau de Poitiers" was massive, light and airy, with great views of the surrounding countryside, and while we normally prefer to be out and about, in this case it was such a pleasure to spend time in this lovely room and just relax. Our dinner was good and included fresh vegetables and fruits from their large garden. This is outstanding value for a stay in a chateau and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG_Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A Chateau that has been very well restored and worth a stay in its own right. There is the right mix of historical detail and modern comfort. But what makes the stay special and memorable is the hospitality. I felt less like a customer and more like an honored guest being exceptionally well looked after. I am a fairly fussy eater but was delighted with the freshly cooked wholesome meal. The hosts could run a master class in how to look after guests. It is about 6 hours drive from Calais making both an ideal stop-over and a high spot of a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It is difficult to find the right words to describe this chateau and the warmth of the welcome we received - it is just outstanding. We visited the chateau with four friends and each of us had the most palatial rooms which were huge, extremely well appointed and spotlessly clean. We were met by our hosts, Marie-Andree and Jean-Marie, who welcomed us as guests in their home rather than hotel customers. We met for pre-dinner drinks which were followed by the most amazing meal, with many of the ingredients grown in the chateau gardens. The whole experience was just fantastic and incredible value for money. After a superb breakfast we were treated to a guided tour of the chateau and learned much about the history. This was a real indulgence!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbmcculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usseau
8.9 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
264 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#2 of 10 in Chatellerault
124 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
Ibis Budget Chatellerault
#3 of 10 in Chatellerault
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
611 reviews
15.8 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#2 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
168 reviews
3.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
B&B Hotel Chatellerault
#1 of 10 in Chatellerault
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Motte

Address: 2 Lieu Dit la Motte, 86230 Usseau, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Usseau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Usseau
Price Range: $13 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de la Motte is a private castle offering Bed and Breakfast - BnB - in a unique and authentic environment. All the five bedrooms are decorated with taste and offer the comfort one can expect in the 21th century. The Candlelight dinner, held most evenings, contributes to the unique ambiance of this 15th century castle centered amongst lovely gardens and a peaceful country side. Pool. Guests houses are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Chateau de la Motte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing