We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to unwind after a long flight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ridge Luxury Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puhoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ridge Luxury Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Puhoi B&B and Inns
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to unwind after a long flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Yet again, we went straight to the The Ridge at Puhoi after arriving in Auckland after our long flight from the UK. As always Ian, Maralyn and the location worked their charms and we settled straight into the holiday groove. There seems to be a magic here that defies jet-lag - we just get instant relaxation and get set to tackle our holiday in NZ.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cropredy_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this Country Lodge that really deserves the "Luxury" attribute. The view from the Puhoi ridge is gorgeous; when the sky is clear you can even see the sun raising over the see... The hosts are fabulous, and Charlie the cute little terrier a bit nosy but sweet and a lot of fun. Maralyn's meals are truly home-made and delicious and both she and Ian are hosts that really care about their guests without being intrusive in any way. When our daughter realized she had left her smartphone at their place, she called them and they were so helpful to immediately send it on, so that we had it back before the end of our NZ trip. Another great thing was that they brought us in touch with their friend and neighbor Werner, who gave us a really interesting and touching tour the other day through the Puhoi historic museum of the Bohemian immigrants who founded this place.

All in all, a place that is definitely worthy of a visit and its price, which corresponds to the value you get.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbausch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Unfortunately we only had one night here, but we so enjoyed the location and tranquillity that abounded up here in the mountains. Magnificent view from our room, which was superb. Marilyn and Ian looked after us very well indeed, they were excellent company, together with their dog Charlie it was a great visit. Marilyn prepared a delicious meal for us that evening, we were certainly made to feel very much at home. We would loved to have stayed longer. A great find!! ,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSB139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Ridge with our parents and 3 out of 5 of my siblings. It was the perfect place to spend a reunited christmas as we are all living in different parts of the world. At the beggining we were quite reluctant to spend such a family type event with 'strangers' but it only took us 1 drink and 10 minutes to realise we would ADORE this place and we felt like home. Ian, Marylin and Charlie (the fairy one) are just the perfect hosts, not only amazing cook (Food was absolutely sensational) but also very entertaining and unexpected stories and always here when you needed something. The Lodge has everything luxury can offer: very confortable rooms with outstanding views on the moutains, sauna on the spectacular view, eco-friendly products. It was just the perfect place to relax, read a book, jog in the mountain.
What an incredible christmas, we will never forget it and we encourage all food, animals and nature lovers to discover and experience the best of NZ at the Ridge. NZ is so far but at the Ridge it will be so good. We will be back. A very happy French family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank French-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Blanca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed a night at The Ridge en route from The Bay of Islands down to Lake Taupo. it proved to be a great place to pause and it would be even better if we had had a longer time to relax and unwind. The room is beautifully appointed and maintained - artisitically done. A warm welcome, with excellent food. The nearby village of Puhoi is fascinating so all in all, a great place to stay if you are in this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepitaCostaBlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

You can stay in what seems like the mountains, yet less than an hour north of Auckland at The Ridge which is a luxury country B&B. Hospitality and food are excellent and the rooms are quite nice, but not spacious. The views are spectacular and this makes a great headquarters to explore this region where there is a lot more to see and do than you might realize.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

A lovely weekend with Ian and Marilyn at The Ridges, so relaxing and made to feel very welcome. Marilyn's cooking is spot on and the great conversation makes you feel like you are visiting the home of friends. The home made jam at breakfast is a real treat. And Puhoi is such a great little village and so handy to everywhere in the matakana region. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FayegAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puhoi
3.1 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
5.5 mi away
The Ambers Luxury B&B
The Ambers Luxury B&B
#2 of 3 in Silverdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 9 in Orewa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
11.4 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.6 mi away
Okura River Estate B&B
Okura River Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in North Shore City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Luxury Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Luxury Country Lodge

Property: The Ridge Luxury Country Lodge
Address: 147 Greenhollows Road, Puhoi 0951, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Puhoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Puhoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge offers a very relaxed & homely atmosphere with Maralyn preparing great food for our informal dinners. Set high on a ridge with panoramic views over 100s of acres of natural bush and out to sea, The Ridge is just 30 minutes north of Auckland City in the historic village of Puhoi which is part of the Matakana Coast Wine Country, vineyards, beaches, galleries, markets, museums we have lots for you to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing