We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Ardglass
Price range: $19 - $28
Cuisines: European, Irish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to Currans and the waiter / bar man Stephen remembered us and where we sat last time. Fantastic service and great food. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurransBar_13, Owner at Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Paula Mahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We happened upon this place whilst spending a day driving around the Strangford area.

Nice looking place from the outside, pretty nicely decked out inside. Food-wise, I had a really nice seafood chowder, really pleased with it. OH had a soup, also really enjoyed it. Only bad experience was that we ordered 2 cappucinos, both of which were a bit iffy. But then it seems to be difficult to get a good cappucino in NI!

We were only there on a flying lunch visit, would have been nice to have spent a bit more time there. However, on the basis of our brief experience, a well-deserved 4 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YerManThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurransBar_13, Owner at Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We have replaced our old machine for a new one so hopefully on your next visit your cappuccino's will be more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!
Paula Mahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The food was generally good but portions were smallish. The scampi in particular was tiny; I could only taste batter albeit nicely fried batter! On paying the bill I mentioned this and it was acknowledged. There was no offer to reduce the bill for this particular dish though which I think there should have been as it definitely was not worth the menu price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Highstandardsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurransBar_13, Owner at Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with the scampi and we are not normally like this I do hope that you will give us another chance to put it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I took my father to this restaurant for the first time and even though he grew up in and around this area and still goes down to kilough in the same area he had never heard of this place since that he has not stop talking about it he thought the sound rounds were beautiful both of us thought the food was excellent I had been there before I would highly recommend this place even though it is in a wee village with just a chapel in it hence the name but it would be a real treat for fish and meat eaters alike it also has an excellent vegan menu as well

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GRAINNE224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurransBar_13, Owner at Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you and your father enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again soon!
Paula Mahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Finally getting around to writing regarding my trip to Ardglass last year. Curran's Bar is a great restaurant featuring great food, good service, cold beer and Paula, the present owner was wonderful to us. We ate there a few times during our 12 day stay golfing Ardglass Golf Club. The building itself is quite historical. Try the scampi!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunbelters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurransBar_13, Owner at Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon!
Paula Mahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House also viewed

Ardglass, County Down
Ardglass, County Down
 
Ardglass, County Down
Strangford, County Down
 

Been to Curran's Bar & Seafood steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing