We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding. Enjoyed immensely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torrent
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Enjoyed immensely.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed three nights over a weekend at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We stayed in one of the luxury suites that has its own private splash pool - worth the splurge if you can afford. The room had a separate bedroom and sitting room plus two bathrooms - wonderful.

The outside area around the pool was all decked, and the area was surrounded by hedges that made it a very cozy, private area. We had several planters, including one lemon tree, that created a nice atmosphere.

The hotel staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful. We ate at both restaurants for dinner, and recommend the fine dining one over the more casual one. The menu and service of the former were a notch higher than the latter restaurant, which was still very good.

Everything was very serene and relaxing. My wife used the spa for several treatments and found it to be wonderful as well. We also used the fitness room in the spa, which has a lovely view of the countryside.

The hotel is not far from the coast, but everything we needed was at the hotel, and we chose not to venture out. Recommend this hotel for a relaxing and romantic stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    51
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
183
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

After arriving in Barcelona and renting a car, we headed towards Mas de Torrent. Being a Friday afternoon, we hit traffic so it took over two and a half hours to get there. When we finally reached the main gate of the hotel, i could immediately feel we were in a great place. The big main building, in local stone, is where the reception and restaurant are. Also some rooms, although we stayed in one of the three pavilions where the other rooms are.
The room itself was very nice, spacious and clean, with a private patio that provides visual and is surrounded by a beautiful cypress hedge.
The bathroom is a bit dated, maybe done over 10 years ago, and it is starting to show. A little rust here, some falling towel rack there...nothing serious really.
Service was top class, as they solved any issue we had (like no internet connection in the room or a not working toilet) as soon as possible. Very helpful and friendly staff.
We only ate there twice as we were visiting friends in the region, and both times we ordered room service. Food was good, nothing amazing but very decent and the service was fast.
Breakfast was fantastic, in a pavilion overlooking the big swimming pool.
The pool area is a wonderful place to rest and take the catalonian sun.
Overall, a very good stay.
Remember that you have to rent a car as the area is really in the middle of the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilacho T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a week here. Amazing.

We're a 40-something couple who like exercise, walking and nice food (and spas). It's got it all here.

The room we stayed in (one of the rooms outside the mail hotel) was simply amazing. It had a fantastically calm feel, with a private terrace (which got the sun all day). The spa was small but perfectly formed - and the gym absolutely fine (this worried me before I came as I couldn't find any pictures of it on the website!). It's got the full range of free weights, plus a small number of aerobic workout machines and a bench for presses etc. The pool is lovely. The food is great (although rather 'fine dining' so we only ate here one night). They lend you (decent) hybrid bikes for cycling the local countryside, the walking is fab.... Absolutely perfect.

There are some far cheaper, and very good local restaurants about 2km away - it took us 25 mins to walk in the evening. Try Can Dolc for great grilled meat. Loads of lovely food in this region....

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Hotel Mas de Torrent is a jewel for those seeking luxury, elegance and fine dining. We stayed for 2 days, on a package including 1 dinner, a massage of my wife and me, and smaller extras like a fruit basket and half bottle of sparkling wine. The reception staff are superlative, the maitre d’ and cuisine served in the restaurant outstanding, and our room exceptionally comfortable and spacious. There are, however, a few factors that some may see as minor detractions. First, Torrent is in a remote location (a plus for us), making it close to essential to have a car to come and go. While our room was wonderful, there was a small step down from the sleeping area to the sitting area. This step was not market, and we wondered how many guests might have tripped and even fallen if walking about the room without lighting. We were left with a basket of fruit, which was wonderful. Yet, although we had not finished the fruit offered, the maid removed what was left during our first morning there. Why? Upon arrival, we requested changing our massages, included in our package, for facials. However, no one neglected to tell us until after the facials were completed that we would be charged a hefty fee for the change. (The listed fees for the 2 services - facials and full massages are identical.) We didn’t object so much to imposing the fees as much as we did not being told of these hidden charges after the fact so we might be given an informed choice. We mentioned our surprise upon checking out. Staff made sympathetic noises, but no adjustment was made to our bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our Backroads bicycle trip "Pyrenees and Coasta Brava" included two nights at Mas de Torrent. This is a beautifully restored 18th century manor house with nice rooms adjacent to the main house. The gardens and grounds are well maintained and provide very nice views of nearby hill towns. The meals, pool and spa areas are exceptional. Cycling through the nearby villages and to the Mediterranean coast provided an wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two week vacation in Spain and France. Our second destination was Torrent, Spain which was a few hours drive from Barcelona. We have stayed at many Relais & Chateaux and this one was one of the best. Yes, this is a somewhat remote destination but there is a lot to do and a lot to see in this area of the world. Mas de Torrent provided us the relaxing base from which we were able to explore the surrounding hill towns like Pals and Paratallada as well as the Costa Brava and the Medieval Churches like Sant Pere de Rodes.

We stayed in Cyprus #3 which turned out to be a very spacious room and it also had a private terrace where we could enjoy the beautiful weather in comfortable chairs when we were not out exploring. The bathroom, shower and closet space were all first rate as were the bed linens and towels. There is very clearly an understated elegance about this hotel and property. The serenity and calmness of this spot was something that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfasts were very good and the restaurant for dinner was exceptional. One of our three evenings at this location we went out to eat at a local restaurant called Bo.Tic. This restaurant sports one Michelin star and my wife and I both thought it certainly deserved a second star.

If we ever return to this area of Spain again, the only place that I would consider staying would be the Mas de Torrent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ase1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a few times and have always been extremely happy. Menu wonderful wine selection and sommelier Pere is wonderful. The spa is top class and pool are is beautiful. As a family we have many happy memories there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlenevRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrent
9.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
12.5 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa

Property: Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
Address: Afores de Torrent s/n, 17123 Torrent, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torrent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torrent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa is the Emporda’s most emblematic property, a unique hotel-and-spa with a privileged location in Girona, where exclusivity is conveyed in every detail, where time stops.Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa is a member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux, and well-known for its unique situation in Emporda, for its spectacular views and extraordinary gardens, and for its care and good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De Torrent Hotel Torrent
Mas De Torrent Hotel And Spa
Mas De Torrent Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing