We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torrent
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“small gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently spent a few nights at Mas de Torrent at the end of a trip to Barcelona. The hotel was a small gem and felt like Tuscany. We stayed in the main building which was the original farmhouse and we loved the charm. The service was excellent and the grounds were beautifully maintained. We had a very relaxing few days and I would go back again.

Room Tip: If you like old world charm then stay in the main building if you prefer modern then stay in the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    48
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
171
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautifully renovated 1751 estate. The facilities are extensive and beautiful. We rarely dine where we stay let alone have have 2 dinners in a row which speaks volumes for the food quality, sommelier and in particular the service from Timea. The only let down was the quality of the therapists in the spa. We had 4 treatments during our stay - one was poor, 2 were average and one was good. Certainly not up to Asian spa standards. All other staff were great, the room (garden suite) large and very comfortable (only negative was shower over bath) and ideally located to the Coast and the the nearby village of Pals.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank roamers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

In common with a number of other reviewers we were very disappointed by the restaurant's food which detracted totally from a beautiful dining room and good service. The Mas de Torrent is indeed in a beautiful though somewhat isolated position ( we were on a walking holiday so sans car but a half hour walk or short bicycle ride to San Feliu village down the road gives a choice of three cheap and cheerful restaurants.)Our garden room was typical Relais style decor - quite luxurious and spacious as it should be for the price. The spa in a separate building has a limited range of treatments - no manicure or pedicure but various facials and massage options. On the plus side - the reception welcome was very good and the breakfast buffet overlooking an inviting but too cold at this time of year outdoor swimming pool was excellent. My average rating is because in its category it did not live up to expectations, mainly because the two restaurant meals - a lunch (a la carte) and a dinner (the half board menu) were both so poor and just a jot pretentious.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minervois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

we've stayed at Mas de Torrent before, so we knew what to expect - great room, excellent food, first-rate service - but this time the place excelled itself; we booked the spa package, though we couldn't book simultaneous massages - when we arrived, they had managed to reshuffle, so that we could be soothed into total relaxation together - delightful; the soak in the bath, involving an odd-sounding mix of oil and cava (yes, fizzy wine!) was a delight; our evening meal was perfect - scallop with pine-nuts, bathed in pumpkin soup; monkfish slow-cooked in a water bath; aberdeen angus beef with baby vegetables; red fruits with ice-cream; every bit perfect; and here's a hint - don't order a bottle of wine with your meal, ask the sommelier to provide a glass with each course; yes, he is charming and friendly, but he is also utterly professional and knowledgeable, and he will surprise with his selections of Catalan wines that you've never imagined - the Augustus Cabernet Franc was amzing with the beef;

our room was in the masia, the main building, with a balcony from which we had a glorious show of moon and stars (not provided by the hotel) a welcoming traditional room, including a help-yourself-for-free minibar - we prefer this to the garden rooms, even though each has a small private garden

we looked for grumbles - the best we could find was that the dressing gowns were made for slimmer persons than we; I'm not a giant, but the arms were distinctly tight; frankly, if this is the worst problem, then all else is terrific, and it was

everything about our stay was perfect, not least because the staff are just magnificent, in hotel, in spa, in restaurant; thank you Mas de Torrent

Room Tip: the masia is a modernised farmhouse, so no lift; if you don't like stairs, go for a garden room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monsieurkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

In the middle of the Empordà, this old house has been trnasformed into one of the best hotels I have been. The rooms in the old property are great in all respects: decoration, bathroom, room service, silence.... All is well taken care of and the restaurant is great. The rooms outside are good but not as good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the olod house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e103db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Beautiful location, friendly staff and a nice spa and facilities. The restaurant was hit or miss, which was disappointing given the prices there. The bathroom needed updating. The front desk didn't mention that breakfast in the room was included. We figured this out after a few days and wish we knew this from the start. Requested down pillows but they never arrived. Despite these wrinkles, had a really nice time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Initially stayed at the sister hotel El far by the coast and after a day trip to use the excellent spa facilities and pool we decided to extend the holiday by 1 day to stay here. The room offered was in the main house and provided great views , balcony and lounge area

The spa facility is 5* with excellent treatment areas , indoor pool and gym. Great area for cycling with many marked routes although the hotel was not fully aware of them and the complimentary bikes needed some TLC. As last night went for final fling in the restaurant and choose the tasting menu which unfortunately failed to impress (standards were just below what I would expect from an establishment of this nature)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrent
9.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
12.4 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
20.4 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#3 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa

Property: Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
Address: Afores de Torrent s/n, 17123 Torrent, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torrent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torrent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa is the Emporda’s most emblematic property, a unique hotel-and-spa with a privileged location in Girona, where exclusivity is conveyed in every detail, where time stops.Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa is a member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux, and well-known for its unique situation in Emporda, for its spectacular views and extraordinary gardens, and for its care and good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De Torrent Hotel And Spa
Mas De Torrent Hotel Torrent
Mas De Torrent Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing