We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torrent
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
169 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

In the middle of the Empordà, this old house has been trnasformed into one of the best hotels I have been. The rooms in the old property are great in all respects: decoration, bathroom, room service, silence.... All is well taken care of and the restaurant is great. The rooms outside are good but not as good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the olod house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e103db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    50
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
182
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Beautiful location, friendly staff and a nice spa and facilities. The restaurant was hit or miss, which was disappointing given the prices there. The bathroom needed updating. The front desk didn't mention that breakfast in the room was included. We figured this out after a few days and wish we knew this from the start. Requested down pillows but they never arrived. Despite these wrinkles, had a really nice time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Initially stayed at the sister hotel El far by the coast and after a day trip to use the excellent spa facilities and pool we decided to extend the holiday by 1 day to stay here. The room offered was in the main house and provided great views , balcony and lounge area

The spa facility is 5* with excellent treatment areas , indoor pool and gym. Great area for cycling with many marked routes although the hotel was not fully aware of them and the complimentary bikes needed some TLC. As last night went for final fling in the restaurant and choose the tasting menu which unfortunately failed to impress (standards were just below what I would expect from an establishment of this nature)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed two nights at this hotel recently, beautiful location, beautiful pool and poolside furniture. Most staff very attentive and polite. Breakfast staff lovely and choice good. Unfortunately both my husband and I were a little under the weather so did not go down to the main restaurant, had room service instead. Steak was excellent, desserts not so good, club sandwich was abysmal. The room could have been lovely but it needed some tlc, the bath was not good. Very ugly air conditioning unit in room, fridge unit had definitely seen better days. All in all a disappointment - a great shame because it could and should have been fantastic for the price they charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break at Mas de Torrent. this hotel is genuinely 5 star in all aspects. Beautiful gardens, attentive staff, first rate breakfast and excellent rooms (we had a garden roomwhich had recently been renovated, not all the rooms have been refurbished so make sure you ask!) The one poor feature was the evening meal which did not live up to the standard of the rest of the hotel and was quite expensive. Nevertheless a wonderful experience and we shall definitely return again. Everything provided to make you feel utterly pampered (free mini bar and suntan cream at the pool - nice touch!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daavid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Two nights R and R in the middle of a long Europe trip. Secluded, quiet (OK, except for the wedding party on the Saturday, but somehow this seemed to work without undue noise) but with patchy service and poor food.
The garden suites are all recently refurbished so are spacious and modern, though it does seem that nobody cleans the sun loungers in the small garden.
There is a large pool with plenty of deck area and additional covered terraces with comfortable loungers for a respite from the sun.
The patchy service comes from this outside area. Hot days should mean a waiter almost constantly walking round and being available for drink orders. Not so and couple of times it was necessary to get up and go into the pool restaurant to find someone. Not good.
I had booked a package which included dinner, a 4 course set tasting menu with wines to match. Soup, fresh but uninspiring. Fish, bland. Duck confit, leathery. Figs, had the name not been on the menu I would not have known they were there. Similarly, the wines were (as is often the case with by the glass choices) stunningly poor. I deferred to a half bottle of something better. Looking at the a la carte menu, it seemed to me as if things were not going to get much better, so preferred not to eat on the second night. As a R&C 5C member, I stay a lot at their hotels and food is generally a high point. Mas de Torrent fails on this aspect.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a beautifully appointed hotel in great surroundings. Everything was to perfection. Staff reaction and action to an air conditioning issue we had was less than satisfactory but overall it's worth a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNYC980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrent
9.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
12.5 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa

Property: Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
Address: Afores de Torrent s/n, 17123 Torrent, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torrent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Torrent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa is the Emporda’s most emblematic property, a unique hotel-and-spa with a privileged location in Girona, where exclusivity is conveyed in every detail, where time stops.Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa is a member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux, and well-known for its unique situation in Emporda, for its spectacular views and extraordinary gardens, and for its care and good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De Torrent Hotel Torrent
Mas De Torrent Hotel And Spa
Mas De Torrent Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing