We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views great staff”

Panorama Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cabot Links' premier restaurant lives up to its name with some of the most picturesque dining in all of Cape Breton. A culinary destination in itself, our award-winning chefs incorporate local and seasonal ingredients into ever evolving menus.
NY NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great views great staff”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

still a work in progress. super sunset views, good looking, helpful staff, nice menu with good food. wish they would make more of a thing of local meat, fish, and produce. the outdoor terrace needs decent lighting! the pub and lower terrace food is great. they need a cold breakfast buffet for sure!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaNyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Working Hard, But Hardly Working”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Cabot Links restaurant has been described, like the golf course and the hotel space, as a “work in progress.” Now I understand: too much work, not enough progress. The hotel is spanking new, and many on staff are trying mightily on this shake down cruise towards efficiency. Winsome young people are smiling, attentive, and, predictably, not terribly well trained. That’s ok, because they mean well. I suspect they are drawn from the local talent pool, where hotel management might not be first on the lesson plans in school. Still, if you ask questions, offer to help, and aim to please, you’ll be fine. Although I am not a golfer, I can see this gulf front golf course/hotel property becoming the darling of the exotic gold tour set. More on the hotel in a separate review.

Back to the restaurant. Remember, unlike hotel service, food service is taught everywhere. It includes honesty (seating, menu, pricing, etc.) and attentiveness. There is really nothing else. If the food is good, the price is worth it. If the food is less than ordinary and priced comparably to a Michelin-starred restaurant in Paris, service probably won’t save you. If you’re being shuttled to a plain Formica table with no place settings, followed by paper napkins and ice-free tap water, then you’re starting to get the feel of Cabot Links.

When you enter the lower level of the restaurant (on a Sunday night, albeit high season) and the first words from the hostess are “Do you have a reservation?” with the look of the Grim Reaper (we were staying at the hotel), you should probably take the hint and go elsewhere. We were led through a nearly empty lower level (the pub, we later learned, with a separate menu of equally overpriced pub food) and upstairs. Given the option of pub or outdoor deck adjacent to the main dining floor upstairs, we opted for the outdoor deck. The view is spectacular, although you will have to watch some painfully poor golf shots for most of your meal overlooking the 18th fairway and green.

The deck was empty, save one party of six. The tables were indeed Formica, without cloth or silverware. It was hard to conceive they expected to feed folks out here. Which is fine if you are serving burgers and fries. The ambience hinted of red plastic baskets with tear away ketchup packets. When you are serving pasta with scallops for $31, you might want to pay a wisp of attention to the details. Asparagus salad? I’ve eaten cole slaw at Chili’s with more flavor. Scallops with potato crust over mushrooms? Misnomer: what they meant was two elaborate French fries, each filled with one scallop, undercooked. Those three items (two appetizers and a pasta dish) without tip? $78. Can you imagine if we’d ordered a drink? It’s not like I was avoiding entrees. I just wasn’t feeling like a rack of lamb in 80-degree weather.

Look, you can charge anything you want when you are bringing food to Inverness, on Cape Breton from across country. But if you choose to do so, you had better deliver the goods. If your server wants to know after some time if you are “still working on that,” she is probably unaware of your acute disappointment. And thus so will you be. And that is restaurant management, 101.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jackfurlongesq_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Meal After A Excellent Round Of Golf”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stopped in for lunch after our round, ate the lobster pot pie, it was creamy and very tasty. Not your typical pot pie, it had a biscuit on top and the bowl was full of a creamy mix of peas, mushrooms and big pieces of lobster. The pot pie is great and i would definatly go back to eat at Cabot Links. But Our group ordered a couple of appetizer baskets, there wasn't much in them for the price you pay.

If you have time, go for a round of golf, the links is a challenge laid out on a beautiful setting along the coast. You have to walk around the course which is a nice change from the normal golf carts ripping around. Book a caddie to come with you, it really helps for yardages and telling you where to hit to. Liam was excellent for us and knew the ins and outs of the course.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blufforbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Cabot Links, and I am pleased you have liked your time with us! The Lobster Pot Pie is one of my favorite items on the bar menu (who could go wrong with seafood?), and I am glad you've enjoyed your golf round and Caddy - I will pass the review along. Thanks again, and hope to see you back at Cabot.

Katie MacLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton
Level Contributor
303 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A pleasurable dining experience with a panoramic view”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband wanted to see the golf course similar to St. Andrews in Scotland and when we arrived we found out their dining facilities were open.
We had two dining choices - upstairs or main floor. Both lunch menus were similar so we picked upstairs since we thought the view would be better. Now we understand stand why they call the dining room, Panorama; it was a spectacular view of the Cabot Links Golf Course and the Atlantic Ocean. You can see a view on the Cabot webpage.
Our server, Logan, was an exceptional server with a wealth of information about the course, the dining experience and the local area.
The meal was outstanding. The seafood was fresh, tasty and well presented. The recommended wine was an excellent vintage. The dessert, Granny Smith Apple, Maple and Pecan Bread Pudding with Chantilly cream and caramel sauce, was better than my grandmother's bread pudding and my grandmother made the best bread pudding I ever tried until yesterday.
As was said in a previous review, it is pricey but well worth the experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RETIREDTRAVELLER06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great view, great food”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After a round of golf, the restaurant's outdoor deck is a beautiful place to watch the sunset, drink in hand. This place is a far cry from a typical 19th hole, with a decent wine list, a number of local beers on tap, and great servers. The lobster potpie was an unexpectedly good, deconstructed take on a Nova Scotia classic, with big chunks of lobster, including a juicy claw. The chowder and the poutine are also highly recommended. It will be interesting to see if Inverness experiences an expansion in dining options over the nest few years with the opening of Cabot, but for now, this place is the best in town, hands down. Oh, and I hear the golf isn't half bad either.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are pleased to hear you've been able to enjoy our new addition to our clubhouse restaurant - the patio! The Lobster Pot Pie is one of my favorite dishes as well! Thanks for visiting in our opening week, hope to see you again.

Katie MacLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panorama Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
 
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Panorama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing