We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf trip”
Review of MacLeod Inn

MacLeod Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacLeod Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Inverness B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great golf trip”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a perfect location for anyone wishing to golf Cabot Links. We were very pleased and impressed with this Inn. As mentioned in several other reviews, the rooms are very clean, spacious, and nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. There is no air conditioning but we had a corner room with lots of windows and a ceiling fan and we were lucky to be there when there was a nice breeze. The young woman who was there when we arrived was friendly, but we left for dinner and didn't really see anyone else around until breakfast when we met the owner. I would absolutely stay here again. It is great value compared to the cost of other accomodations near golf courses. The money we saved by staying here vs Cabot Links covered the cost of a fabulous meal at the Panorama Restaurant at the golf course (also highly recommended).

Room Tip: Top floor corner rooms have lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maribel2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just had a lovely two days of golf in Inverness. We stayed at MacLeod Inn just a five minute drive from Cabot Links.The room we stayed in was clean, large and nicely furnished. The staff and owner made us feel welcomed and were more then willing to answer various questions about the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choosing a room on the second floor will give you a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 400Susi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently rented two rooms for four nights at the MacLeod Inn.Two of us were playing golf at the excellent new Cabot Golf Links.The Inn is just a five minute drive from Cabot.Our rooms were $85 CAD.per night a significant saving over rooms at Cabot.
The rooms were very attractive.Exactly as pictured on the Inn`s website.They were just re-carpeted.
Alistair MacLeod was a friendly and accommodating host.We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atroy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked a room at MacLeod Inn by email in July 2012, two months before our trip from the UK, gave all our credit card details in full and received (and still have) a confirmation from Mr MacLeod.

However, on arrival in late afternoon, without even asking our names, we were told by the woman in reception, "We're over-booked so we're sending you to our Beach Village." A bad start that only got worse, as the Beach Village turned out to be not the nice rooms on MacLeod's Inn web site but a scattering of probably 50-year old plywood, creaking, smelly, scruffy caravan-style huts in a windswept muddy field. Without any breakfast. For the same rate as the Inn.

They made no effort to tell us of the overbooking in advance of arrival - we had access to email the whole trip. They offered no apology or other recompense. They did not even offer a discount (not that the wood huts would have been acceptable at any price). We just felt scammed, as it felt as if this was their common practice to overbook, take the first arrivals into the Inn and send the rest of us mugs down the road to the "Beach Village". The person at the Beach Village as much as confirmed this, saying words to the effect that "Oh, yeah, they send people down here quite often."

So we left, found a room at the nice and honest (if old) Gables motel at the south end of Inverness and cheered up with a good dinner and live music at the Red Shoe Pub in Mabou.

I should say this is the event that finally got me to join TripAdvisor as a contributor even if it's taken me six months to calm down enough to submit it. We have records of this whole trip so this isn't poor memory, just a bad experience. Now, off to write more positive reviews of the wonderful places we stayed on our otherwise great two weeks in Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: If offered a "room" at the Beach Village instead, don't take it - get your money back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FulhamPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was great value for the money. The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was simple but exactly what we wanted and the room we had was so spacious, clean and well appointed! We did have a room that the bathroom was across the hall but the bathroom was totally private and quite large.
We had a wonderful stay and look forward to returning when in the area! A very easy place to reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The inn has a wonderful view in sunset, nice and quiet place to stay. The rooms are good and clean except the carpet which looks to be a bit old and stained. The bed wasn't great but other than that we had a good one night stay. The breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tully05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had a great stay at this inn. It is located outside of the town, but that didn't bother us. The location is a beautiful rural setting with views of the water. Our room was large with a big bathroom as well. I had one of the best sleeps in ages at this inn; it was so quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is plain but more than satisfactory with cereals, breads, fresh fruit, muffins, scones, juice & coffee/tea. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saturdayedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
9.7 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
160 reviews
52.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
14.5 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glenora Inn & Distillery
20.8 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea, B&B
31.1 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacLeod Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacLeod Inn

Property: MacLeod Inn
Address: Broad Cove Marsh Road, Inverness, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
MacLeod Inn Inverness, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing