We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Ruka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rukatunturi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Booked a last minute package deal to Ruka which included 7 nights at the Ruka Village Hotel & Apartments where we enjoyed a fantastic stay.

We had a village room in the main block which was perfectly sized for the two of us and styled in typical Scandinavian simplicity. The bedroom was large compared to other ski hotels we have stayed in, had comfortable twin beds, a small sofabed, table, two additional chairs, TV and DVD player. There was a compact kitchen area, complete with fridge, hob, microwave, and all the utensils you could reasonably expect. The bathroom was of good standard with powerful shower, heated floor and a small separate sauna, a great addition to the room. Another well thought out feature was the drying cupboard, effectively a full-height cupboard circulating warm dry air, perfect for ski wear coming in from the sub-zero temperatures outside. There was a small balcony, but other than a brave 30 seconds spent out there post-sauna, we didn’t make much use of it. All-in-all we were very impressed with the standard of accommodation.

One thing to bear in mind is that although it has a staffed reception desk and in almost all respects feels like a hotel, the rooms are not cleaned daily as we had presumed from the word ‘Hotel’ in the name. On arrival, our room had a supply of towels, a spare set of bedding and enough bin-liners to get us through the week. This wasn’t a big problem for us, it removed the possibility of cleaners showing up repeatedly at inappropriate times and I have no doubt that if you wanted extra towels or bedding a quick trip to reception would solve the problem.

Ruka Village is a small, purpose built resort, and the Ruka Village Hotel & Apartments is located in the centre of town meaning nothing was more than a minutes walk away, including the chair lifts to take you up to the slopes. During our stay, the pistes were perfectly groomed and amazingly quiet, no lift queues at all, but be aware that the quietness extends to the night life which is pretty low-key.

Ruka is a great little place to spend a quiet week on the slopes and we’d thoroughly recommend a stay at the Ruka Village Hotel & Apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucy_and_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 evenings in March last year and to be honest, didn't see much of the hotel as we were out and about most of the time.
The room however, was gorgeous and lovely and just everything we wanted. Very comfortable, nice looking room. We were on the ground floor and had a huge terrace area outside the french doors with stunny views. Would definitely recommend and use again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_lizzy_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having just come back from RUKA for Christmas we had a fantastic time. The accommodation at RUKA village was excellent. The skiing is very family orientated with many slopes suitable for the family to ski together. We found all the restaurants excellent. Staff very friendly and food excellent. We travelled with Cristal and the reps were excellent.

Room Tip: We had room 303 in B block which had a good view of the village and front slope plus we were near to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had the most wonderful holiday in Ruka, the rooms at the ski-inn were above average, the people were more than helpful, and very child friendly
the food is more than acceptable, and the trips were most excellent "especially the Father Christmas trip...and then the separate reindeer sledge ride" this is a holiday that myself and my family will always remember for all the right reasons.
The ski-ing is also excellent for beginners through to the more advanced skiers
book and go ...you wont be disappointed:o)
We will definitely be going back again

Room Tip: we had one of the top quality rooms with sauna and hot tub, the cleanliness of the suite was of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Ruka ski inn village which comes highly recommended and at the foot of the slopes. The sauna and heated boot room came in very useful and apartments were very clean and spacious. My only tip would be to go b&b. We went half board and while the food was tasty, there wasnt a choice and the service was very slow and drinks extortionate!!!! We normally go to the alps were you get a choice of two meals and get half a carafe of wine with your meal but we were getting a bill of around 100 euros per evening (and that was only for one or two drinks each for 7 of us, 3 of which were kids). Rooms have more than enough space and facilities to cook in an evening. A glass of cheap German wine will set you back 12 euros!!! So go to the supermarket or bring pasta etc with you to dine in your room. Breakfast was good however with a fairly good choice.

We are a family of 3 holidaying with friends who were looking to combine a lapland trip with skiing. Every year for the last 5 years we have skied in the alps and while this doesn't compare size wise it makes up for it with what it does have - very quiet, beautifully groomed slopes within stunning scenery and no queues at all. We were lucky in the fact it wasn't as cold as we were expecting! It reached -7 one day but the other days it stayed above -3. Lift passes are cheap and equipment is of excellent standard and most of ours was new atomic gear. The only down side for us was the ski school which didnt really cater for kids who were above intermediate. Our daughter and her friend ended up in the adult group but to be fair they did enjoy it (not sure about the adults). The snow park is fun and there is a sweet little run through the woods for kids. There isnt a huge choice of runs but we didnt mind as they were so quiet and skiing was not all we came for.

We also went on 3 of the best life time trips we could have wished for with Ruka Safaris who couldn't have been more professional. We did the reindeer trip, the snowmobiling for 4 hours, and dog sledding to find Santa. All were magical in their own way! I've heard that some of the other trips with tour operators can be a bit naff so wasn't sure what to expect. We were desperate to see the northern lights and there was only one clear night forecast and the company quite gladly changed our snowmobiling trip to suit this...although sadly it was a full moon which spoilt our chances but we heard that they are seeing them around one in three nights there at the minute.

We will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: We stayed in A108 and it was perfect! Close to breakfast and reception so less to travel loaded with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samashytffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Four stylish & fully equipped apartments per chalet.
Immaculately maintained.
Solidly built, with en-suite sauna & small fireplace.
Quite reasonable off-season rates.
My apartment had a pleasant view of sunsets over a small artificial lake, with forested hills in the background.
Considering it has been close to freezing my whole stay, {September} it should be perfect skiing conditions soon.
I really cannot neglect to mention, the rural Finnish population is not very friendly or welcoming to outsiders.
There have been NUMEROUS unpleasant interactions with the local populace- but I won't bore you with extra details.
One even necessitated my calling the local authorities.
Suffice it to say, there are alot of skinheads in these parts- perhaps in deference to Finland's WWII heritage.
I'm sure it would be a much better region to visit if you are Nordic & tall, elderly, or female.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Lovrly ski resort. Close to airport. Ski in. Snow and slopes beautiful. Excellent for beginners/intermediate. Appartments well appointed an clean. E Appartments with sauna, drying cupboard , washing machine, wet room etc. Small number of good restaurant s. Good shop nearby if self catering. Really enjoyed ++++.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigeltheMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rukatunturi
0 mi away
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
#2 of 4 in Rukatunturi
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruka Ski Chalets, Apartmenthotel
14.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Club Kuusamon Tropiikki
0.4 mi away
Matkailumaja Heikkala
Matkailumaja Heikkala
#5 of 14 in Kuusamo
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Rukatupa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage

Address: Rukankylaentie 6 | Rukatunturi, Rukatunturi 93830, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Rukatunturi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rukatunturi
Price Range: $128 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel RukaVillage 30 m2 (2+1 beds) studios combine the best aspects of a hotel room and an apartment. The rooms have saunas and kitchens and the room price includes buffet breakfast for two. RukaVillage different apartment types (40-94 m2 to 2-8 persons) cater for different needs. Ski-Inn RukaVillage Hotel and Apartments are short walking distance away from the slopes, cross-country ski tracks and SkiBus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski-Inn Ruka Kuusamo Hotel Rukatunturi
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage Finland/Rukatunturi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing