We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Goodwood
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed there for three nights.From the time we booked everything worked very for us, i personnally like the place very much. We came there for the weekend and the Chris Brown show. It is fairly priced and the breakfast is well planned and affordable.

The staff team is very helpful and willing to assist every time and approachable. JC for me has this presence and makes you feel at home. the place is very accesible and easy to find.

Would definitely use the place again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEDUPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Clean, comfortable bed, powerful shower, friendly staff sum up my 4 night stay at this hotel. We booked 3 rooms and have no complaints whatsoever. I think its the smart choice for budget accommodation in cape town. There is a mcdonalds,kfc, checkers hyper nearby. Cape Town is a 15-20 min drive away. I would return.

Room Tip: rooms facing the train line might have more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the Road Lodge here solely because it was decent priced accommodation close to Grand West. We were there for the Michael Buble concert - amazing. This was my first time staying at a Road Lodge. It was three of us sharing a room. Space was minimal of course and they don't actually advise 3 adults per room. But it ended up working fine. We were in the room only when sleeping and getting ready to leave in the morning. The truth is a one star can only get so good. The only negative I can think of other than space (even for just two people) would be the fact that the staff gave us a smoking room with out asking - which we changed right away after walking down the smokey corridor. It wasn't too difficult to find and the staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Great for a decent priced one night close by to Grand West. Non smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate9105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Give us a lift!

We stayed on our last night as the proximity to the airport is second to none, You can walk to departures in around 7 minutes. But you may spoil a grand vacation if you really need to secure your place on the plane. We don't like smoking rooms and don't like vending machines nor prison.

However it is friendly, it is cheap and it is efficient, but if you fancy a KFC from the airport for your evening meal then think twice.

Room Tip: As there is no lift to hoick your luggage up then ground floor I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greentoothbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We made a booking via telephone. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was nice. We stayed 3 night unplanned and it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Thank your for these comments about our hotel. Friendly service and value for money are two of our most important core fundamentals so we are very pleased when guests feel that they are getting both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

3 NIGHT STAY
Room like a tin fish can
Shower cubicle in full view of room occupants...
Empty room before showering

Breakfast..nil for vegetarians...rather eat at anearbye mall
Reception staff ....no comment....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SIDDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled on business
Thank Paride B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwood
5.8 mi away
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
2.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
2.4 mi away
The New National - Lodge & Conference
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#113 of 201 in Cape Town
263 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City

Address: Louwtjie Rothman Str | N1 City, Goodwood 7460, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Goodwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Goodwood
Price Range: $43 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A conveniently located hotel situated in close proximity to the N1 motorway and N1 City retail and office park, between Cape Town and Bellville. 15 minutes to Cape Town’s CBD and the airport, and 20 minutes to the beach and Wine Routes. The N1 City Hospital and Panorama Clinic are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Cape Town n1 City Hotel Goodwood
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City Goodwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing