We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, loved it”

Wildlife Friends of Thailand
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Tha Yang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The WFFT wildlife rescue center is a rescue center for injured, confiscated and neglected wild animals. The wildlife rescue center operates a fully equipped wildlife hospital. We care for monkeys, gibbons, wild cats, bears, birds, reptiles and even elephants.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, loved it”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I came to WFFT to volunteer for 3 weeks and ended up staying an extra week, so a month in total. The work as an elephant volunteer is physically demanding, but so much fun. The animals are amazing, they all have a different story and are at the centre to recover from their previous lifes, where they were abbused or mistreated. The centre does a good job trying to rescue every animal they can and give it a better life.

I had a lot of fun working with the animals, as well as the free time after work where all the volunteers eat together, watch movies, go to the village or a nearby city Hua Hin.
All in all, an amazing month of which I loved every minute.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    30
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not a theme park”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This wildlife refuge does not look like a true "attraction". My sister in-law has been there for the past six weeks helping with the elephants. She has really enjoyed the hard work and caring for the animals. If you decide to "volunteer", make sure you are ready for hot weather and long hot days working. This is not a spa. Go and help take care of the animals. Just be prepared to live in rugged conditions, so, so food and sweat most of the time. Just Say'in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jinx35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great way to see what it is like to volunteer if you only have one day”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently did the full day experience and got to see what it was like to volunteer for the day. It is a great rescue agency giving wild animals a second chance most coming from the tourist and private pets. They came and picked us up from where we were staying in Hua Hin and brought us to the rescue agency. From there we got to meet all the rescued animal and hear their stories, as well as got a chance to help feed the older elephants and give a snack to the otter. From there we had lunch with the volunteers and it was off to work with the elephants in the afternoon. We got to go for a walk with one then assist the vet team in the afternoon giving food to elephant as distraction while they cleaned out old wounds from before she arrived. It is a great shelter and the nice thing is the money you pay for the experience goes back into helping the animals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice animal shelter”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My overall experience as a One day experience participant is excellent. I got an impression that animals there are treated very well, place is extremely clean and visible well maintained. The food for animals looks very good quality and also the cages looks appropriate size. Our guide Ann or Anna was very nice as well. Animals seemed not being in stress, so I guess this animal shelter is a very good thing over there. Thailand is full of places where people can make photos with wild animals, can ride them, see their human alike behavior and all of that is a result of cruel torturing, no doubt. Wild animal will never submit human, unless tortured badly. There are many volounteers, but I thing even more are needed. I extremely appreciate and respect the good work of the founder and volunteers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollidaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Une expérience unique et enrichissante !”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was my first experience as volunteer in a wildlife rescue center in a foreign country. I worked for 2 weeks in the WFFT and I am quiet satisfied of this experience. I think that 2 weeks is a maximum because the tasks are repetitive, and some are not very interesting. The great thing is the possibility to discover the animals, watching their behaviors and they can reserve a lot of surprises.

To come here, it is strongly recommended to have a good level in english because most of the volunteers are american, australian, english and the persons in charge of the volunteer does not make any effort when speaking.


-> The positive :

Good organization : everyone knows in advance what he has to do. The manager updates the board every day so that you know who you will work with and which animals you have to take care.
It is a big centre so there is a lot of different animals (loris, elephants, primates, bears, crocodile...)
One day off per week.
If there is enough volunteers in the centre, you can have breaks during the day and the work stops at 5pm. So you have time left to observe the animals, take pictures, rest, read a book...
The centre is clean, and the volunteer house, kitchen and rooms are clean.
There is a bar and a laundry.
a round to the supermarket is freely organized by the center 2 times a week.
the staff can organize your taxi bookings if needed.
The meals are very good. About 5 or 6 different thai dishes and always a vegetarian and a vegan dish.
We worked in the center during christmas and new year and the responsible of the center organized a parties.
People respect the center rules.
The opportunity to meet and exchange with people coming from everywhere that share the same passion.

-> The negative :

The dogs of the center are barking during the nigth so it is difficult to have a good night.
Even if the rooms are clean, some of them need to be refreshed. This could be one of the collective tasks.
The staff (and some of the vonlunteers) does not make any effort to communicate with new volunteers and no effort to speak slowlier with non english people. The vet does not even say hello to the volunteer. If you stay here with friends, or in couple, this is not a problem, but if you come alone, you have to speak a good english.
No wifi access but only one PC (for 32 people) with an internet access you have to pay for.

-> Some ideas :

We would have liked to get more information about the animals of the center. For example, a short presentation of a specie 2 times a week would be interesting to learn more about the way the animal live in wildlife, how they behave...
The bar of the centre has some electrical devices to shake the fruits for examle but the volunteers have to cut evrything by hand. A robot to cut into small pieces the civetes 'food would be a gain of time.


Even if the center organzation is not perfect and could be improved, we had the opportunity to live a great experience there and Iwould recommend it to people who love animals, speak a good english and are able to live in a group.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ParisSeb_75_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Friends of Thailand also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Phetchaburi, Phetchaburi Province
 
Cha-am, Phetchaburi Province
Tha Yang, Phetchaburi Province
 

Been to Wildlife Friends of Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing