We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor food”
Review of The Stables

The Stables
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Larbert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Was not impressed by the quality of food we experienced here would not say it was the worst pub food i've ever had but wasn't great. Left feeling slightly dissapointed. Service was good and was not rushed not long waiting time between courses. Undecided on whether to try this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Excellent food and varied menu. The young waitress was very pleasant and efficient. My only concern was when I went to use the disabled toilets they were padlocked.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Princes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stenhousemuirs best kept secret”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been numerous times for food and drinks and I have to say its one of my favourite places to eat. The staff are brilliant, they are quick to show you to your table and they offer a drink within minutes. They are also quick to take your food order and they are friendly. The food is always great, I have never had a bad meal or service here yet. The menu is extensive and there really is something for everyone. They also have entertainment but I have never seen any of it but it has a good reputation. I would recommend anybody in the area to visit and I'm positive you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LvanLamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a great pub, the service is spot on.Its wise to book a table at the weekend as it can get very busy.The food is amazing,with a great choice.I had a steak which was one of the best I have had for a while.The atmosphere is very good with live music and karaoke.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserCurrie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you want good food at a very reasonable price in quite pleasant pub' surroundings then I'm sure you'll like the Stables. It's not pretentious but to my mind 'ticks all the boxes'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebird44954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Larbert, Falkirk District
Larbert, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing