We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Food Good Prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables

The Stables
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Larbert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality Food Good Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I Can say our family are regulars we eat there at least once a week, The Stables almost has it all for a relaxed dinning experience, nice atmosphere, very friendly & helpful staff and there is enough variety on the very competitively priced menu to give you a good choice of meals, they also have a 2 meals for £13 menu and a pensioners special tea time menu.

The food here should not really be called pub grub as it is a big step up from your avarage pub food, if you ask for a steak cooked medium rare that is what you will get it never ceases to amaze me the number of eating establishments that cannot cook a steak properly, the Steak pie is excellent with a very rich gravy and the Vietnamese chilli chicken is nice and spicy I could go on but you get the idea.

The Stables is off the main road so its not filled with passing trade customers come by word of mouth and returning business and you don't get that by serving poor food. They have quiz nights and live entertainment on a regular basis.

There is a small outside play area for kids and a proper Bar at the rear of the building, the car park is smallish but we have always manage to get parked and there is parking available close by as well. The only real down side is there is no view

I would and have recomended the Stables as a place to go for a meal out

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smurf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went for a family meal and it was excellent. Food was delicious, excellent waiting staff and great value, big portions served all freshly made ESP the veg. It was 3 courses for £12. Only down side is I wish they done this offer on a Sunday.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central scoland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Had a great meal would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had a lovely meal at the carriages for my nephews first birthday. The choice of food was excellent and alot to chose from. Everyone at the table really enjoyed there meal and you get quite big portions. The children's menu was one of choicest menu's I have came across. The staff were lovely, patient and attentive without being obtrusive. I was impressed!!!. The place was quite busy so it must be popular. They have a play area for children and a beer garden. I will defo be returning for a meal and would recommend this place to anyone. They do an extensive meal deal which was really good value or you could order from the main menu. Staff also offered to cut my nephews birthday cake which was a nice gesture. Than you for a lovely time.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Larbert/Stenhousemuir area is sadly lacking in places to eat out. We hadn't been to the Stables for years but heard several friends talking about it so decided to give it a try. They have an extensive menu and it's very reasonably priced. Sometimes you don't want a gourmet (pricey) dinner, just good old-fashioned pub grub. This place fills the gap. Will definately be using it from now on.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MoiraNicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have eaten at The Stables many times. Always found the staff helpful and friendly and the food excellent. Prices very reasonable. Can't find fault with it. Not central but it's returning clientele reflects its quality and popularity

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Larbert, Falkirk District
Larbert, Falkirk District
 
Larbert, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing