We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thaur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gasthof Purner
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaur
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A surprise in the mountains just over Innsbruck, decored maybe strangely, but heart fulfilling, there are hearts all over. Strongly suggested. Bathroom was average in our room. Reception closes early.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertoemilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel Purner offers a good vantage point to explore the Tirol if you'd like to avoid the hustle and bustle of Innsbruck and the much higher hotel prices in the capital city.
The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated in a timeless fashion. Most come with a balcony and the sauna and spa area is nice too. The breakfast buffet is ample and offers lots of choice. I especially liked the option for fresh juice, apple or carrot, where you can put the fruit in yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

this one is a stable factor near to innsbruck. rooms are modern, clean and well maintained. the staff is polite and after several stays they make you feel like a part of the familiy. the restaraunt provides perfect quality and also the breakfast is good enough to call it perfect. the only thing. during main season lots of busses are stopping there and it might happen that it gets a bit loud and crowdy during breakfast and dinner. from my point of view - you can take it anytime you´re in the region

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolceVita36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My first stay in Austria led us to stay in the Hotel Gastoff Purner. The decor is ornate, alot of gold, glass and mirrors. It was be exceptionally clean, led me to wonder if they had full time staff just to buff all those mirrors up.....? The staff were incredibly polite, helpful and professional. We were lucky to be in a room with a large balcony (which we later found out was the honeymoon suite hehe). The twinkly lights above the bed and in the bathroom was a lovely feature. Austrian food appears to be very healthy and the buffet breakfast reflects that,,, large selection of cereals, fresh fruits, dried fruits, cheeses, meats, breads and pastries, my kind of breakfast heaven :) We did note that the hotel was situated near to a church, that merrily chimed at seemingly all times of the day, but it added to the charm of Thaur.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluemoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Was traveling by car thru Innsbruck and had a chance to stay in the little town of Thaur just outside of Innsbruck. The hotel is located in a quaint village and backs up to the local church which backs up to the mountains. Really beautiful place, inexpensive accommodations, personable staff. The dinner was great, breakfast was included in the price of the room, and they served my now favorite beer. Will always stay here when I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Try for one of the rooms that overlooks the mountains. The little village is so quaint that all vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

A huge group of us from a cancelled Thomas Cook flight were put up here overnight in January 2012.
Our travel problems aside, this was a lovely hotel to dropped off at for the night and one that calmed the moods of many irate travellers.
As it was paid for by Thomas Cook, I have no idea how much the room rate was, but I guess it would be an ideal alternative to a probably more expensive hotel in Innsbruck centre, which is only 10 miles and a €2 bus ride away.
The interior decor may not be to everyone's liking (cherubs and religious objets d'art) but I found it a pleasant change personally.
The food was very good (excellent choice for breakfast) and the waiting staff were pleasant, friendly and very efficient.
There were 2 small points that stopped me awarding 5 stars: firstly the pillows were far too soft and spongy, creating a little bit of sleep disturbance and secondly, the bar area was a smoking room, which would be great if you're a smoker....I am not...and found this rather incongruous with hotels of the world today (perhaps it's normal for hotels in Austria)
In summary, a thoroughly recommended hotel in a quiet village with fabulous views of the Innsbruck area

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Man-of-leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have been one night at the Purner hotel. The village is very nice and the hotel is located in a quiet part. The overall valuation of the rooms and the service is all right but the decoration is very kitch. The food and the service at the restaurant are all right, but it seems that it is often visited by groups which makes the dinner noisy.
In synthesis, the valuation of this hotel is average and I am sure many austrian hotels are much better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonardo_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gasthof Purner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Purner

Address: Dorfplatz 5, Thaur 6065, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Thaur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaur
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gasthof Purner 4*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing