We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired - but very tasty”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Bredwardine B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for lunch at the end of November 2012. Basically we had crossed the hill from Dorstone, following a wonderful hike, and this provided the perfect pit stop before we attempted the very steep ascent back over the top past Arthur's stone to our car. First impressions were not very good as the wood panelled bar looked very tired and even though it was a very cold November day, the wood burner looked equally cold. However, one of the other diners managed to get the burner going, and things started to look up. The optimism increased as lunch arrived and the mushroom soup proved to be wonderfully tasty and spicy, washed down with some Butty Bach - we had a very refreshing break in our walk (which proved pretty challenging given the amount of mud we encountered after the torrential rain in the last week or so).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank vidal-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have enjoyed a midweek break to the Red Lion Hotel, Bredwardine so much we will be returning again & again to this beautiful area. The hotel is centrally located to all attractions & towns and is a cosy base to return to after a day out. The rooms are very comfortable, the food is good pub grub and the owner is a fabulous host. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, a lovely "suite" of rooms. All rooms are not near the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days and took the dog - we all loved the Red Lion and the surrounding countryside which is beautiful especially this time of year (autumn) in full colour. The service was faultless, very friendly and helpful. The food in the bar (as we had the dog) was superb as was the breakfast which was served with a smile. I can't recommend The Red Lion Inn highly enough. We shall be back. The church which is only over the road is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JATWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Goupon deal, and had a very relaxing time. The room we had (room 8) had a small lounge attached to it, great for the dog, and our bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was like new. We sat in the cosy bar to eat as our dog could be with us there, much to his delight, and had the tastiest food we have had in a long time. Game and fish were on the menu, and apparently the curry night on a Thursday is really busy. We couldn't fault this establishment, it was relaxing, and we did a lovely walk straight from the Hotel for about 8 miles, all cresdit has to go to Mike Taylor, the owner, he has an unspoilt country Hotel that we will surely return to. A true country experience.

Room Tip: Room 8 was a large bedroom, small sitting room and new bathroom off this. Windows to the front from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Quirky little rural retreat providing simple accommodation in a lovely country setting. Good food and friendly staff. We were looking for a quiet base to tour this very pretty area; that is exactly what the Red Lion provides.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My parents were staying locally in a rented cottage and we took them for lunch at the Red Lion to celebrate my Mum's birthday. We had a traditional Sunday roast and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Red Lion is very genuine - not gentrified, gastro-pubbed or boutique-designed by a multi-national brewery, just a nice country pub/hotel with plenty of character. Very good!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PhilC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was my 8th visit so you can tell I'm a fan. It revolves around angling on the Wye so facilities are biased towards anglers. The welcome is superb and the food very good and the buzz in the bar at night a joy. The fishing is hard especially if the river is low but it rewards those who persevere and who wants it easy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Bredwardine, Bredwardine HR3 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bredwardine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bredwardine
Price Range: $71 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel is situated in the tiny hamlet of Bredwardine, which nestles on the banks of the River Wye just twelve miles from Hereford, and 8 miles from Hay-on-Wye.Built of red brick, its origins lie in the seventeenth century when it was used as a coaching inn, also the lounge bears the name The Courtroom. This is where the circuit judge of the day used to sit in judgement.Our aim at the hotel has been to provide you with a peaceful haven in the tranquil heart of England away from the hustle and bustle of work and every day life. Whilst every effort has been made to combine this warm, congenial atmosphere with all the comforts and facilities of a modem day hotel, you will find that the Red Lion retains much of its old world charm including oak beams, and beautiful antiques with blazing log fires through the winter months.The reputation of our dining-room relies on well prepared home-cooked food, using as much fresh produce as possible and cooked to order by our highly regarded chef. You can choose from a varied range of meals off our menus, whether its at breakfast, lunch time or in the evening and remember to look out for our "Specials" board.Whilst situated in the heart of one of the most beautiful areas in the country there are a whole host of things to do and enjoy.These include Herefords Cathedral and the famous Mappa Mundi exhibition to the local Small Breeds & Owl Centre and of course a visit to Herefordshire would not be complete without a trip to Bulmers Cider Museum and for the more active amongst us canoeing down the magnificent river Wye.What ever the reason for your visit we are here to help you enjoy your stay and our beautiful county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing