We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Genuinely good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Genuinely good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

The shuttle is prompt on the half hour and the trip to the Hotel takes 12 minutes.
The hotel reception area is large and a bit bland, but serves its purpose. The reception and service were excellent. All the staff spoke fluent English. The rooms are relatively small but totally comfortable and the heated bathroom was great. I agree with a previous reviewer that it’s great to be able to open a window and get some fresh air.
The bed was soft and this was the trend throughout Holland. There must be a major conflict with the well proven and researched worldwide orthopaedic advice that a firm bed is better for back and neck pain sufferers.
The internet connection worked immediately and the broadband speed was impressive. We hired free bikes to go into the woods across the road, and the staff was extremely helpful to get us on our way and give us maps. Anything FREE in Holland is an amazing thing, where we found over a 2 week stay that the general and sad tendency was to offer as little as possible and charge as much as possible!!!
The breakfast was very good. .
Please do note that there is absolutely nothing within walking distance from the hotel, so in order to go to Amstelveen or Alsmaar you would need transport.
We ate at the hotel restaurant on the first evening. We identified that it was reasonably priced after the end of the trip. However I had the chef’s special of Lamb casserole for E12.50 and the amount of actual stew was so pitifully small it rather reinforced the ultimate view of the total lack of value anywhere in Holland.
The salad nicoise for E8.95 E was however an exceptional starter. My partner had Fish and Chips for E11.95 and was satisfied.
We did later have a good and substantial meal at the Buenos Aires Grill in Amstelveen.
The relaxation area was great. 2 saunas, large steamroom, swedish showers etc. Wonderful.
Overall this is a good hotel and exceeds by miles the experiences we had in the other 4 establishments we stayed in.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    577
    136
    45
    42
See reviews for
169
437
112
540
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have stayed many times at Airport Hotels in AMS. The Dorint is the best of them. Friendly people, nice rooms, great leisure activity available. Have always been a pleasure staying.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviatorAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I moved to this Dorint Hotel after dissatisfaction with the Sheraton Schiphol. My colleagues had told me that it was extremely comfortable, the restaurant good and the breakfast excellent. They were right. The shuttle only runs every thirty minutes which is a drawback but the hotel itself offers very well-equiped rooms with unlimited coffee and tea. The bathroom has a great heating system. The rooms have windows which open. There is good work space. The ironing board and iron are conveniently located. The restaurant food is very good and the prices reasonable for a hotel restaurant. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Countyr is so cool and happening that staying at any place will give you joy. Hotel I stayed was not in central amsterdam but have good coonectivity with Airport metro. Regular shuttle service, nice food in room service, luxirous bathrooms make your day perfect in amsterdam. Internet connectivity was also good.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank AtrayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The hotel as such was good, with good rooms and breakfast. Plus exceptional service. But it will take you 30-45 mins to get to the city center by road.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristuk_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Very nice and modern hotel close to the airport. The rooms are quite small, the bathrooms don't have a proper door (just a swing glass door), which is inconvenient when sharing a room with a non-family member. However, there is a big sliding door which separates the bathroom and entrance area from the actual bedroom, but still I felt uncomfortable. Very little storage space. The hotel is extremely quiet and seems to be very well insulated. We never heard a sound from other rooms, none of the typical hotel sounds, such as toilet flushes, showers , suitcases hauled down the hallways. Also, there was no sound to be heard from the neighbouring airport.
Breakfast is good, but not spectacular. Food at the Sports Bar was very good. Free street parking during the weekend, otherwise 20 Euro per day in the hotel parking garage. Every 30 minutes a coach runs between the hotel and the airport. From the airport trains leave about every 10 minutes for Amsterdam central. Total travel time from the hotel to the main station is about 30 minutes. The hotel is located within an office complex, there seem to be no shops or restaurants within walking distance.
Overall an enjoyable stay, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraugast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

The first day we relaxed in the sauna/steambath and had a really nice massage. The hotel is not situated near the city center, so it's a very quiet and peacefull envirement. When we went to Amsterdam (center) on the second day, we first took the free bus to Schiphol (Airport) and then the train to the city centre. It seems a little far but it's do-able. The breakfastbar was very tasty and lots of food to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
2.4 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
6.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stationsplein-ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Spa Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Green Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing