We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellect Hotel near Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellect Hotel near Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great hotel with excellent facilities and friendly staff. Stayed one night as was changing flights at Amsterdam and extended my stay to relax.The transfer service was excellent with helpful driver as was travelling with 4 elderly guests, 7 Large Suitcases, 7 Small Suitcases and two wheelchairs. Both Drivers helped me with the luggage and getting my Grandparents on/off coach.

Check-in was smooth and friendly and all assistance was offered and full facilities explained, we all ate in the Sports Bar and was quick and tasty and again service was excellent.

My reason for only giving 4 stars is that breakfast was not the same standard, lots of dirty tables and food not replenished quickly and thus lots didn't get a hot selection. Full Hotel but seemed Short Staffed as any staff where working very hard and this was disappointing as didn't match the efficiency shown in the rest of the hotel.

I shall look forward to my return visit

Room Tip: Ask for first Tower Room if lots of Luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    543
    126
    45
    37
See reviews for
161
423
110
500
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I like this hotel. For me on business, sleep and comfort are the main priorities. This hotel ticks those boxes and more. The staff are very helpful and polite and there is a free shuttle bus to the airport.

The onsite bar is very good and serves excellent bar food. I did not try the restaurant.
Breakfast was good, but a little busy as it always is in a good airport hotel. If you're stopping over at Schipol, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Efficient and friendly check in - good sized room - spotlessly clean and comfortable. Choice of food in the bar and restaurant area - excellent service in the Italian restaurant. Courtesy bus runs every half an hour and works well - though beware big queues at check in if it is full - I was lucky and arrived at a quiet time, but saw long queues the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Usually when we are in AMS for work we stay in Steigenberger. The Hotel is 10 meters from the Airport. From the WRONG side of the Airport though :) Means a 10 mins driving back and forth. Which is OK as they have their free shuttles quite frequently. Taxi cannot be put on room bill (1 minus point) Receptionists are not so professional and medium kind. Funny enough they take LH miles and more but not AF/KLM cards... Breakfast is really good but pretty expensive, Sports and Media Bar is OKish. NOTHING to see in the surrounding area, You need to go to AMS by taxi if You want to see ANYTHING.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamasSz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having booked my room through Hotels.com and received receipt of my payment through email. I arrived at the hotel at 12.40am after a long flight from the US and because the hotel reservations had not communicated my booking they kept me waiting for one hour at reception until eventually I started shouting at them.
They have no concept of customer service and then once I eventually get to my room the bed cloths were damp and the room smelt damp.

Room Tip: Please don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Deputy General Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Forsythe,

In first instance we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor with regards to your stay at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. With this information we are able to further improve our services.

With regards to the miscommunication of your booking, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies. Please be advised that this is absolutely not up to our normal standards. Your comment has been shared with the responsible department head and we will make sure this will not happen again in the future.

We would kindly ask you to contact us personally to clarify all doubts. This can be done by contacting the Executive Office. They can be reached from Monday till Friday from 09:00 – 17:30 hours via +31 (0)20 5400 800 or via stephanie.enninga@airporthotel-amsterdam.steigenberger.nl

Mr. Forsythe, once more we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We certainly hope that we may welcome you again in the future to show to you that we are able to offer excellence on all parts of our service.

Kind regards,
STEIGENBERGER AIRPORT HOTEL AMSTERDAM

Marjolein Bruschke
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited Amsterdam couples of times for business purpose and always stayed at the area closed to the Schiphol Airport. In December 2012 I decided to try with Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. I booked 4 rooms for our team. The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was good. It was closed to the airport having the regular free-shuttle bus from/to airport. On top of it, it was closed to the simulator centre where we did training of our pilots. Once of the best hotel around Schiphol Airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arif156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. Service by he front desk staff was First Class. The shuttle between the hotel and airport is very convenient. Not too much of amenities in the area, but the Mall at the Airport made up for it. Will definitely return, if traveling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet Commercial area, so I would expect all the rooms to be generally well positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
2.4 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
6.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stationsplein-ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Spa Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Green Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing