We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Design, Tolerable Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam from May 1 to May 6, 2013. My room was booked using a third-party website, which gave a nearly 40% discount on one of the Fair Trade Rooms. This worked out to be a rate of approximately $125 CAD a night. Despite the seemingly inconvenient location of the hotel, I decided to book, as it provided modern conveniences at an affordable rate, even for a university student.
Once arriving into Amsterdam Schiphol, finding the hotel shuttle bus pick-up area was very easy. The shuttle is a very large, comfortable bus that runs every half-hour, making the under-15-minute trip to and from Schiphol. Prior to arriving, I emailed the hotel telling them I would be arriving early and requested an early check-in. When I arrived at 8AM, I was surprised to find that a room was ready for me, and was quickly checked in. Jeanette, a front desk agent, was efficient in checking us in and providing us with information throughout our stay. Her service was impeccable and should be noted by management!
My room, 589, was very large and extremely clean. The design was modern and all amenities desired were present. The beds were very comfortable, the duvet fluffy, bathroom floors heated, and portions of the bathroom mirrors did not fog when using the shower. My only possible complaint with the design of the room would be the translucent bathroom door not providing as much privacy as one may desire. Regardless, the room was in excellent condition, very quiet, and wifi access was the best I had throughout my travels in Europe. The hotel is very secure with key-access elevators. Your key is also required for electricity to be given to your room.
Despite the inconvenient location, the shuttle bus access to Schiphol made a trip to Amsterdam Centraal fairly simple. On occasion, I used a taxi to get from Schiphol to the hotel as the shuttle had stopped running after midnight; I paid no more than 15 Euros, which was quite acceptable. It was mentioned to me that rail tickets to and from Amsterdam Centraal were available at half-off at the front desk. Unfortunately, during my stay, these tickets were not available for purchase.
An added bonus is the free printing that is available in the lobby business centre. It made checking in for my flight easy, and I was able to print my boarding pass right away.
Upon future return to Amsterdam, I would not hesitate to stay at the Steigenberger again at a comparable price.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, though rooms are sound-proof regardless of what floor you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylejaymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Airport shuttle makes arrival to the hotel nice and easy. Reception staff were very helpful and the customer service sent a personal hygiene kit to my room when I asked. The room itself was clean and quiet, but for some reason the toilet bowl wasn't completely clean (yuck!). I did not make much of it because we only came there to shower and sleep for a few hours between flights.
Complementary spa and gym access sounded very nice, but unfortunately I did not have time to use them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delta-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Reception staff were excellent. Room was very comfortable with nice bath tub. Tea/coffee in room. Bed comfy Trouser hangers that work. Ironing board. Good lighting. Close to Schipol. free and frequent shuttle. Good bar, good food. Just great.

Room Tip: All good with good sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mic d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Some black mold in the bathroom
Dirty bathrobe
Was better when it was a Dorint Hotel (stayed there many times)
Menu in the sports-bar (the only one open on the weekend) rather limited. It was better when it was a Dorint hotel
Would still stay there as it is the best in the area, but would complain about the above points. This time we were too tired to complain.

Room Tip: Got an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardtofindagoodhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMS_Steigenberger, Manager at Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

First we would like to thank you for taking some of your valuable time to give us feedback regarding your stay at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam. It is with this information that we are able to further improve our services.

Regarding your comment about the tidiness of the room we would like to inform you that your comment was shared with the responsible department head, to prevent situations like this from happening again. Although the menu in the Sports & Media Bar was limited we hope you enjoyed your dinner in the Sports & Media Bar.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused and for the fact that we were not able to meet your expectations. Hereby we would like to offer you our sincere apologies. Your comments were shared within our organization.

In closing, we thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future again and to have the opportunity to prove we are able to offer excellence on all aspects of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is worth staying. The service is very best and the cleanliness is beyond expectation. The shuttle service to and fro from airport makes like very simpler and easy. The spa is the best part of the hotel. It has steam, sauna & swimming is beyond any words.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are also very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dearchintu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Amsterdam and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful and friendly, going out of their way to make us welcome, and the whole hotel was immacculate.
The breakfast was just amazing, the quality and variety of the food that was available was marvellous and really started the day with a smile. The dining room was clean and tidy and again, all the staff were helpful.
We were offered a disabled room (I am disabled) without having to ask, and the facilites in the room were perfect with a "wetroom" style bathroom and plenty of space to manouvre. The shuttle bus to the town was great and we used it a lot - the driver helped us on and off and was absolutely charming.
One of the highlights was using the swimming pool and spa, which was again clean and beautifully designed. I haven't previously been in a sauna and it was an amazing experience, exciting but relaxing.
I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything is excellent from the rooms, beds, breakfast. A little out of the city for tourists but even then it's a simple affair to take the hotel's free shuttle to the airport and then the quick rail service to Centraal Station is a dream. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
6.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
2.4 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.4 mi away
Ramada Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stationsplein-ZW 951 | 1117 Schiphol-Oost, 1117 CE Schiphol, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Hotel Amsterdam/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Green Hotel in Schiphol
#5 Spa Hotel in Schiphol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: $103 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Airport Hotel is a first class business hotel with a wide range of recreational facilities. The good accessibility thanks to the free shuttle service to and from the international railway station and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and direct access to the A4 and A9 motorways, makes Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam the perfect location for your accommodation, meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing