We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient , but over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed one night, pretty average hotel, but way over-priced, guess that is what you pay for sitting next to the airport. Breakfast was not included which was a major disappointment as I find having to travel the first meal of the day sets me up for the troubles ahead. The room was average with a mirror on the wardrobe doors cracked and an apology stuck to it. The hotel was clean but almost on the same level as some of the lower cost budget places I have stayed in.

For what you are paying for a room here I think the short trip by train into Amsterdam is probably more cost effective, but if you have an early morning flight and you have the money then it is only okay.

Room Tip: Average for a higher class of hotel, not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zrhs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,453 - 1,459 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

1. Staff seemed to be a bit confused about available packages and bookings made.
2. Spa and relaxation center is very ideal for business travelers and jetsetterswho are on the move.
3. Wifi availability is good.
4. Business Center meets all the needs for an executive.
5. The hotel could certainly get a renovation for a facelift.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windcharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The best thing about the hotel is that it is connected to the airport by a covered walkway. Very convenient to getting to and from Schiphol. The train staton is also very close inside the airport which makes it easy to get to Amsterdam.

The rooms are pretty nice. There really isn't a view to speak of, but the room was fairly large and the beds were good. Bathroom had a nice shower, but it was a little small. The rooms are very nicely decorated in a modern European style.

There is free internet in the lobby which was very nice and the hotel has a great workout facility that also included Sauna, Steamroom and cold showers. I really enjoyed using the facilities.

Excellent place to stay if you want/need to be close to Schipohl.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smitsf, General Manager at Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear appreciated guests,

It is a pleasure to read your feedback on trip advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel.

We are proud to find out that you enjoyed our facilities. The Fitness is designed in cooperation with Core Performance, a training and lifestyle brand built by professionals. The Core Performance program also provides in-room exercises, which can be done in front of the TV.

On behalf of our team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,
Fred Smits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I have stayed in most of the hotels around Schiphol, always because of an early flight. I have been through the hassle of the shuttle busses, have walked the (small but outside) distance to the cheaper Schiphol hotel option ( wink wink ) under a snow storm, and after staying in the Sheraton I am convinced that nothing beats the comfort of staying practically inside the airport.

The room was spacious and clean, I loved having room service and the dinner ( fish and chips ) was wonderful, and although we had no time for a proper breakfast, we used the coffe machine in the hall and had a good cappuccino, courtesy of Sheraton.

The only thing that needs improving are the lines at check-in and check-out. Next time I will try to use the paper form for automatic check-out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dri-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smitsf, General Manager at Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your review on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you were happy with our hotel and its location. Our chefs will be glad to hear you enjoyed their fish and chips!
It is unfortunate that you were not able to have our International Breakfast Buffet before you had to fly back home. Hopefully next time you would be able to experience this! It might be worthwhile to know that you can order breakfast 24/7 from room service, this way you could at least have a quick bite to eat before starting your day. Fortunately you were able to have a cappuccino on the go!

Unfortunately there are times when the queues are a bit lengthy. We are currently working on improving this process. Regarding the check-out, we do recommend using the express check-out facility, especially if our guests are in a hurry. This greatly reduces time. In the meantime we are doing our utmost to help our guests as quick as possible!

We look forward welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Fred Smits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We spent a couple of nights during queen's day festivities, we thought because the hotel is at the airport was going to be noisy, It wasn't. Got on the train just few steps from the hotel and in 15 minutes we were in Amsterdam's Central Station, I've been 5 times in Amsterdam definitely I'll come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexstar8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smitsf, General Manager at Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear appreciated guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review on trip advisor. We hope you had a wonderful Queens day. On behalf of our team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future if there is anything else we can assist you with please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards.
Fred Smits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Sheraton gets it right, although it doesn't come cheaply. While there's really no atmosphere, you'll get the creature comforts you would expect from Sheraton, and a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorer281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smitsf, General Manager at Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Appreciated Guest,

We are truly pleased that you had such a wonderful night’s sleep with us! We are however sad that you feel there is no atmosphere. Many people think that such a big hotel as ours cannot have an atmosphere and perhaps it might feel that way because of the sheer size of the hotel. However, at Sheraton we strive to provide a “home away from home” for our guests including a matching atmosphere. The atmosphere at Sheraton is created through our colleagues. All our colleagues are proud of what they are doing and strive to provide warm, friendly and professional service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the true Sheraton atmosphere we strive to provide for all our guests.

Warm regards,

Fred Smits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel is fabulous for a long layover or overnight. We just rolled our luggage down the hall and into the hotel. They have an easy check-in/check-out. The room was attractive, clean, and quiet. They provided a blissfully easy good nights sleep and it minimized our travel fatigue. We will be staying there again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderfulWorld59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smitsf, General Manager at Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. We are truly pleased that you had such a hassle free experience before you had to leave and travel again! We at Sheraton know how stressful travelling can be so we do our utmost to make each and every guest’s stay as comfortable as possible. As we are situated only 15-20 minutes away from the city of Amsterdam, many people prefer to even stay with us for their entire stay due to the excellent connections to and from our hotel by public transport. We are eagerly awaiting your arrival and we hope that you will once again have a memorable time!

Warm regards,

Fred Smits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Schiphol Boulevard 101, 1118 BG Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
#3 Green Hotel in Schiphol
#4 Business Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: $139 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol via a covered walkway, Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center is located less than 5 minutes from airport's arrival and departures halls, providing ultimate convenience to walk between the hotel, the terminals and other services at Airport City Schiphol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel Haarlemmermeer
Amsterdam Sheraton
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel And Conference Center Schiphol, Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing