We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“funky hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

on a whim i booked this hotel for a aniversery one night stay , having been to amsterdam on numerous occasions over the years this is the best hotel i have stayed in.
funky , clean ,HUGE bed loved the modular concept and mood pad. staff friendly ,helpfull but not overbearing .we loved it great price great location(only a quick train ride from the 'dam')will be back again soon!!
(you must try 'the burger bar'in amsterdam, to die for top notch real beef burgers)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglee07811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,591
    1,450
    313
    91
    58
See reviews for
368
1,511
856
1,501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

First time staying there. Frankly, I picked it for price and location. Both fulfilled my needs (pre-paid Euro 79 + bag breakfast for under Euro 10). But what surprised me was the friendliness of everyone. I walked in and an "ambassador" immediately saw my confusion and helped with the electronic check in. Next time I could do it again. I needed help with printing a boarding pass, and again an ambassador helped immediately. While the room is small, it is really not a problem for a solo traveller. And the public places are comfortable, and PEOPLE ACTUALLY USE THEM, unlike most hotels. Given the size of the rooms, I was totally surprised that I never heard any other guests from inside my room. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very impressive! Stylish rooms with everything you need, all within a few minutes' walk of the terminal. I didn't expect such an enjoyable stay for such a low price. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

stayed 4 times now - think that speaks for itself! so convenient from the trail of lights between the hotel and the airport to self registration. ideal for solo travellers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte di Piave, Italy
Level Contributor
154 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Citizen M hotel is located just 300 metres from Schiphol Airport main terminal, you can get there walking in 5 minutes. Beside this very good position, the peculiarity of this hotel are rooms: in a very small space (more or less 15 square metres) you will find all facilites (bed, desk, toilet, shower), with strange and modern forniture; take a look at the website for having an idea! You can also customize lights, music and also the perfume of your room through a control panel that can be also used as a remote control of your TV. Really a nice hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Great value for money. Why is this not the standard for hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funky-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I just needed an overnight base between flights, and didn't fancy having to wait for buses.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the terminal (signed) and the website clearly shows everything. The room design is unique, but works well. anmd whilst they may not be the biggest I've ever encounted but they have everything you need. The Bed was HUGE and comfy, full length wondow (great soundproofing), shower good, free wifi and movies excellent.
I loved the view of the apron and was quite relaxing watching the planes come and go
Plenty of space downstairs to sit and chillout, can grab a drink or snack, use the pcs, watch TV, or read.
Good choice at AMS

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing