We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not nearly as good as you expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not nearly as good as you expect.”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Stayed for one night on a short business trip on the 29th of October. The check-in to the hotel you do it yourself on a GUI guided by the staff, which where not too enthusiastic or very understanding. A kind of techno-arrogance towards my colleague who is not as techno-savvy as I am, this bothered me a bit.

The room is small and unfortunately lacks a few things and makes your stay not so comfortable. Firstly there is NO place to put your bags at all, the bed is the only place and that might be too high for some. Sure there is a small compartment for bag storage in the bed, but that is not enough and it is far too low for practicality.
The shower is annoying, you get blasted from the above shower-head with whatever temperature water is left in the pipes, even if you set the temperature with the hand-held shower to your liking, clearly a design flaw. Also water is left in the middle of the shower so next time you step in you will be standing in a pool of cold water for a while.

The fancy lights are not that nice in the long run and you end up missing good ol' white quite quickly. The remote that controls everything is fairly easy to understand IF you have enough techno-knowhow and logic, otherwise it might be a real pain. Also operating the room through this one control is very slow and the initial excitement wears-off quite quickly and becomes an annoyance. As a TV remote the remote is very slow and clumsy. The bed is very high and I can see problems for elderly people to climb there, and truthfully it wasn't as comfortable as I expected.

Breakfast is a joke at best, do not invest in the 9,50€ that they call breakfast, instead buy directly from the canteen or walk to the airport to have your breakfast. If you are hungry, you will end-up buying more bread and end up paying over 14€ for breakfast.

The lobby is quite impressive with all the design furniture, lots and lots of places to sit and relax, if you have the time to do so. Also if you have the runway view, you can watch airplanes take-off and taxi, if that is your thing.

What comes to mind is that they have put design over usability and that is not a good way to go. I am disappointed because I really wanted to like the hotel, but the overall experience is just not worth it. On the plus side, check-out was easy and barely took 30 seconds. Unfortunately I will not be staying in this hotel the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoL9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    1,425
    309
    90
    57
See reviews for
366
1,483
846
1,477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is a great hotel, providing all necessities without overcharging for useless things. Just a few steps from the airport. Absolutely no noise from outside despite the runway and large street right outside the building. Compact but well designed rooms (loved the big bed and the shower cabin) and very nice staff.
The only problem I encountered (reason for 4 instead of 5 stars) was wireless internet barely working in my room (I was told they are working on fixing the problem). On the other hand connectivity was fine near the reception area. I would certainly stay in this hotel in the future or seek other citizenM locations.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monika7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel was a great find. Walking distance to the airport.
The rooms are compact, clean and very interesting. We had an early flight so the location was perfect.
Fun hotel.
Employees were terrific.
We would definitely stay at CitizenM again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichianUSATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2009

it's new, it's clean, it's quiet, it's comfortable, it's close to the incheck desks, the crew is very kind, the coffee is delicious, and the price is nice.
There are not many hotels that can touch all of these qualifications at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fasttrack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We decided to book the Citizen M for the value. Because the price was so good, we didn't expect much quite honestly. However, this hotel is great! It is right at the airport, so very convenient. Don't let this scare you, the rooms are sound proof. We couldn't hear anything outside our room (ie. airplane noise, tv's, showers, etc.). Complete silence! I've never stayed in a hotel where you could not hear others! When you arrive, it's difficult to find. Walk straight out of the airport (you should see the Sheraton right in front of you). Turn left and walk along the outside of the airport terminal. Keep going, and follow the sidewalk. The sidewalk is covered all the way to the hotel (in case of rain). The hotel staff is wonderful and friendly. They have a cool little bar to unwind at the end of the day. They also have a lounge area with television for unwinding or to sit and visit with others. We arrived around 10am and went directly to the hotel. Since check-in is at 2pm, we asked if we could check in early. For 19 euros, you can check in early and go to the room for shower or nap. It's so worth it, and again very economical! Oh, I almost forgot to mention the IMacs in the lobby. They have 4 computers for your use (free) while you stay there. There are also 2 stations for those with laptops. There is a printer there for printing boarding passes.

We would get up in the morning, walk the short 5-minute walk back to the airport and grab the metro train into the city center for 3 euros each. It's train 1 or 2 to the city center. There is also an express train with fewer stops for a few euros more. We took the regular train and sat on the train for a maximum of 15 minutes to get to the city center. It was great to see the country side.

This is the best hotel to stay in in Amsterdam in my opinion. The bed was king size and very comfortable. The big flat screen was on the wall above the bed. Clean rooms and hot showers. PERFECT!

We highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandYMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I had been on my own traveling throught Italy following a wonderful stay in South Africa with friends. I had a one night layover in Amsterdam to await my plane back to the US.I must say I was most impressed with your hotel and its staff when I checked in. Katrina was a delight as she explained everything to me. The room was superiour to many others I had seen in my 5 week trip. It was very austere but provided all the needs a traveler has. The only thing lacking was a service bar in the room but the bar in the lounge was adequate although lightly staffed. If it hadn't been for Katrina stepping in I would probably still be waiting for my first cold beer. She obviously is service oriented and was there to please all the customers. Your rooms bring a touch of the magic mushrooms to mind and I throughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumborich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Just stayed here for a couple of nights for the Amsterdam marathon. Location is extremely close to the airport (around 400 metres), and I barely heard a single plane. The only problem with the location is that you will have to travel a while to get to the city centre. So not great as a holiday destination. But it was nice checking out and then being 5 minutes away from the airport!

The hotel itself is bonkers. Everything is automated via a little portable handheld remote. There is mood lighting, music, tv etc (the channel selection was very good). The rooms themselves are tiny. And I mean "TINY". You literally have the shower, toilet, sink and bed in a 3x6 metre box. But the bed is a good size, and it would definitely suit the regular traveler who was just looking for a quick overnight stay.

The staff were great. Unfortunately I could not get WiFi in the room due to an issue on the second floor. One of the girls (Melody) sorted me out with a couple of drinks to compensate, so that was good. There was another member of staff (a guy) who got a bit funny with me and said he would change my room. Something I wasn't prepared to do as we'd already unpacked. I think he could do with a course on customer service. But he was not the norm in the hotel and the mood was very pleasent.

All in all, a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumborich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing