We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geweldig/excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Geweldig/excellent!”
Reviewed July 20, 2009

small but clean and very comfortable! The gadgets are great, as is the shower. Feels like a soft rain. We will be back.
If you arrive at night at the airport, walk to the parking, take the elavator to the ground floor, cross the street and you are at the hotel. At night the doors at Schiphol Plaza are closed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayteGroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,484
    1,389
    303
    90
    53
See reviews for
354
1,433
833
1,449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

if you think about it... it's just what you want in a hotel; Comfortable bed, good shower, that it's clean. check times three!
it's a very nice hotel, small but good rooms, great staff, nice price. We'll be back in the future. thats's why we recommend (aanraden) it

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rekipfilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

This is the 4th time my wife and I have stayed at the CitizenM. There will most definitely be a 5th and more. We love the location, the price, and the quirkiness of the rooms. That's not to say that there aren't some things that are wrong with the place. This is the first stay we've had that didn't include problems with checking in or the room key. The prices for drinks and food are ridiculous. (There's a decent grocery store in the airport just a short walk away). The moodpad drops connection constantly and takes forever to reconnect. The battery doesn't last long either. It would've been nice to hook it up to a cable or something so you can use it while it's charging. The carpets are starting to show wear and tear as well. But , with all the things that are wrong, there is so much that is right. The bed is huge and one of the most comfy we've ever slept in. I love having the choice to look at the planes through the window (would be nice if the blinds would get out of the way!) The rain shower is cool and the lighting options are neat. The hotel is very cool in it's ideas and design, but perhaps could use some fine-tuning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasflyboy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven region
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Stayed there for the second time; first time I had to get used to a few things, but second time enjoyed even more. This time I spent a couple of hours on the ground floor, where you can take a special bite with a drink, and look for a cosy place in one of the lounges to read a book (being alone). And it's very efficient: check in late, have an early flight in the morning (24h breakfast), extremely fast check-in and -out, free wifi, internet café... is it non-personal then ? No ! Personnel in the bar and reception very friendly and nice atmosphere overall with bunch of other guests on ground floor: fantastic formula; I will certainly return; happy to be a 'citizin'.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Stayed 14 July, and will happily re-book. Checked in and found that I had a ground floor room so asked for one on top floor overlooking the airport. "No problem" said Robert and he got me what I wanted. Room was very clean and very functional. Could have done with more closet space, but not really a big deal.

Had a slight problem in the evening and was immediately given a new room (thankyou Martin) Complimentary drink and breakfast provided because of problem, and nothing too much trouble for any of the staff.

Loved the open plan layout as you walk into the lobby, and the general feeling of calm and quiet. So will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

If you stay at the Citizen M for the novelty, then you will probably be amused. But if you stay here hoping to do a little work, forget it. Don't stay here if you need and expect a few basics like a desk OR a table in the room. There are strange bedside tables that wobble too badly to allow use as a laptop support. Although the rooms are very small (fine for the price) the design is terribly inefficient. There's actually plenty of floor space, in fact that's where all my belongings are: on the floor as there not only is no desk or table (with plenty of room for either) there's no luggage rack, stand or even a shelf.

Want to look out the window? There's blinds embedded in the glass that obscure the view bo matter how you adjust them, you can't make them retract and go away.

I could go on but the whole place really is a joke. It's like a bunch of designers decided to take everything people appreciate in a hotel room and get rid of it. I see a lot of people are giving it five stars - it has to be for the novelty (like the ridiculous 'wireless' control box that runs out of juice if it's not plugged in, can't actually keep the TV turned off and won't hold a temperature setting).

If like me you spend 150+ nights a year in hotels for work, spare yourself the aggro. If you want some laughs, then you might have a few here or you might just wish you'd stayed ANYWHERE else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No-Doz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, Director of Distribution at citizenM Schiphol Airport, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
Dear No-Doz,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with other mobile citizens such as you, 150+ nights in a hotel room per year is quite a lot!

We tried to design citizenM for frequent travellers such as you, people that are tired of paying too much for small, bad quality beds, paying for movie or wifi, un-appetizing design and shower curtains.

I will try to elaborate on a couple of the misunderstandings you have had with our room:

Luggage:
Under the 2 by 2 meter bed, there is an almost equally sized luggage drawer that stores easily two samsonites.

Bed tables:
at citizenM we provide living rooms at the ground floor, with free wifi and wired internet, nice comfy couches, a bar that is open 24 hours, as well as 4 free to use MAC computers for those that do not travel with laptops.
We did not design the "wobly bedtables" to serve as desks and much rather have you enjoy our working environment downstairs, or, as I personally prefer with the laptop in the big bed!

Blinds:
Besides protecting your privacy, they also serve to keep out the heat or the cold (so that the airco can be more environment conscious), but as you can see on the pictures that are posted on this site as well, there should be no problem looking through the window.

Moodpad:
Any electronic device needs to be powered up from time to time, so does the remote control that we developed for you to control the blinds, the TV, the colour of the room, temperature and so on.

Overall I am sorry to hear that you did not have the experience that we built citizenM for, and would like to offer to have a talk about this next time you're in Amsterdam. I would be more than happy to show you around and explain to you our concept.

All my best,

citizenM
Lennert de Jong
Director of Distribution
citizenlennert@citizenm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Very convenient for early departures or late arrivals at airport. Covered walkway connected to airport. Easy walk even with lots of luggage. You can just roll luggage cart from airport. Small room, but very clean and very technology creative-makes the space unusual and fun.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallylassie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing