We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic new hotel experience and great comfort (7.5 months pregnant!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic new hotel experience and great comfort (7.5 months pregnant!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We booked CitizenM mainly because we were arriving at Amsterdam Schiphol late at night and, being 7.5 months pregnant at the time, the idea of having a bed within ‘wobbling’ distance of the terminal at a very competitive price was irresistible! I must admit though I was a little bit apprehensive how my partner and I would manage to ‘manoeuvre’ around in the restricted space of a CM bedroom especially in my present condition. I needn’t have worried. The amazing thing is, that at no point did I feel a lack of space to move about. Especially the shower was much bigger (and safer) than a ‘shower in bath’ facility of a traditional hotel bedroom.
When we arrived the automated check in process could not have been easier however very helpful staff were less than one meter away from the check in monitors to assist those guests with questions.
After checking in we had a quick bite to eat (some noodles, dumplings and fresh fruit) and a quick drink before sinking into the massive bed for a very much needed sleep.
We both really enjoyed this new hotel experience. The combination of convenience of location and services, ambiance of the public areas and VERY competitive rates will definitely bring us back to stay with CitizenM!

Mascha and Paul, Ennis, Co. Clare, Ireland

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mascha079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,497
    1,393
    305
    90
    53
See reviews for
356
1,442
834
1,454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

I stayed in CitizenM as it was recommended to me by someone wo had experienced it. WOW !!!!! I thanked him a lot for recommending it. It was so close to Schipol and it was very easy for me to kill a day roaming around in Amsterdam and other attractions before getting into the flight next day.

The staff were very cordial, warm and helpful. I felt like home.

I really appreciate the designer for bringing in such an elegance in that tiny space. Moodpad is something cool and innovative.

I would recommend everyone to experience the same.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — charge for breakfast
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank citizenM-bala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

This hotel is perfect if you need an overnight stay near Schiphol. However if your plans are to explore the city center and surrounds for a number of days I would stay closer to the center, not next to the airport. It is a 4-5 minute walk to the hotel and you are walking under a roof, but beware if it is raining and the winds are blowing because you will get drenched.
Check in easy and staff friendly, helpful. Room on smaller side but bed VERY comfortable, nice flat screen TV, and you cannot hear any noise from the outside. Found the high tech controls fairly easy to use which control everything from lighting, music, blinds, to wake up calls. I was a little worried that I had not set my wake up call correctly and asked staff to double check. They were very helpful and I took them up on their offer to knock on my door to make sure I was up for flight!! They were right on time.
Free wifi throughout and their are 6 computers in lobby for guest use, many comfortable chairs to relax in, and the bar area is nice as well. There are some ready made foods you can choose from however I found it easier to walk back to the airport and eat, and you can shop as well. This is a fun, unique hotel, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We loved Citizen M. The concept is so unique and fun! The staff was extremely helpful to us. The canteen area wasn't gourmet, but everything we needed was available. The beds were marvelous. My only caution is that you must be extremely comfortable with the person with whom you share a room. The amount of privacy is minimal. The rooms also aren't geared for those with accessibility issues. I do not know if they have different rooms to meet those who need special disability assistance. We didn't find the travel into the city difficult or costly, especially with the rooms rates being as reasonable as they are. It is a fun experience and a great value. We'd stay there again in a flash!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I can only echo every positive review below, but our experience of CitizenM makes me hope that one day they achieve the goal of a hotel in every major city on the planet. The concept is excellent, and the pre-paid non-flexible rate offers incredible value for money considering the quality of the experience. This hotel really is unique, but the good stuff goes way beyond the fantastic room and facilities. The staff can make or break a hotel, however good the concept, and in our experience CitizenM have this covered too.

On arrival, we found that the automatic booking system had messed up both the number of nights we were staying and also the rate. Having experienced similar problems in other hotels before ("computer says no"), which spiralled into nightmare scenarios of being stranded without accommodation or charged elevated rates to stay, we feared the worst.

However, the duty manager at CitizenM was completely calm and reassuring from the word go, at no point allowing us to worry that he wouldn't be able to rectify the problem, and sure enough, within 2 minutes, all had been put right without a single raising of either voices or blood pressure. This calm professionalism permeated the whole weekend every time we interacted with staff. My only fear is that CitizenM will do TOO well, and the prices will rise. Well done to the team at Schiphol, and we WILL be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_and_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

Check in and out were easy, the staff were friendly (if mostly unnecessary) the room was spotless and very comfy. And I have never been to an airport hotel that was so quiet! I will be back

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piperpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

I was staying two nights at citizenM. After my landing I walked to the hotel. It's located on your right side when you coming to the arrivals area. You can walk inside all the way to Starbucks and use that door to get outside. From that point you see the hotel. IT's a few minuters walk away.
Check-in was very easy and quick. Friendly staff was welcoming you and asked if this was your first stay. You check-in at a computer and it's very easy to just follow the screen.
The rooms are small but for me that was not an issue. I didn't spend so much time in my room. It's a new design in the rooms. You have remote controll for lights, blinds and TV. So cool with diffrent mood setting for lights.
The hotel has four computers free to use, there is also WiFi. You can also use a printer. In the entrance of the hotel they have a little shop with sandwiches and drinks. You can buy a breakfirst plate. I didn't eat at the hotel, I walked to the airport plaza to eat and shop.
This hotel is very good in every kind of way. I really liked it and I will be staying here again when I come to Amsterdam next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helix77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing