We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Never seen such a nice hotel so close to an airport!

Loved the big bed, the atmophere of the room and the overall hotel.
Very nice concept, relaxed and friendly staff.

Looking forward to my next visit!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeanetteinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,820 - 3,826 of 4,798 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2009

Firstly its very handy for th airport , with great staff to welcome you and help you do your own check in !
Rooms are indeed very different but a big bed but not a lot of other space. Ideal for 1 night.
An overhead shower makes it very difficult to start your shower without freezing !
THe bar staff were very good and exceptionally helpful.
If you need a reasonably priced hotel near the airport for one night this is the place. Follow others advice about the cost of food. Walk 100 metres to Albert Hearns on the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank extracover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This is a great Hotel and a great value being right at the Airport and half the price of the other on property Hotels. Check in was effortless, the lobby, cocktail lounge, staff and business center are excellent. The room is very high tech, and for a single traveler or a couple, it is a perfect size. I will be staying here on every trip I make to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sbobo619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This place is the best thing you can find for 70 Euros. It is new, clean, efficient, right-sized. I have stayed at the Sheraton across the road for 300 Euros, and will never pay that again now that I know about the Citizen M. It is a 5 minute walk under a covered walkway, but you are still in the elements, so this is about the only downside that I can mention.
The electronic controls are a little challenging, but I figured them out and was very pleased with the lighting, heating/cooling, volume and tv. I loved the mood lighting. It made a big difference to me. The internet connection was fine for me and I was able to maintain a VPN connection to my home office.
I will definitely stay here in the future in between flights to and from Europe.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mikeyg624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Very hightech but not efficient. Room was cold, I was told to come to the lobby for half an hour because that was the time it would take to get the system to warm the room. truth is it took about an hour. All the gadgets are nice but who needs them. in the shower you first get a blast of icecold water and only then the hot water, the rainshower is lousy because you cannot direct the showerhead. There is no table to work on and no chair, only two bedside tables and an easy chair. The bed was exellent as was the WiFi. In short, the hotel is OK if you only want a place to sleep (literally). Forgot, the coffee downstairs was OK.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FerquentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, Director of Distribution at citizenM Schiphol Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2009

Dear "Ferquent Traveller",

I want to start of thanking you for your honest review and visit to citizenM. As you might know, we have opened our doors not that long ago and in fact, it is our first winter.
With the cold of the last couple of weeks here in the Netherlands, there have been some rooms with issues in temperature and our team is working hard to solve them.

I heard about the issue you had from the shift manager that offered you the cup of coffee while you were waiting. That day we did not have any spare rooms, as we were fully occupied, which prevented us from switching your room and reducing your waiting time to 5 minutes.

We do apologize for the inconvenience and if there is anything I can do for you, please email me at citizenlennert@citizenm.com

Hope to see you back at citizenM!

Lennert de Jong
Director of Distribution & Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

I liked the idea of this hotel and, being a certified gadget geek, I was was looking forward to my one night layover in this high-tech room. Sadly the reality failed to live up to the expectations.

Check-in was smooth and efficient. First impressions of the room were reasonably favourable despite my "runway view" being no more than an outbuilding with a few tail fins showing above it.

I knew the room would be small so that was not an issue. It did feel a bit like having a bed in the bathroom but I kinda expected that.

Thye biggest let down for me was the qiality of the (free) wireless internet. Despite a strong radio signal the routing was so intermittent as to render it useless. Websites, email, everything would time out repeatedly.

After leaving the room to sample the over-priced snack food I was unable to get back in. Help was summoned and my lock effectively needed a 'reboot' before I could get back in.

In the morning I couldn't get the main lights to switch on either through the 'mood pad' or wall control.

The shower needs careful planning if you're not going to receive a blast of cold water to kick-start your day. You can't turn it on with the door open. Despite starting it set to feed only the hand-held head, as soon as you switch to the main showerhead there is an initial flow of unheated water which is hard to avoid.

I was starting to feel trapped in failed-technology hell!

The bed is big but very firm and I didn't find it particularly comfortable, but i guess that's a very personal thing.

As has been commented on several times already, the toilet and shower facilities are completely lacking in privacy. Not an issue if you are on your own but I can't imagine wanting to be so intimately aquainted with the ablusions of even my nearest and dearest.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KrispyDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Spent two nights at CitizenM at Schiphol Airport during Jan of 2009. Must give the owners and staff my highest recommendation.
all aspects of the hotel is of supreme quality
the rooms are cleverly designed so they have all what you need without spending any space for nonsence
must mention the free movies application they have at the CitizenM hotel
i find it very clever of them to add this along with the free wi-fi access all over the hotel
just what a business traveller like myself needs (get in contact and be able to relax over a good movie)

again my best of thanks to all the staff at CitizenM i am eagerly waiting to be able to visit again

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ValliIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: $115 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing