We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient place for Amsterdam layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Efficient place for Amsterdam layover”
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I stayed here for one night while flying between Beijing and Johannesburg. It was easy to walk to/from the airport - only a few minutes. The check in/check out kiosk was easy to use. Fastest check-out ever.

The price was good - I think all told I paid about $100 US. Much less than at the neighbouring Sheraton.

I found the available food and drinks (sandwiches, sushi etc) sufficient for my needs. If you want a big meal, just walk a few minutes back to the airport.

The bed was extremely comfortable. I was sick with a bad cold while travelling and happy to snuggle in and drink orange juice all night, knowing I would not have far to travel to the airport in the morning.

I would not share a room with a friend unless it is a really close friend and you are desperate to save money. Best for solo travellers or people you are in a relationship with and don't mind seeing shower or use the toilet.

One suggestion: there needs to be a better desk for using a laptop in the room. The little tables were a bit awkward.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport if you're on a layover, efficiency, comfortable bed, nice shampoo
  • Disliked — Rooms are small but fine for one night, needs better table for laptop use
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wrongwaysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,591
    1,450
    313
    91
    58
See reviews for
368
1,511
856
1,501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeuwarden
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I spend one night in your hotel, because I had to catch an early flight the next morning. It was a very nice experience!!
The public spaces are beautiful designed with trendy colorfull furniture, nice bar area and a room with internetfacilities.

the rooms are lovely, small but very complete. Big bed, nice rainshower(waterpressure low!)nice theatermirror. You can control the light(color)TV, temp. sunscreen,wakeup call etc by the moodpad. While my husband was playing with this moodpad, I had a drink in the bar. Good white wine.

As a travelagent I've seen many hotels, but this one is very different and special in many ways.
Interesting website by the way.
I will come back soon!!!

Gonda Edry
Leeuwarden/Holland



,

  • Liked — rooms, public spaces
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gondaedry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

this hotel is fantastic!!
i think it is perfect if you are a buisnessman.
I stayed in amsterdam with my friend for new year and we were so suprised at the quality of this hotel, considering the price.
The bed is huge, i am fairly tall and no matter how far i streched, i couldn't reach the ends!!!
It is also amazing that you can lie in your bed and controle everything (blinds, lights, tv etc) from the remote.
Having computors with free internet is a God send, if like us you don't really know what you want to do or where to go.
the shower is fantastic and the whole hotel is emaculate.
The staff are all very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. Also dont worry about noise, we were in our room at all different times and we didnt here a single plain.
I will say that you have to be very comfortable with the person you are staying with as although there is a curtain that cuts the room in two it is translucent so you can see the other person in the shower and hear them using the toilet-very strange for us at first but by the end of the holiday we were too busy watching the free movies to even notice. The only other thing to mention is that although it is very handy for getting into the centre by train (about a 20 minute journey), if like us you go out in the evening but want to come back after sight seeing to get ready you will end up spending almost 15 euro a day on train faires. Other than that i would completely recomend this hotel-it completely made our holiday!!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank 21093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Using the Schiphol website I looked for a hotel that was close enough so I could walk to the gate the next morning, as I had to leave very early. This hotel was one of the few that was nearby. It was easily located, due to the signs in the airport as well as the lighted "awning" leading to the hotel. The hotel is completely automated, which gives a unique experience, and although it has a cyberpunk feel to it, it is in a friendly kind of way. Everything in the room can be adjusted using touch panels or other electronics, or even via the website before booking. The bed is huge, and the shower is oddly transparent (the restroom, fortunately, isn't).

  • Liked — Electronics, Internet, Lights
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cashimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This is a great hotel at the airport for advanced travelers. Very Austin Powers. Rooms are very small and best for one or for two people very comfortable with each other in all senses of the word. Not much privacy for showering and "other functions" but the bed is excellent and so is the entertainment system. 3 minute walk to the AMS airport building which is a shopping mall with food, movies, a big grocery store and everything you need. 15-20 minute train ride to AMS central station. If you are at all conservative in your ways, don't stay here. But if you are a funky easygoing traveler, you'll dig it.

  • Liked — Funkiness and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Watch out for the shower. You have to get in and shut the doors before it will work. You get blasted with cold water.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IveBeenAroundNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We had a 20 hour layover in Amsterdam and Citizen M was perfect. The staff was wonderful. The room was like nothing we had ever stayed in before. The rooms are tiny - like in New York City but it seems spacious and very cleaverly put together. Enjoyed every minute of our stay. It is a short walk to airport and train station. FABULOUS!

  • Liked — The high tech room
  • Disliked — The humidity after the shower
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMichigan009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammsterdam
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed one night at CitizenM, had a very good sleep near the Airport without hearing any of the planes or other traffic.

The room looked like a spaceshuttle and we were extra excited because our next day flight to SouthAFrica.

The bed was more than spacious, the shower and the toilet effective and all in one room.

Next morning we walked withour getting wet to the Departure of Schiphol. Completely independant, totally relaxed, no trafficjams or early starts. All smooth and no stress.
Absolutely great!

  • Liked — Being so close to the Airport
  • Disliked — The circles in which the doors of shower and toilet turned were dirty.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing