We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Affordable and Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient, Affordable and Great”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The CitizenM Schipol is ideally designed for the traveller mindset, easy check-in, room selection and 24/7 food and drinks make for an enjoyable stay...

The Room: A little too modern for some, but for me it was a fun departure from the sterility of a sheraton or other airport hotel, comfortable bed, great sleep(no noise, dark) and a view to die for(especially upper floor airport facing rooms)...
Service: Every employee makes you feel welcome and were wonderful...

Convenience: 3 min walk to Schipol, buses and trains running frequently to downtown amsterdam...and peaceful in that you can sleep without the chatter of endless partying and tourists that flock to Centraal hotels and attractions...

Price/Affordability Ratio: Great price for what you get, and the location..easily more comfortable than the airport sheraton/hilton, at 1/3 the cost. Worth it..however do not buy the breakfast, it is the same thing you can get for 1/4 the cost at the airport...

Explore all the features, the on-demand(free) entertainment was great and it had good wifi..

Room Tip: Upper Floors, Airport View, Quiet, and great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpop2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,649
    1,496
    324
    96
    64
See reviews for
375
1,552
875
1,554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Our first experience of a high tech hotel. We had some difficulties working out the touch pad in the bedroom, but then we are not tech savvy. The room was smaller than we had imagined and two people have to do some manoeuvring around each other. Obviously you are not really expected to spend much time in the bedroom other than sleeping, so there are extensive public area for eating, drinking, reading, computing, etc. The great advantage is that it is just a few minutes from the terminal.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobH181799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay if you have an early flight. The rooms are tiny space age arrangements but quite fun. The common areas are great for a drink, meal, relaxing & necessarily so as the rooms don't encourage sitting around.
Staff are warm & helpful. Free wifi is great.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I'm so glad to have discovered this hotel, due to the extensive research I did online (especially on the Tripadvisor) whilst contemplating where to spend my 20 hrs in Amsterdam.
'Funky' is the word, and 'futuristic' too.
I have certain rules I abide by when looking for a hotel: it has to be new, and modern (or if it's ultra-modern, than that's even better!), with excellent pillows, comfortable beds, not-too-officious members of staff, free Wi-Fi, and be conveniently located within a walking distance from the airport terminal (if on a layover). In other words: no shabby carpets, dilapidated walls, hard-as-rock beds (or pillows), old TV-sets, and members of staff whose countenance is a bit overbearing.
The guy (or a girl - let's not be sexist, ok?), who came up with the concept of citizenM, is a genius, and deserves a Nobel Prize for creating the 'most outstanding hotel experience'. I just loved staying at the hotel (and could have, happily, remained there for another 7 nights, were it not for my early-afternoon flight the next day!).
Everything was perfect from A to Z: you check in yourself, using one of the screens once you enter the hotel (the vestibule of the hotel has a futuristic feel....as out of a sudden you see everything coloured in red. Take care not to bump your head into the sliding doors after entering the hotel, as you'll have to turn on the left handside to enter the "lobby", where the terminals -- or check-in screens -- are located).
After picking-up one of the blank hotel key cards (to be used as your room key), you complete the check-in by allowing the computer terminal to program that card as your room key.
You then go upstairs and relax in your room (but just before you go up - observe the funky 'bar' area next to the computer terminals, where you can later order some cocktails or other drinks; select some food, etc).
The rooms are brilliantly-planned: it's one big area (stretching from the entry door to the window), with the small lavatory on the left handside (middle of the room), and the shower (on the right hand-side of the room). The bed is right by the window (at least mine was) - and I was facing one of the tarmacs (which was a fantastic sight in itself!).
There is a table, by your bed, for your laptop, notepads, etc, and a modern TV-screen with lots of channels (and *free* on-demand blue movies, which - let's admit - unless you're a nun, or a monk - is a nice touch) [albeit, my only concern was that all the movies were oriented towards the 'straight' audience. What about the gay travellers? :>].
As for the comfort of the bed and pillows - it becomes clear, once you try those out, that the mastermind behind the hotel went through at least 200 bed mattresses, duvets and pillows, until he/she chose the right one for the prospective guests.
If only every single capital (and every hub airport) in the world had a citizenM presence, I'd be the happiest traveller alive!

P.S. (at 00:30am I decided to be adventurous, and visit the bar/club area in downtown Amsterdam. It took me 3 mins to walk from the hotel to the night-bus stop, 4 mins to wait for my night bus, and 22 mins to get to downtown Amsterdam. I paid only 5 EUR for my bus fare. Amazing).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have stayed at this property perhaps 5-6 times since it opened. The most recent being two stays within the same week for one and two nights respectively.

They were so good about responding to email query and also to sort out room related requests. Being a CitizenM member, I was welcomed with a free drink voucher (on request). When I informed the check in rep that on my first stay the voucher was not handed over, he trusted me and gave me two drink vouchers. This speaks a lot about a hotel attitude and makes me want to rate the staff service 5 star so the trust they showed. :)

The staff doubling up like bar tenders as well make you the most exquisite cocktails. Now THAT is what I call TALENT. The ambiance is relaxed and friendly and there isn't a moment of awkwardness even for a solo traveler like me on this business trip.

The entire team seem like a happy bunch of people enjoying their jobs, are multilingual and seem to go all out to help. Most major hotel brands would also show stiffness and talk about rules. At CitizenM Schiphol, its an entire different story of warmth and affability.

There is plenty of food options to pick up from the bistro 24x7 (which I found a little expensive for microwavable food at Euro 13.95, and other items like Sushi for Euro 8.95). I also noticed a hot dinner buffet (which was well priced at Euro 11.95).

The free wifi works fine but I did have these times when it died on me for 30 mins in a row and that was quite frustrating in the midst of important emails or skype calls. They definitely need to improve on the speed of wifi in the hotel.

My electronic set up of my room malfunctioned. One call to the front desk and they reset my room (which needed to check me out and recheck me in). After that things seemed to work fine.

A laundromat facility would make this hotel so perfect. Sometimes when you are by yourself in a hotel, you could well use your time to do laundry and have everything clean and smelling fresh when you get back home.

I still maintain that this hotel is not meant to share rooms unless you are really "close / intimate" with the person because more or less everything is see through and too open for comfort. Alternatively of course, you and your companion need to have the understanding to take turns despite a curtain dividing the shower / toilet area from the bed.

Room Tip: Request for a room on a higher level (4th / 5th floor) with an airport view to while away time. By t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiIndiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

These rooms are cubicles with each cm expertly thought of so that it still feels airy and spacious enough for 2 people. The concept of self check-in and check-out is fantastic (you still have someone on duty with a computer to help you in case you have any trouble), and the modern decor is a great refresh from the worn-down decor of the airport and other hotels at the airport where I have already stayed.
The combination of colored LED lights to give the room different feels together with the single panel control of everything in the room (TV, lights, blinds, alarm clock, etc.) is a great experience, and the fact that the package already includes all movies on demand is great as it allows you to really enjoy the room (families beware as it includes unlocked adult movies on your kids' room unless you go-in and manually lock these). The rooms (and the rest of the hotel) are also impeccably clean).
The restaurant/bar/shop downstairs has pretty much anything a traveler may want, and although the hotel is not directly in the airport (you have to walk outside), the path between these is covered so at least you can avoid the rain if it's the case).

Room Tip: Talk to the customer representative at check-in and see if there are any airport-facing rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfvital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very close to the airport, you don't need a shuttle.
After checking in and going to your room with the cylinder formed toilet and shower and the different colors you can light the toilet and shower, we went to the lobby/bar for a well deserved drink. There we found Carla and Leonardo behind the bar, how fortunate we were. They were the icing on the cake serving us great cocktails and food, very friendly staff.

We definitely recommend you to stay at Citizen M Schiphol airport when you want to be at an affordable hotel within walking distance from the airport and have a different room/hotel experience.

They serve 24 hour breakfast/lunch/dinner so even if you have to leave very early in the morning you can buy a lovely croissant/bun and drink some hot tea/coffee with it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinniecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing