We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, quirky rooms + friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient, quirky rooms + friendly staff”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight before a meeting. Received a warm welcome even though the check-in is self-service.

Room was very quirky with the toilet and shower in see-through tubes, controllable mood lighting and a huge bed. Free wifi and free movied were a plus (if you can stop playing with the lights). Room was quiet and I had a great night's sleep. The only annoyance was that you needed to be in the shower with the doors closed before the water will come on, so just hope it's the right temp!

Friendly staff at breakfast (self-serve) with good freshly made coffee.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,594
    1,454
    314
    91
    59
See reviews for
368
1,513
856
1,508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
na
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

For travelers flying in late or leaving early in the morning from Schiphol airport, the citizenM hotel couldn't be more convenient. A short walk from the terminals, quick self-service check-in/check-out, and all the amenities one would expect from a modern hotel. Clean, stylish, and surprisingly quiet, considering its location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for tow day while at a conference this week. Staff were exceptional really outstanding. Rooms as with all citizenm hotels were quirky, clean and ideal. Will definitely be back but the staff deserve a pat on the back. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I just completed my first stay and was impressed. It was easy to make my way there by following the arrows in provided in the arrival hall and found it to be only a short walk away. I was warmly greeted and treated throughout my stay. Guidance was provided during both self-service check-in and out. Yes the rooms are quirky but met all of my needs and are a fun change from the standard hotel offering. I was a bit concerned with the shower tube having been in a couple of lesser versions which left me claustrophobic but my concerns were unfounded. Other than a blast of cold water to the face which was totally my fault, all was smooth sailing on the shower front. There is a control pad which one needs to master in order to run the lights, air, TV, etc. which I was able to catch on without much effort - although I never figured out how to isolate the lights but really did not spend much time trying. Wireless was free throughout with no issues and I loved the food and beverage shop was open 24 hours. The rooms are not meant for those that want to lounge in all day but that is the point of having living areas downstairs. Regardless I found the small desk in the room to meet my needs to get some work done. The bed was comfy and even though I chose an airport view I was not disturbed by any sort of external noise. All in all I found it to be an easy stay and highly recommend for anyone needing and overnight stay noting that if you are a party of more than one you had better not be shy if you are sharing a room. While there is a gauzy privacy curtain this is not the same as having a separate bathroom. The only thing I would love to see added in future stays is something to put my suitcase on!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzplacedinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antioch, ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We selected Citizen M at Schiphol Airport for its convenience, its room rate, and the reviews in TripAdvisor. The hotel is convenient (an easy walk from Arrivals) and very contemporary in its decor and use of technology (check-in and -out is done via computer terminals in the lobby; and a remote control operates the venetian blinds, the TV, the lights, alarm, and temperature in the room). Rates are very reasonable, the staff is helpful and pleasant, and the hotel is very clean. However, the room is small, and about half of the room is completely filled by the king size bed (very comfortable if you don't mind crawling in and out). The shower with an overhead showerhead is in a circular pod as is the toilet. Both occupy signficant floor space. The sink occupies another pod. If you share the room with someone you know well and it's only for a night or two, this arrangement is acceptable, I suppose. Downstairs the public areas are divided into several comfortable living rooms--one is a library; another is filled with computers for guests to use; others have tables, TVs, chairs and sofas. The lobby area also has refrigerated units filled with an array of sandwiches, beer, wine, and soft drinks, etc. A hot dinner cooked in a crock pot is available. We had one problem--at midnight, for example, we were jarred awake when all the lights came on and a monotonous female voice came from the TV, saying "it is time to wake up" and began counting down from 100. Apparently a previous guest had set the alarm and neglected to turn it off. Very funny. When the remote control froze and would not turn off the TV, I had to stand on the bed to unplug it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockys_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is an interesting hotel! If you are looking for a very small, clean, close to the airport room, this might be for you! The bed goes from wall to wall (really) and is extremely comfortable.If you don't mind the space age decore with toilet in on "pod" and the shower in another each in the middle of the one room it's great. Techies would enjoy all the remote control features. Storage only in gigantic drawer under the bed. For me it was good the fist stay, next time I was longing for some charm. Great if you are coming in late and leaving early for a flight!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for I night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. You get exactly what is stated in on the website. Not a normal hotel experience but we found it a novel change. We had an early morning flight from Schipol so it's location is excellent only being a short walk to the terminal.
I have read a few of the negative reviews and can only suggest to some of these people to read about the hotel on the internet before booking.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing