We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have stayed at many hotels, but this hotel is the best for a short stay. One minute Check-in and One minute check-out. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. the rooms are clean and the bed is great, all and all this hotel is very Unique. It is the most convenient hotel close to the Arrival /Departure Hall. We stay there every time we have a layover. If enough time you can take a train to Amsterdam City(10 minutes) or even a bus to Keukenhof. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The price is right also. One of the most inexpensive hotels close to the airport.

Room Tip: We think it doesn't matter what room you choose, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucienne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,429
    1,365
    295
    89
    50
See reviews for
347
1,400
821
1,419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon UK.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

With reservations about the style and decsnal taste issue really.
It certainly does not detract from a comfotable well run hotel and enjoyable stay here .

Literally 5 minutes out of the swing doors of arrivals 4 at the airport, a warm helpful welcome awaits you.
If I were to be ungenerous, it could be described as a posh hostel, in the manner in which the ethos of the hotel came across to me.
What it affords is a very convenient airport hotel, add in the train links to Amsterdam, an out of town base for a city visit.
Our room overlooked the airport, but noise didn't disrupt ones slumber in a massive tall kingsize bed, we joked"That you needed a ladder to mount the bed".
The rooms are smallish, really it promotes you to enjoy the bar cum cafe area downstairs, we came back prior to our flight home, to relax with a cuppa, after a tiring day trip to Keukenhof, conveniently picking up by the aforementioned Arrivals 4 door.
Would I stay again? Yes despite, my style reservations, the young staffers, were attentive, when nessesary, polite and friendly, helpful and efficient.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYTRAVELLER448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great location within walking distance to the terminal and great access to the city centre. Free high-speed wifi. Great staff. Very comfortable bed. Highly recommendable for stayovers at the Airport in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_HAM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place has everything you need in an airport hotel - location, comfort and affordability. The CitizenM is located just outside the main terminal, about a five minute walk from the center f the terminal. The room, although not your usual hotel room, is very comfortable. The bed is huge and very comfortable, the shower and other plumbing work great, and the TV has lots of choices. The train station is right in the terminal, which is a big plus. The terminal itself, by the way, is also amazing! The price for the room was extremely reasonable too. I would definitely recommend the Citizen M for any single person or couple who want to stay near the airport.

By the way, I've read reviews from people who stayed at the hotel while on a business trip with a co-worker. Not a good idea unless you have no secrets from each other. Also not a good place to stay if you're traveling with kids. But if you actually read reviews before you book the room, you'll know that.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

A great concept, high quality furnishings, friendly staff, quality products in self-serve area, nice choice of wines. Upscale and simple at the same time. I would stay there again, especially because of the convenient airport location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My second stay and every bit as good as my last time! Quick walk from the terminal and about a 15-20 minute train ride to Centraal Station. The staff are friendly, quick to help with check-in. The room is so unique, the bed and pillows are soooo comfy!!! The price was actually pretty decent as well. Still my favourite hotel!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hope_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is an excellent airport hotel without being like most old,tired, worn typical airport hotels.
Pros: very Clean, very quiet, within 5-10 minute walking distance to airport, bed is very big and very comfortable, water pressure excellent for shower,, easy check-in, easy check-out, staff very accessible and helpful, self serve in house cafe and bar, fast wifi
Cons: the way the room is designed will make it awkward for two people regardless of how well you know the person. The shower and toilet are essentially exposed to the entire room with no privacy of any kind, the room is relatively small (but well designed)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to be close to the airport for early or late flights. Perfect for 1-2 people who want a clean, safe, upscale hotel just to sleep. It isn't a hotel room to sit around in. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing