We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is an excellent airport hotel without being like most old,tired, worn typical airport hotels.
Pros: very Clean, very quiet, within 5-10 minute walking distance to airport, bed is very big and very comfortable, water pressure excellent for shower,, easy check-in, easy check-out, staff very accessible and helpful, self serve in house cafe and bar, fast wifi
Cons: the way the room is designed will make it awkward for two people regardless of how well you know the person. The shower and toilet are essentially exposed to the entire room with no privacy of any kind, the room is relatively small (but well designed)

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to be close to the airport for early or late flights. Perfect for 1-2 people who want a clean, safe, upscale hotel just to sleep. It isn't a hotel room to sit around in. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,571 - 2,577 of 5,350 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

The citizenM hotel in Amsterdam is great for people who don't have a lot of luggage or for those who will only be staying a day or two. The technology is terrific and the space planning is impressive. It was perfect for our two-night stay in Amsterdam. Since there are no drawers or shelves, and only three hangers, it wouldn't work well for a long stay.
The best part of the stay for us was the opportunity to check in immediately after we arrived at the airport at 6 am, paying only a small early check-in fee. At what other hotel could you arrive at 6 am and get a room?
The lights, the room temperature, the TV and the shades are all operated by a remote control. It was very easy to use.
In addition, the room rate was very fair.
I can heartily recommend the citizenM when you visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good. No sound problems. We had an "airport view," which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plano_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been wanting to stay at this hotel for sometime and the opportunity recently. Very friendly check in staff that was quick and straightforward. Room was fun and my kids enjoyed changing the color of the lights while in the shower. Lots of TV/movie options, comfortable bed and pillows, views of the runway but sound proof. We all enjoyed the various sitting areas in the lobby including the eclectic chairs. Food was good and my kids enjoyed the breakfast. Will absolutely stay again. BTW, the shower doors have to be completely closed in order for the shower to come on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ultra modern designer hotel within walking distance of the airport terminal plaza so very convenient.

The room was completely open plan with the shower and WC in the room with the bed. This was OK for a single traveller but there was limited privacy if you are with a companion.

Very high tech features for controlling room atmospheric lighting and the TV etc. Check in and check out by screen. Breakfast is a buffet of packaged meet , bread rolls etc but was adequate.

I would use this hotel again for price and convenience for the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is a sort of design statement. You arrive and there is no check in desk, but a bank of touch screens. Having said that it was all straightforward. The bar was a central counter which also served food. I went to my room. You encountered the shower and the loo as you entered, with the bed taking the width of the room. A triumph of design, because it meant minimal space use. Everything was electronic, and I was invited to have a tutorial on the room's features. Actually after a flight all I wanted was a beer and bed, and did not want to take an exam on how to operate the lights. I wish I had though because in the morning (try as I might ) I could not get the shower to work. Also the television had a distinct disinclination to switch off. Peppered all over the hotel were little homilies (very much like the sort of crap that Virgin fling at you) and very much like what one would have encountered in George Orwell's 1984. I mustn't be too critical though- the bed was very comfortable, the whole place was immaculate. I particularly liked the public areas which had a variety of styles unlike any other encountered in a hotel and very good. I ordered food, and because they were closing the barman came over and asked if I wanted more. I did- the food was delicious and remarkably cheap. So yes- modern, stylish, clean but could do with a bit more consideration of how the end user is going to use the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlesnfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

PROS:
3 min walk from arrivals plaza
Excellent staff - attention to detail
Easy to check in/check out
Very comfy bed
24/7 food/beverage

CONS:
Could be too challenging for some - check in/out is done via touch screen, remote is used to control number of functions in the room

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 78NIK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip close to the airport. Location is fantastic for airport and the conference centres nearby - it's just a few minutes' walk from the airport's main pedestrian entrance and can be reached on foot. The rooms are very chic, classy, spotless and have huge and comfortable beds - the chicness was a surprise for a business/airport layover hotel. The food is really good - there's a breakfast buffet with homemade granola in the morning included in the room rate, and a buffet and self-serve cold selection in the evening which is extra, but which was very good also. A great place to bunk down on a business trip and definitely a big step up from the usual dull corporate chains - this place has real personality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
Ramada Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: $125 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing