We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlike any other”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unlike any other”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

It was like stepping into the future entering CitizenM in Amsterdam, a 5-minute walk from Schiphol. My friend and I just stayed one night as we had an early flight the next day. Everything is clean and orderly, the staff is super friendly and speak very good English, the room a total trip with the pod shower and water closet. Great use of space. Comfy bed, quiet, really cool vibe. A little tight for two people who are not a couple. The food options are really quite good - nice breakfast and dinner options - not fancy but good - decent wine, too! I would stay here again on my own for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,544
    1,424
    309
    90
    56
See reviews for
366
1,481
844
1,476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

What an unusual idea, pods for the toilet and shower. Very practical and modern. Service good and location great, 5 mins walk from the terminal. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. Great hotel idea and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had a short night between flights so I decided to stay at the airport. This hotel was just a few minutes walk from Schiphol Plaza.
The rooms are small but have a unique design. I liked it. Lights could be controlled to almost any mood (color) you like.
The hotel offers a variety of food but if you don't want it there you can walk over to Schiphol Plaza that offers a range of options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaldInBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is next door to the airport and only about 7 minutes walking distance. The service was good and you could check yourself in using one of the self service computers at the reception.

The room had two pin and three pin sockets which was very thoughtful for guests from other parts of the world were three pin sockets are the norm.

I loved the concept and the bed which was large but felt the room was small with little room to maneuver. The shower and toilet were right in the middle of the room and in my opinion to in your face. The staff I interacted with were very friendly. Breakfast was basic

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel in the past 12 Months, and I still maintain that it is a great hotel, if you are ok with the "different" style this hotel presents. As with my last stay I used the hotels proximity to the airport which is within 5 minutes walking distance from Schiphol plaza, which has everything that you could need, as well as the railway station which has frequent trains into Amsterdam and the rest of The Netherlands. I personally prefer to stay out the hustle and bustle of Central Amsterdam, and I believe the lower cost of staying at a hotel outside the centre is certainly a plus.
However on this stay I still maintain that the bins in the room really could be larger, and on this occasion my only real complaint was the cleaning of the room, staying 2 nights (Friday to Sunday)
the room was very dusty on my arrival, and was not cleaned once throughout my stay, despite there being good opportunity to do so, but that aside I still rate this hotel highly and will continue to use it when in Amsterdam.
Finally I recommend selecting the airport view at check in, the other option is the city view which gives views of a busy road and some high rise buildings.

Room Tip: Select Airport view room if you care about what you see out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shuttle12H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

on walking distance with a price like 10 km. away from the airport; modern checkin with good help; nice, surprising rooms; inviting lounge; no noice from the airport so nearby = a very good price- quality

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The usual story: a night between flights, very long flight in the morning. The location was fabulous as was the whole concept and cool deco. The reasonable price was also a key factor in the booking decision. The price came naturally with some sacrifices: there was no front desk and you had to check in and out yourself, also the room was really (really!) small, but that was no surprise. I would rather sleep one night in a small, clean, and cheap room than in a big and unclean/expensive one...

...but that was the one huge problem: the sleep. The only purpose for the room was to give us a good relaxing sleep before the long flight. Unfortunately I did'n get any sleep because of some weird noise. Our room was very high and strong wind caused something to bang something against the roof or walls of the building. I don't know what it was and was it just for that one night. Anyway I did not sleep even with the earplugs and will never return to Citizen M.

That is a pity, because the concept was otherwise very functional. I also have to admit, that my friend is a better sleeper than I am and she slept the whole night...and without earplugs! So maybe it was just me. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FillyFragile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing