We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not my cup of tea...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
436 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business. Hotel is quite a walk from Schiphol Plaza. When you come in, it looks like you have entered the airport again as you need to register yourself at some sort of ticket machine and prepare your own room key. Really feels welcoming after a tiring day and flight! The staff even though we're in The Netherlands doesn't speak Dutch and consists of trendy young people. At the bar there is the possibility to get some food albeit all very trendy again and you need to warm it yourself in a microwave. When I came in, the daily special - Indonesian - that was the only thing I actually liked, was not available anymore so I went to the Burger King at Schiphol Plaza. The room, again very trendy. Checking out, again the self service ticket machine. Clicked on get invoice by e-mail; never got it. Next time, I'll pay just a bit more and stay at one of the other leading brand hotels at or around the airport. Unless you are the trendy type of person, avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,108
    1,206
    257
    78
    47
See reviews for
302
1,237
739
1,215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you have an early flight, for business or holiday, a stay at Citizen M before departure makes your flight very relaxed. An early check in the day before departure gives you the opportunity to visit Amsterdam for example, The rooms are fantastic. The bed is great, the food is good en the transfer from the hotel to departure takes only a few minutes. It was our third stay at Citizen M and we are sure it was not the last stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Han S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had an early flight out of Schipol and the rooms here were a bargain so I went ahead and booked. Check in was "self serve" which was nice as no lines and I don't really like dealing with people after a long day of travelling, and then upstairs to the rooms. I have to say from the outside the rooms look a bit like a prison cell, but when opened, although compact, they fit a lot in! Toilet and shower are in circular glass cases to minimise space use and a huge bed, nice tv and good internet. Had a great night sleep. Perfect for a single business traveller - would I stay there with my partner? Probably not.

Just a five minute walk from the terminal and the train station so easy to be out the door the following morning in time for your flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestopinions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Citizen M is unique and fun for one night. I am not sure how the concept would work for more than one night. The rooms are best described as high tech pods. The bed, shower and toilet are all in the same space. I felt like I had stepped into the future and was on an intragalactic transport. There is a minimal desk and uncomfortable chair but the living rooms on the ground level provide great work and social spaces. The location is convenient if you have an early morning flight or a long lay over. My only complaint was I woke at 4AM to the noise of the plumbing in my neighbors pod otherwise everything else was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhh2ogeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Citizen M is a great boutique hotel for all who love design, great beds, good food on a great location for an affordable price. It sounds too good to be true but the guys behind this concept really made it happen. Only minus as far as I'm concerned: there is not much privacy in the bathroom.. but the GREAT bed makes up for that!

Room Tip: Ask an 'ambassador' for the best view, there are 2 sides to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

After a day in Paris and a long train journey, what a pleasure it is to arrive at CitizenM. The hotel is brilliantly situated, just a few hundred metres from the airport. There's an assisted self check-in, which is quick and easy, and the rooms are uniquely designed. The wifi is amazingly fast - just what a business traveller needs, and the staff are young, friendly and can't do enough for you. It's a great model for a 21st century hotel and there should be more of them. Well done team CitizenM!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanBCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The rooms are small and so what! They have all the necessities and a lot of thought has gone into maximizing the space, the king beds are enormous and very comfortable after all that is where you spend most of your time and thus should be the best thing in the room. Great for the early morning traveler and the travel tag/room key is a great idea to reduce waste. I will wear it proudly on my luggage. This would be a great concept hotel for NYC. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perdigero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, citizenM Operations Holding BV, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing