We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love CitizenM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed in the CitizenM at Schiphol Airport for the second time and were again surprised how great this hotel is. The hotel is extremely practical located, not more than 5 minutes (even covered) walk from the departures. So you can get a maximum of sleep if you have an early morning flight.
The room is small, the huge and great bed takes about half the space, the toilet and the shower are in the middle of the room, so bear in mind that you will not find any privacy. But the entire set-up is so nice, that it does not matter that the room is small. Free Wifi, TV, a safe, no sound from the airport or the road, very friendly staff (not all of them speak Dutch) who will help you with your check-in, a small restaurant and bar and all those small details around the hotel that make you smile. All of this for a reasonable price : for us a lovely way to start a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorringBommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,344 - 2,350 of 4,960 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Modern hotel for young business minded people or people who want to explore the city Rotterdam. The beds are amazing! Lights, TV, Blinds and more are controlled with a tablet. Free fast wifi. The bar/restaurant/lobby is a great place to meet people!:)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika84NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I hate airport hotels & usually avoid them like the plague but this trip required me to be close to Schiphol & so, on the recommendation of a friend, I stayed at the CitizenM.
It's a convenient 5 minute walk from the terminal.
Inside, it has a funky boutique hotel style & vibe to it.
The staff are extremely friendly & helpful.
The bar/cafe has plenty to offer.
The rooms are small but very functional & the bed is one of the best I've ever slept on.
In order to find fault, I'd say they could do with a slightly larger area to hang clothes.
Also, the bathroom mirror should be directly behind the sink in order to aid shaving.
But those minor things aside, it's very good & I'll happily stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th (top) floor & it was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzi-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I wish I could find a hotel like this in a city, for long stay..... my regret was just being there for a few hours. Excellent location, service oriented staff, spotless clean, top notch comfort and great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nebur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my business trip, it was right next to Amsterdam Airport for my early morning flight. It is 250 metres away from the airport i could get that next bit of sleep that i need and the bed there was amazing it was so comfortable and you would never know you were so close to the airport as the sound proofing was excellent.

The bathroom and toilet are intergrated into the room so there isn't a separate room and the room is quite smal which may put some people off if you were staying there for a week or so however if you need a hotel for short business trip, by yourself or just need a bed this is the perfect place to go. For another business trip i will be going back there again

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the airport!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keeran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a concept hotel. Either you will like it, or you will not, but there is no where in-between. My wife and I have stayed in the CitizenM in Glasgow on several occasions for a weekend and enjoyed the experience so I wanted to try out a CitizenM in another country.

To reach the hotel turn right after coming out of the baggage hall, walk along the shopping arcade, out through a small car park area and then you will see the hotel about a 100m ahead, reaching it via a covered walkway. Less than 5 minutes walk. Self-service check-in took about 2 minutes though there was a very friendly staff member watching to make sure I did not get into problems. So I was in my room less than 10 minutes from coming out of the baggage area.

The room has a large very comfortable bed occupying the end of the room, a shower and a toilet each in a cubicle, some very limited hanging space, a small desk (free wifi) and that's it. The shower only works if the doors are closed (for obvious reasons!), so to avoid starting with a cold shower switch to the hand-held shower until the hot water comes through. Simple really!

Hot food is limited in the evening (and at breakfast) but the eateries in Schipol Airport station stay open late. There is a good lounge area and a very friendly bar area. The breakfast is continental but with a wide selection of cereals, bread, fruit etc. The other option is a Starbucks just by the door into the airport from the hotel walkway. Checkout took around 30 seconds.

For a one, or even two night stay-over at the airport this hotel is unbeatable in terms of value for money and staff friendliness. There is another CitizenM in Amsterdam itself.

It's not a standard hotel but then nor are the very high levels of commitment to customer service from the staff. Stay here, accept the concept, and you will emerge from the hotel in the morning well rested and with a smile on your face.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

To be clear: The rooms are tiny. The bed (king size room) is huge and comfortable, and if you share a room with someone, you better like them, since the bathroom is integrated in the actual room (enclosures for the toilet and the shower). Also, to make the shower work, you have to close the shower cabinet. There is a $2-ish credit card fee (no fee for debit card). The staff was very helpful (we asked to store milk for our baby in a fridge). Did not hear any noise from the airport (or the road). The atmosphere in the bar/restaurant is very inviting. The breakfast selection isn't huge, but the food quality was good and worth the price. If you have more time, you may want to take the 15-ish minute train downtown and stay at one of the hotels near the train station (I have good experiences with the Doubletree), but if you want to stay at the airport, this hotel is great. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: There's not much of a view from the basic rooms, and I think they charge extra for "view&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mthoodskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: $114 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing