We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“airport coolness and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“airport coolness and convenience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Super convenient if you have an early or late flight as only 2 mins walk from the airport. Its all very slick with self check-in, a bar and "lounge room" area, including designer chairs and tables, downstairs open 24hrs, and chirpy staff. The room is pretty small, but that's OK for one night, and the bed is large and comfy. There's a super-remote-control thingy which controls the blinds, lighting (with spaceship like coloured effects to choose from) and TV. The loo and rain shower are in tubes in the middle of the room - all groovy and fine if you're by yourself, possibly not the thing for some couples. Oh and the outer soundproofing is excellent, thankfully, as my room looked right out over the runway. The room-to-room soundproofing could have been better though.
All in all, pretty cool for a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,593
    1,454
    314
    91
    59
See reviews for
368
1,513
856
1,507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

this was the second time we stayed here. its a short walk to the terminal. perfect hotel for an early flight!! its very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
next time we fly early from Schiphol, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchbuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The real test of satisfaction is not "would you return?" but "did you return?" We think this place is great but it is certainly not for those who want a normal hotel room. The room is one open space with a toilet only separated by a glass door and the same for the shower. Fine with us. The room is only the width of the king size bed yet we could both put our suitcases on the floor and open them. The bed is very comfortable too. They run a little restaurant with a limited menu but what the have is good and being able to sit around casually feels great when travelling. The breakfast buffet is good too. Why not give it a five? Nothing is perfect, the room is certainly a compromise it is quiet but you can still hear road noise, showers, doors etc and their electronic pad room controller can be frustrating even when you know how to use it. Our system had to be rebooted by the staff just to get the blind to stay down.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place is right by the airport and caters to the too-cool-for-school hipster types. But don't those people use the internet? I have stayed here at least a dozen times and quite literally the wifi in the rooms has never worked for more than 5-10 minutes at a time. If you want to work in your rooms, or talk to people on Skype, do not stay here. Or at least don't plan on doing any of it in your room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palooka32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night during a stopover at Schiphol.

What an interesting and quirky hotel this is. The room was something to behold if a little small. It was like being is a mini spaceship with a groovy shower and toilet right in the middle of the room (see for yourself how they do this..!).

The bed was very comfy also.

The hotel is situated only a short walk from the terminal building so no need for taxi, bus, etc.

Only drawback was the breakfast which I felt was disappointing. I would choose one of the places in the airport terminal to eat in instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is located at the edge of the airport. Take a right out the airport exit and follow the covered walkway to citizenM. You can take one of the airport luggage carts all the way to the hotel. As you can see from the photos, the rooms are tiny. I would not recommend this hotel if you have more than one person sharing the room. I thought it would be a fun place to try, but would not stay there again. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't like the floor choice at the self-serve checkin, look for a staff person to help ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
356 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Citizen M is a very mod take, beautifully executed by some first-rate designers, on what a hotel can be in the new era. The assumption is that the travelers want quiet, high-tech rooms, with a comfortable bed, good bath facilities, excellent television in a variety of languages, and free, no-hassle wifi. Citizen M delivers. Rooms are small with free-standing glass-enclosed shower and similar toilet. A Philips control panel controls all lighting, shades, temperature, TV, etc., and it's easy to use. The bed alcove with comforter provided my best night's sleep in a month of travel. Sound isolation from other rooms is superior. Imagine a dead-quiet hotel room at an airport! Also, imagine a hotel that not only doesn't charge for wifi connections, but connects you instantly with no intervening screens of boilerplate legalese!

Everything about the place is high tech: check-in and check-out is done via computer screen, and there are terminals available in classy lounge areas if you did not bring your own. For a small additional charge--and the hotel itself is a bargain--you can add a buffet breakfast that included excellent pastries, fresh fruit and yogurt, cheeses, granola, fruit juices, and coffee (made to order). The same area provides light fare at cocktail and dinnertime. Excellent.

Maybe the best compliment I can pay is to say that I spoke with a fellow hotel guest, who was in his 60s, as am I, and we both thought it was one of the nicest and freshest experiences we'd had in traveling. He had just finished sending photos of his room to his wife.

I give this a BIG THUMBS UP!

Room Tip: Some have airport views; others look in the opposite direction. I didn't detect a particular be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing