We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great overnight bolt hole” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great overnight bolt hole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ideally located on the doorstep of the airport - great sound proofing as no air traffic noise - slept very well. Would suit a business traveler or an overnight stayer as rooms are small but was perfect for our requirements.of an early flight out of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, if you have a lot of luggage you may struggle for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelurchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,362
    1,325
    288
    86
    49
See reviews for
337
1,368
805
1,365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel has a great vibe and very innovative ideas. From the nice dining area to the room layout and integrated technology experience. The rooms are clean and quiet even though it is so close to the airport - no disturbances. A great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Technically , I did not stay here however I walked in to the hotel needing somewhere to stay for the night after having problems with my flight . I was told there was no rooms available but the gentleman on reception Andy came with to the computer area and helped me book a hotel nearby ,this was a very nice personal touch and for this I was truly grateful.

Room Tip: pre book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good, modern hotel at walking distance (few minutes) from Schiphol Airport. Perfect if you have to take an early flight and you would like to have a good rest before your flight.
Rooms are not very large but the bed is. The toilet and shower are placed in 'tubes' in the room. Very trendy; but it makes these rooms a bit hard to share with somebody else (unless this person is your partner or very good friend). Hotel is rather expensive (a bit too, I would say).
Little shop/restaurant in the hotel where you can buy drinks/food, also a bit expensive. On your way to the check-in you will find 2 small supermarkets (AH to go) where you can also buy some drinks/snacks, if needed..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had booked to stay at the Yotel but they moved me here due to them getting work done on their roof. I didn't think it was ideal as Yotel is in the terminal but I loved Citizen M.

Check in was so efficient with a girl waiting to see me as soon as I came in the door. She was very pleasant. The rooms are on the small side but it's exactly what you need if you are just there for a short stay. You enter and the shower was on the right and the toilet directly across from it on the left. If you're staying as a couple, that might be slightly weird but as a solo traveller, it was completely fine. The shower doesn't work if you don't have the doors shut so no chance of wetting the entire room. The shampoo / shower gel smells amazing!

The bed is extremely comfy and the addition of the cuddly toy is cute. There are automatic blinds which is a novel feature. The mood lighting in the room is also an excellent idea and is great when you are lounging around in the evening and want a dimmer light or in the morning when you want it a bit brighter.

I didn't go to the bar for drinks or food but it looks extremely well stocked and there are lots of seats on the ground floor.

I would definitely return here if I was coming back to Amsterdam - probably choosing to stay out here rather than in the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very modern and unique room design that has the most efficient use of space I have ever seen! Spacious and super comfortable bed.
The hotel is just outside the airport. It takes 5 minutes to get there from the train station by very well marked path. Perfect hotel for those who plan to take early flight.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Supermartyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at CitizenM hotel last week, 22nd and 23rd. Planned to stay only 1 night, but my flight got canceled, so I extended my stay extra night. Already first day I noticed red itchy marks on my hands, but didn't think much of it, I thought it was mosquito bites. After second night I had way more bites, I "googled" and came up with bed bugs. On check out reported it to one of employees. I was told that it's probably mosquitos. Then I received an e-mail from management, they claimed that that they had checked my room and found nothing, the inspection was done by proper company. I asked for the report, stating that the inspection showed no bed bugs, so far still haven't received it. I spoke an acquaintance who's an attorney, and he said that I would have really hard time to try and sue them form any compensation.
Anyway, the minute I walked out of the aircraft I dropped off my entire suitcase at dry cleaners and asked them to "nuke" entire luggage and everything inside with whatever they have available against bed bugs. When I got home I got undressed in bathtub, and packed all my clothes in plastic bags and also took it to dry cleaners.
Oh and in the e-mail they told me that I may have got the bed bugs from another hotel. And that's not possible, prior to my stay at CitizenM I stayed for a week at a hotel in Chianciano Terme in Italy and no signs of bed bugs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM Schiphol Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi "Adam F",

This is an extremely sensitive issue that we take seriously, we do not play in such cases but action accordingly. This is for your interest of course, and ours, as we work on maintaining a sparkling clean hotel for guests staying with us.

Both, our assistant hotel manager and area manager have been in touch with you, and as mentioned, our standard is to seal the room and have a specialised company searching the whole room thoroughly. The confirmation was forwarded to you with the official report. For any citizen concerned about this, please email me directly at citizendiego@citizenm.com and I will be happy to forward a proof.

I'm very sorry to hear the discomfort you were suffering after your trip in Europe, hopefully you are much better now. I do hope you have contacted all other accommodations you stayed prior to citizenM.

If you need any other information or assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly, or the area manager to whom you already exchanged emails.

I wish you all the best,
Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing