We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun hotel, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fun hotel, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last night of a two-week vacation, mostly because it was close to the airport. The hotel is funky, with small but efficient rooms. I really liked the way the bed takes up the entire end of the room. Somehow this seemed to make it easier to keep track of my stuff. The bar area was great, with comfortable seating, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would have liked to seen a larger selection of food, especially at breakfast (if you don't eat bread products, it's pretty challenging). Overall, I was pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are the same, so choosing is easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,164
    1,236
    267
    79
    47
See reviews for
308
1,274
751
1,248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Best location for the airport. Excellent value. Very funky and hi-tech. Great breakfast. All controlled by the remote. Bed super comfortable. Quiet. Tube shower and toilet awesome and Startrek like. Will be back if possible. Easy 15 minute train ride to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is just outside the airport and you can easily walk there from Terminal 3. As it is priced much lower than the competition and has everything the business travellor needs I highly recommend the hotel. I have to travel to Schiphol the night before on certain flights and this hotel is a favorite of mine. The rooms are very small but if you are travelling through for business the staff and the bar are all excellent and you cannot beat the convenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'll be upfront - this is a good, clean hotel that I give high marks to for coolness and breaking convention. However, I am critical of several things because the hotel is almost great. Just a few things different and I would have marked it with the highest rankings.

It is about 200 meters walking distance to Amsterdam Schipol, and the walkway is covered to protect you from light rain.

Room looks very cool. Neat experience. Clean. Not extremely quiet. Noise heard from adjoining rooms - not common in European hotels.

Not enough counter space for toiletries. And I'm a guy. Forget about room for make up and hair products.

There was a bit of shock value when I first entered the room and found the toilet and shower were in glass pods in the room. It ended up not being all that cool coming and going through the bathroom.

The bar area was cool to hang out in at night. Lots of open sitting areas on the ground floor.

Breakfast selection not very broad. Only one type of cheese in Holland? All meat and cheese is individually wrapped which creates a lot of trash. Again, very un-European.

Overall, it was a fun experience and I would stay here again for the convenience (and it was a bit less expensive than the other airport hotels on site) but would take a conventional hotel over this if the price was the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here for two nights at the start of September. The checking was very easy and any problems there was staff to help out. The staff were friendly and very helpfull. The rooms were very modern and the remote control worked most appliances in the room. I enjoyed my stay there and I would use this hotel again

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank davidfordbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is perfect! Unfussy, easy, clean, hip, modern, comfortable, quiet. Everything you could ask for after a long euro holiday, to check in here, unwind, and in the morning walk straight to your terminal. Lobby/Bar staff incredilbly nice.

Room Tip: Rooms are tiny, but functional. You can face Amsterdam or Schipol runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbunny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for the night before the morning flight.

* Easy 2-3 minutes walk to/from airport terminal :)
* Convenient self check-in & check-out without waiting :)
* Free wireless internet access in room :)
* Computers in lobby with internet access & printer where you may print boarding pass free of charge :)
* TV, window shade, alarm clock, lights, etc are all controlled by a single controller :)
* Unique room design that has the most efficient use of space :)
* Very big (!) and comfortable bed :)
* No kettle or coffee maker for hot drinks :( -- the only thing I can complain about)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1st_Time_in_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing