We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Most reviews already cover all the things you need to know about this hotel. Their rooms are comfortable, it is an easy walk to the airport terminal and the staff is friendly.

The "mood controller" isn't always working as it should and I am not sure if the 24/7 bar also serves cocktail drinks (which are pretty good) 24/7 . Other than that, great hotel, if I need to catch an early flight, this is my choice to avoid unexpected delays mere hours before the flight.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ralfvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,649 - 2,655 of 5,085 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night's stay at this hotel. The concept is one we are very comfortable with (despite being 72 and 66 years old, not in keeping with what is commonly thought of as a demographic for this hotel). We loved the room, small, super-efficient, spare, but with a wonderfully comfortable 'bed'. The shower with mood lighting was fun. The staff was very attentive, and we enjoyed sitting at the small bar in the evening, people-watching. Another plus for us was being able to be completely 'connected' with our laptops, iPhones, etc. We will definitely stay here again, and may try the one in downtown Amsterdam. The only problem I could see would be for someone with a lot of luggage (we had checked our suitcases all the way to our destination, so had only our backpacks).

Room Tip: Not sure - our room was directly across from the elevator, and we heard literally nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We discovered Citizen M when looking for an airport hotel where we could stay (and take the train to downtown Amsterdam) on a planned overnight layover on our way from Hungary back to the U.S. Previously, not wanting to pay the price of the Sheraton, we would take the short ride on the hotel shuttle bus to the Ibis on the outskirts of the airport, but it meant taking the bus (which operates on a schedule) back to the airport for the train downtown and also building in extra time for departure. Now there’s Citizen M, located a hundred yards past the airport’s right-side exit along a walkway, an ideal, inexpensive option for the kind of stay we’d planned. Arriving in the pleasant, modern lobby area, we were greeted by an attendant who walked us through the process of checking in (almost like getting a boarding pass)—presumably they need to do this only once for returning guests. (Checkout involves simply scanning your room key and approving the charges.) The lobby has a nice bar area and serves dinner and breakfast, partly self-serve 24/7. As others have noted, the rooms are small but immaculately clean and polished. We were greeted by a little stuffed rabbit, named Molly, on the bed, a cute touch (see picture). There are two circular areas, one with a toilet and one with a shower, that are closed off with sliding, curved glass doors illuminated in various colors from above (hence the "mood" changes). The beds are huge and square (you can sleep in either direction) and take up about a third of the room. A special remote control device changes the mood (music and lighting), operates the TV, opens and closes the shade and the black-out shade, programs a wakeup call, and turns on movies (all of which are free, including adult ones). Part of the fun of staying there is just playing with all the controls. Rooms have a safe that fits a laptop—but no mini-fridge or coffeemaker. There is free Internet throughout the hotel (connection speed seemed fine to us) and computers in the lobby. I would highly recommend this hotel for an overnight or long-layover stay (there are day rates), especially for those wanting to go to central Amsterdam (it’s a five-minute walk back to the train station in Schiphol Airport. Then a 15-minute ride, costing about 8 euros round-trip, will land you at the Amsterdam central station. Be aware that there’s a 2-euro fee for using a credit card to pay for the room, but at 128 euros, this is a good deal for any place located almost inside Schiphol airport.

Room Tip: TA reviewers have noted how quiet the rooms are; we had one on the third floor and didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for one night with our 20 month old. The rooms are too small for travel cot however the bed was large enough for all 3 of us to have a good nights sleep. The features in the room were ultra modern, the facilities were great and the shower was luxury. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the location to airport is a short walk of under 5 mins. Would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

not a big fan of modern, "concept hotel".
but this one is absolutely fulfills its purpose.

rooms are efficiently designed. wifi works great. the "mood" control remote was a bit clunky but a neat novel idea. self check in/out kiosks are good idea.

biggest cheers for the comfortable and diverse hang-out lounges.

basically no working spaces inside the room. this is not a business hotel. wouldnt say here for long. or wouldnt stay here with multiple people. also wouldnt stay for more than 2 nights - might go crazy.

as a transit hotel, for the price? well done.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pretty much everything you need in an airport hotel. Short walk to the airport, all the amenities you might desire, helpful staff, nice bar with OK food items and a reasonable price. If you are looking for a traditional hotel, stay away, but if you don't mind the new designer hip places you'll like citizen M. Rooms a little small and the layout not typical but we enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent Hotel for the money paid. Very close to the airport. Very good facilities. Very big hotel. Good lobby and restaurants. Very good amenities. Excellent choice of food. Gives grand hotel feel. Free airport transfers.

Room Tip: Pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkharul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range: $107 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing