We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Schiphol
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the last seven months. Each time, it was the perfect layover hotel.

The staff is friendly and efficient. The service offerings are exactly what's needed. And the location just outside the doors of AMS are unbeatable.

I find the compact modern rooms extremely comfortable, and I LOVE the capsule showers. The espresso machine is a proper manually pulled Cimbali rather than some push-button crap. The beer is cold and reasonably priced. There are relatively healthful food options, and it's as easy to buy a piece of fruit as a container of Ben and Jerry's.

I would not choose the citizenM for a family vacation or a romantic holiday. But for a brief stay or extended layover, it is a perfectly executed venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,658
    1,496
    324
    97
    64
See reviews for
379
1,554
879
1,554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beyond perfect, everything you need is in the room, only thing I missed was something to put my suitcase on, but that really was the only thing. Everything else was taken care of, room was very clean and even though the hotel is situated right next to Schiphol Plaza, the room was quiet. Loved everything about it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonderful location just a few minutes walk from the airport, it is also easy to find there are plenty of signs. The service was great from check-in to check out, the room was very clean, very modern and pretty. All in all very cozy and very convenient for when stuck in Amsterdam airport, definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had stayed at the Citizenm in London and also at the Yotel at Schiphol, so we decided to try the CitizenM at Schiphol.
It was very similar to our London experience except the Schiphol one is a little older. Same concept and again it was anice stay

Room Tip: You can ask for a room "facing" the runway if you like watching planes take off and land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brit abroad
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night returning from a longhaul flight. The hotel is about 5 mins from the airport arrival hall. Just outside the airport building and turn right. We had booked online so checking in required typing your name etc into a computer terminal located in the lobby of the hotel. There was a friendly and helpful staff member on hand if there was any problems. We found the check in easy. The computer prints your cardkey which you hold against the small illuminated box on your room door to open it. Couldnt figure it out at first since we are used to swiping a cardkey. Once inside we found the room to be comfortable but smallish. Storing large suitcases here is a problem. However, despite the limited room it is well thought out using the minimum space to the max. Nearly everything in the room is controlled by one remote control. The lighting, heating, window shades, etc. The bed is huge and comfortable. However,I had trouble trying to sleep on the large square pillows. The shower and toilet are surrounded by a circular glass door. I would not recommend these rooms if you dont feel comfortable with the person you are travelling with. There is very little privacy when having a shower or using the toilet. There is only a thin curtain that seperates the sleeping area from the "bathroom" area. No coffee/tea making facilities. Shower gel and shampoo is provided. Flatscreen TV mounted on the wall. We found the hotel to be very quiet. The hallway outside the rooms is carpeted. Our room rate entailed room only. However, the computer asks if you would like to buy breakfast that was just over €10 per person. We declined, since we were leaving early. We had a drink at the bar in the evening upon arrival. Prices are a bit steep. 1 lg and 1 sm Heineken beer for almost €10. The bar also serves hot food. There is a selection of sandwiches, sushi and other foods for heating (in the microwave). We found the hotel to be very interesting. Especially the decor. It has a very futuristic feel to it. We are both over 50 yrs of age and found it completely different and we enjoyed it. You checkout using the computer. I can recommend the CitizenM and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlass57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed overnight between flights and although we were a little concerned about walking distance to the hotel we needn't have worried because it took us no longer than 10 minutes, mostly under cover and well lit. On arrival we were helped through the electronic check in process by very efficient staff and once in our room, we were delighted. It was functional and had everything we needed, although I do agree we other reviewers that you need to know each other pretty well because of the bathroom arrangements, but this wasn't a problem at all to us. In the restaurant it was pretty well all self service and certainly enough of a choice to satisfy us overnight - once again the staff were really friendly and helpful. We slept well and heard nothing of the outside world until the next morning when we were helped again with the checkout procedure before walking back to the airport. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an overnight stay, close to the airport, in clean and friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Walking distance from the airport, smooth self check-in with a receptionist nearby in case you will need any help, great design - this is what makes this hotel perfect.
Rooms are decent size for a 1-2 nights stay, very nice design, modern and cozy.
Loved the mood lighting concept, movies choice, airport view, free wi-fi... in fact there is not a single thing I didn't like about this hotel.
The bed was great, perfect sleep before the early flight, perfect soundproofing on the airport side. Great shower too.
Will gladly come back next time I'm having a stopover in AMS.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Schiphol Airport

Property: citizenM Schiphol Airport
Address: Jan Plezierweg 2, 1118 BB Schiphol, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Schiphol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Business Hotel in Schiphol
#1 Family Hotel in Schiphol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Schiphol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, citizenM offers affordable luxury for the weariest of travellers, with 355 rooms. Just a two-minute walk from the airport terminals, citizenM is a welcomed pit stop for the savvy and time-pressed guests. Business nomads also have the ease of booking at citizenM's newest societyM: a unique solution of creative meeting spaces. At societyM guests swap bleak conference suites for meeting rooms with innovative design, hi-tech hardware, plush Vitra furniture - even wipe-free walls. For the jet lagged mobile citizens, there's always high pressure rain showers, a XL king-size bed, mood lighting, and bespoke amenities. Enjoy free movies, stream your own content to the TV, and check out the genius MoodPad tablet that controls every detail of your room from temperature and blackout blinds to personalized music. 24/7 dining and cocktailing is also available at canteenM, whether you crave a hot breakfast or a cold beer. It's your call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Schiphol-Rijk
CitizenM Schiphol Airport Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing