We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
64
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
64
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne region fresh fruit speak french hostess cheese breakfast meats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 78 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This wonderful chambre d'hote knocks spots off some places we have stayed at. There is a feeling of opulence everywhere. Big gates lead into an immaculately cobbled courtyard where you can park overnight. The lovely old main house is flanked by other perfectly maintained buildings and every detail smacks of quality and tastefulness, right down to the colour-co-ordination of the gates, the proprietors' sign and the patio furniture in the courtyard! We were given the 2-storey apartment in its own building on the left, as we were travelling with our daughter and had booked a triple room. It was massive and beautifully decorated with some lovely furniture and subtly colour-coordinated decor. Huge comfy beds, proper traditional but immaculately restored furniture, electric sockets just where you need them, fluffy dressing gowns, quirky but practical bathroom area. Marie-Therese Bonnaire is a charming hostess and we shared a wonderful champagne tasting with her and some other guests before dinner. (We spoke french throughout as a courtesy, tho possibly a necessity too? ) Bought a few bottles to enjoy at home as well. Excellent champagnes and a truly delightful and elegant lady with a savvy business head and a lifetime's experience of champagne making. Breakfast was taken in the main house where there are 2 breakfast rooms, one either side of the hallway. Both were laid up lavishly with pristine white tablecloths and candelabras. Your every whim was fulfilled as you progressed through boiled eggs, miniature cakes, little bowls of prepared fruit and yoghurts, brioche, french bread, cheese and cold meats, interesting spreads. Even the homemade jam came in pots with tasteful labels! Service was always attentive but discreet. And all this for 88 euros. It puts some of the UK's mangy B&B's charging £100+ a night to shame! Would definitely recommend and return.

Room tip: The apartment on the left of the courtyard sleeps up to 6 in twins, a double + a sofa bed. It was fabulous.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bezzymates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We first became aware of these Chambres d'Hotes 2 years ago whilst partaking in a Champagne tasting at Paul Clouet, the host establishment of Les Barbotines.

I booked here in order to attend the Champagne Festival at Ay. It is charming, The bedrooms are well appointed but spotlessly clean, and the bed is very comfortable. However Madame Bonnaire's breakfast is exceptional and will fill you until supper time. After a hearty French breakfast you are encouraged to have a degustation and although Mme Bonnaire speaks no English, we were able to understand her due to 2 years spent in French speaking Belgium.

It is true you are left to your own devices (never a bad thing), but the region is stunning and Richard Juhlin's book the Champagne Guide is informative, though Madame is happy to recommend local restaurants.

The room and breakfast was very reasonable at 98 euro's per night.

All in all good value, good comfort, and very good food.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogLover041
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Located near to Epernay and Rheims you are ideally situated for a tour of the Champagne region or as a stop over point on your journey to or from Calais.Do arrive early enough to drink at least a few bottles of the house champagne which is excellent.There are several excellent places the owners can recommend for an evening meal but be aware very few will do you a snack meal if you have had a one star michelin lunch.......if you have eaten well at lunch just get a few bottles out in the lovely courtyard and drink........BECAUSE you need room for the fabulous breakfast which is the best you are likely o find! I will not tell you more just visit and enjoy.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian sutherland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The room was lovely and breakfast was truly fantastic. We did have to break our weak 20-year-old high school french, because -- to our surprise-- our host throughout the stay didn't speak a word of English. I Wouldn't recommend it if you don't speak any French or are not willing to wing it with nodding and hand gestures throughout a champagne tasting and breakfast!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bfdcshskpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Most people visit the Champagne region and stay in Reims or Epernay. Bouzy is famous for the Bouzy Rouge but also has great Grand Cru Champagne. The location is great, the hostess is very caring and friendly and the rooms are just delightful. The decor is tasteful and romantic, clean fluffy towels and a good bed (always important). Breakfast is substantial with juice, eggs, bread, preserves, cold cuts, cheese and yoghurt. The hostess does not speak English, as my partner does so that was not a problem, but I saw other guests struggle. Also, not sure if this is a biggie for anyone else, but their Wi-Fi is virtually non-existant and the painfully slow connection is only on one device at a time. Would def reccommend this place.

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pallavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews