We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wisteria Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Alderbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived at the b&b with a warm and freindly welcome from felicity's brother, we stayed in a superior room which was perfect for myself and my husband, along with our baby girl, there was plenty of room for our travelcot which was a priority, the room itself was spotless and tastefully decorated. Felicity, the owner, was particularly helpful and friendly to us, giving us a highchair to use, directing us to the best walks and even offering toys for our baby to play with. Even the dog Gilbert will give you a cuddle should you want it!. We cannot fault this b&b, continental breakfast was delicious, good quality food and I feel it was excellent value for money. If you want a calming retreat then this would be ideal, there is a lovely well established garden and a comfortable communal lounge area with wood stove, games and books. My husband and I would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claregaynorfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this B n B thru Hotels.com and was slightly misled.
The blurb said that "all units have kitchens". This is not so.
There is ONE kitchen (very well equipped) that all guests may use. There is also a communal lounge area with TV and books/games etc. Plus a large well-kept garden.
The cabin I had was very clean and comfortable though a tad impractical; I had to borrow a chair from the kitchen to use as a table beside the only available plug socket. Also the en-suite area was a might cramped.
But, for a solo traveller, these were just minor trivialities.
On the positive side, the towels were the softest I've ever used, the hospitality was warm and welcoming, the location is ideal for all the south central counties, and, most of all, the sleep quality is 10 out of 10 !
This alone would make me return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stopped in to the Wisteria B&B after seeing Stonehenge, which is close enough to be a comfortable drive. There was a tiny bit of difficulty finding someone to check in, but we weren't in any great hurry and after 15 minutes or so someone drove up and checked us in.

When we asked the staff about local attractions, they were knowledgeable, incredibly friendly and quite helpful, even going so far as to go fetch a tablet PC to look up information for us. They gave us good info on restaurants, and when asked about sightseeing directed us towards Salisbury Cathedral and the surrounding museums, which was well worth the trip.

The breakfast options were fairly complete, although we didn't order a hot breakfast nor a breakfast to go, both of which were available.

The buildings in general seemed well looked after, and the room was immaculate.

The only negative was that there was no shampoo provided in the room (it happens), but we found some in the cabinet in the community kitchen.

Pros: Beautiful location, friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean, great atmosphere, five mins from Salisbury and stores, only 30 mins from Stonehenge. Would definitely book again if staying in the area.

Cons: Little bit difficult to find staff when needed, no shampoo available in room.

Things to know: No wifi (not necessarily a negative), breakfasts available to go, Tassimo machine in room, in-room safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed overnight to attend a family gathering. Our double room was fairly basic, but was spotlessly clean & comfortable. There was a family lounge available, with comfy sofa & TV. Adjacent to this was a kitchen area where we could make tea & coffee. So although our bedroom was basic, there were a lot of facilities available. Continental breakfast was a real feast, with loads of fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, croissants, juice & selection of tea/coffee. No fried breakfast here, but we really enjoyed what we were served. Overall, this was a really friendly & comfortable stay. Well worth considering for exploring the local countryside & nearby Salisbury.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Alderbury is a peaceful village 12 minutes by bus from Salisbury, and Wisteria Cottage is 2 minutes walk from the bus stop. The double rooms in the B&B are great - heating, good powerful shower, comfortable bed, and a classy Tassimo coffee maker. Breakfast is served in a separate kitchen area where guests can self- cater if they wish. Super breakfast too: it isn't a standard greasy fry,but a lovely truly fresh fruit salad, hot croissants, selection of cereals, real coffee and good fruit juice.

What is more - the proprietor is welcoming, pleasant and efficient. I spent a fair amount of time in the room working and I found the atmosphere very relaxed and welcoming.

A local pub, the Green Dragon, is also just a couple of minutes walk away and the evening meal is quite acceptable. Recommended! If I'm back in Alderbury again, I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The double room is a lot nicer than the single one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouristBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Wisteria Cottage was just heavenly. Quiet, out in the country, walks nearby, and close to Salisbury, this lovely B & B is situated on the oldest street in the district. Walk down the roadway and you will pass thatched rooved homes set amidst green rolling fields. At night, climb under the freshly ironed white sheets, and settle in for a warm sleep. The room is spacious,beautifully furnished with private ensuite, wardrobe, timber doors and finishes. Breakfast is served in the delightful guest lounge and kitchen, set to the table with fresh flowers and a tempting and filling array of croissants, muffins, toast, cereals, gourmet yoghurt and jams, juices, fresh fruit and tea or coffee. An added bonus is the ability to make your own light meals in the kitchen. Our hostess, Felicity, who has a background in catering, couldn't do enough for us, welcoming us, making sure we were comfortable, and finding interesting places for us to visit nearby. There is an old pub, the Green Dragon, a stone's throw away, that gives a warm and inviting atmosphere for dinner, but we arrived a bit early for dinner that night. We ate in Salisbury, a very sumptuous meal at The Cloisters pub. We definitely recommend Wisteria Cottage, and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

After trawling for days through various websites trying to find reasonably priced accommodation in Wiltshire for a solo traveller I came across Wisteria Cottage B&B and I am so glad all the other overpriced B&Bs were full!!! As for extolling its virtues, I can't do better than wholeheartedly endorse the comments of the other guests who stayed here. I too enjoyed as much of the delicious food that I could manage - but beware if you are watching your waistline! Having said that, the circular walk around the village burned some calories and was delightful as was the local pub, the Green Dragon. I hope I have the opportunity to stay with Felicity again and have no hesitation at all in recommending all that Wisteria and Alderbury have to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenDorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderbury
5.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
590 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peartree Serviced Apartments Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
784 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
2.7 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisteria Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisteria Cottage B&B

Address: Wisteria Cottage Silver Street, Alderbury, Salisbury SP5 3AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Alderbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alderbury
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wisteria Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Medieval city of Salisbury, and with easy access to the New Forest, Stonehenge, Southampton and the south coast, Wisteria Cottage in Alderbury offers a warm welcome and very comfortable stay. The original Cottage dates back to the mid-18th century and is situated on an idyllic historic lane of thatched and other attractive houses and cottages. Every guest room at Wisteria Cottage is at ground level and accessed through individual front doors and the rooms are arranged around a large courtyard area, which leads into the garden.These retain the charm and tranquility of the historic rural setting with comfortable and well-appointed facilities. All our rooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs, hairdryers and complimentary toiletries. A simple but substantial continental buffet breakfast breakfast is included in the room rate. By prior arrangement we welcome well behaved dogs (superior rooms only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wisteria Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing